We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The mysteries of the oyster explained”
Review of Oyster Tour

Oyster Tour
Ranked #1 of 3 Transportation in Knysna
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Knysna Charters offers hourly lagoon cruises to the famous Knysna Heads, as well as a spectacular Sunset Cruise and Oyster Tour. Indoor Oyster demonstrations are also available. We also have kayaks available for hourly rental.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Knysna was a great town that we regret not spending more time in, but while we were there we thoroughly enjoyed our oyster tour. It was just the two of us on the boat and we went out to the heads while our guide explained oyster cultivation while providing good oysters and great wine. If you've got an hour to kill him n Knysna, definitely do this so you can bank a few oyster facts to impress your friends (my friends are easily impressed) on your next oyster binge back home

Thank iamthecoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plett, Owner at Oyster Tour, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Hi there,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your positive feedback! We're thrilled that you enjoyed our Oyster Tour so much ... enjoy sharing your new-found knowledge ;-)

Hope to see you back again in the future!

Safe Travels,
Knysna Charters Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 110 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

It was an amazing experience! We enjoyed every moment of the trip. The scenery was spectacular, the history and info about Knysna was well presented and the experienced skipper made it a very good trip. Thanks Steven.

Thank RynoLLategan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plett, Owner at Oyster Tour, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Hi there,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your positive feedback!

It was our pleasure to be able to share a little piece of Knysna paradise with you, and congratulations on your nuptials! We hope that you enjoyed your special time together in Knysna,

Hope to see you back again in the future!

Safe travels,
Knysna Charters Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Me and my husband did the Sunset Cruise on 7 April 2014. We had such a brilliant experience. It was the first time ever that I had oysters, enjoyed it with a lovely glass of wine. When we got back, we were in absolute AWE. As a bottle of champagne were awaiting us with a note congratulating us on our honeymoon. Then we also received a platter with lovely snacks that could easily serve 4 people. I know the platter was part of the booking, if you booked online @ knysna charters, but the champagne was a complete surprize. It was definitely the best value for money we have received during our honeymoon thus far. Well done Steven and Quay 4, for making it so memorable.

1  Thank VeroniDicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plett, Owner at Oyster Tour, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Hi there,

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your sunset cruise with us, and appreciate your great feedback. Be sure to visit us again when it's your anniversary!

All the best,

Knysna Charters Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We did this as part of our honeymoon activities booked through Creative Honeymoon Solutions and can highly recommend this. What amazing views and sunset. Best oysters we have ever had. Steven is highly informative and a great captain!

We thoroughly enjoyed this!!

Thank RoannGerber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plett, Owner at Oyster Tour, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Hi there,

Thank you for your review. We really enjoy hosting honeymoon couples on our Sunset Cruise, you always seem to bring a special atmosphere along with you! We're thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful time,

All the best,

Knysna Charters Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We went out for the sunset tour and while it was nice to be on a boat for a bit, we didn't really get much else out of it. We didn't learn anything at all about oysters or the oyster business in South Africa. Based on our experience, this definitely wasn't worth the money for a few oysters and a glass of wine on a boat.

Thank Gaurav M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plett, Owner at Oyster Tour, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Hi there,

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your sunset cruise with us. It may also be a case of cross-communication. Although our TripAdvisor activity is listed as the Oyster Tour (something we are trying to work out), the cruise you joined us on was the Sunset Cruise, which is not the same activity as the Oyster Tour. We do serve complimentary wine and oysters on the Sunset Cruise, but we don't do the oyster demonstration and educational on the Sunset Cruise.

We do feel that our Sunset Cruise is extremely well-priced ... R370 ($35 currently) per adult for a 90 minute cruise, inclusive of wine and oysters, is hard to beat elsewhere, worldwide. We did a quick comparative study, and found that similar cruises world-wide generally started from $48 per person.

We hope you'd consider joining us on an Oyster Tour next time you find yourself back in Knysna.

Safe Travels,
Knysna Charters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oyster Tour also viewed

Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to Oyster Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing