We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely what the doctor ordered!”
Review of Oyster Tour

Oyster Tour
Ranked #1 of 3 Transportation in Knysna
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Knysna Charters offers hourly lagoon cruises to the famous Knysna Heads, as well as a spectacular Sunset Cruise and Oyster Tour. Indoor Oyster demonstrations are also available. We also have kayaks available for hourly rental.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Definitely what the doctor ordered!”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

As an avid runner I had the pleasure of partaking of the Knysna marathon for the first time this year. While planning the trip, my fellow runners and I decided to do the sunset cruise to unwind and relax our weary bodies after the race. I mean, what could be better than a glass of wine on a slow moving boat to nowhere, in the middle of calm waters with the sun setting beautifully in the horizo. This was our conversation as we deliberated on things to do after the race. How right we were! The cruise turned out to be just what the doctor ordered. Steven, our host was amazing. He was friendly, knowledgeable and just generally pleasant. The oysters were divine. The wine served on the boat could have been much better, we now know to order our own choice next time. We have resolved that every year when we go down to Knysna for the race, the cruise will be part of the package. I would certainly recommend it to anyone who visits Knysna, Plettenberg Bay and surrounds.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nolufefe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    18
    7
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Still Owed Money”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Booked online, payment taken then the cruise was cancelled. Promised a refund but still waiting after 3 months.

Sent at least 10 emails and spent more on phone calls than original cost of cruise!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plett, Owner at Oyster Tour, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Dave,

With regards to your review.

Our system does not save any cc details stored as its illegal, and we only refund back to cards and not eft to international bank accounts?

Numerous emails was sent from both parties, we made you aware that we need important information to process your refund as the payment was made online and we have none of your financial details stored.
The payment was made by Credit Card, so we required your Credit Card details to reverse/credit the transaction. We mailed you on numerous occasions requesting these details with screenshots from our payment system proving that we don't have the credit card details on file.
You did reply but did not send us all info as requested to process the refund. Waiting for your correct details lead to the delay in your refund. When we finally received the correct details as requested, we processed your refund immediately.

Kind Regards
Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Heaven In Knysna”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Well What can We say about this adventure, but a must see and do, this is a family affaire or a group trip or a friend's get away for 2 and a half hours just you the sea and good company, Our captain for the day (Vlad) or Vladimeer as his mother would say was verry recoursefull explaining the Knysna Lagoon and its inhabitants and the local endangerd wild life Before taking us out of the knysna Heads on to the way word wild open sea's with the wind in your hair a good stiff drink in your hand and the sun setting on the horizon, The CAT is fully license and serves a wide variaty of drinks, and a delisious spread of snacks is included in your Ticket, the sundowner cruse is 2 hours or 2 and a Half all weather permitting, the return trip is awsome as you see the sun set and enjoying the 3 man Crews stories of the open seas, Most definatly a need to do trip when you visit Knysna South Africa

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing Trip”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Although the day was overcast with spots of rain, Steven the guide was very informative and thorough in all of the information and facts that he gave to the group. His knowledge was amazing and the whole 90 minute trip was well worth the money. The oysters were also very delicious and the wine to go with them was also a nice touch.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonnya93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxed and fun !”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

A very pleasant cruise of the lagoon was made fun and informative by the captain and guide , Steven. While enjoying a sightseeing cruise on the lagoon we were enlightened by Steven as to the history and details of the oyster industry. He is also very knowledgeable about the lagoon and entertained us with stories of the local history and people. The generous helping of oysters and wine at the end of the trip were delicious . Overall a great trip at a reasonable price.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank andredavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oyster Tour also viewed

Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to Oyster Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing