We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still Owed Money”
Review of Oyster Tour

Oyster Tour
Ranked #1 of 3 Transportation in Knysna
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Knysna Charters offers hourly lagoon cruises to the famous Knysna Heads, as well as a spectacular Sunset Cruise and Oyster Tour. Indoor Oyster demonstrations are also available. We also have kayaks available for hourly rental.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Booked online, payment taken then the cruise was cancelled. Promised a refund but still waiting after 3 months.

Sent at least 10 emails and spent more on phone calls than original cost of cruise!

1  Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plett, Owner at Oyster Tour, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Dave,

With regards to your review.

Our system does not save any cc details stored as its illegal, and we only refund back to cards and not eft to international bank accounts?

Numerous emails was sent from both parties, we made you aware that we need important information to process your refund as the payment was made online and we have none of your financial details stored.
The payment was made by Credit Card, so we required your Credit Card details to reverse/credit the transaction. We mailed you on numerous occasions requesting these details with screenshots from our payment system proving that we don't have the credit card details on file.
You did reply but did not send us all info as requested to process the refund. Waiting for your correct details lead to the delay in your refund. When we finally received the correct details as requested, we processed your refund immediately.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year

61 - 65 of 110 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

Well What can We say about this adventure, but a must see and do, this is a family affaire or a group trip or a friend's get away for 2 and a half hours just you the sea and good company, Our captain for the day (Vlad) or Vladimeer as his mother would say was verry recoursefull explaining the Knysna Lagoon and its inhabitants and the local endangerd wild life Before taking us out of the knysna Heads on to the way word wild open sea's with the wind in your hair a good stiff drink in your hand and the sun setting on the horizon, The CAT is fully license and serves a wide variaty of drinks, and a delisious spread of snacks is included in your Ticket, the sundowner cruse is 2 hours or 2 and a Half all weather permitting, the return trip is awsome as you see the sun set and enjoying the 3 man Crews stories of the open seas, Most definatly a need to do trip when you visit Knysna South Africa

Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Although the day was overcast with spots of rain, Steven the guide was very informative and thorough in all of the information and facts that he gave to the group. His knowledge was amazing and the whole 90 minute trip was well worth the money. The oysters were also very delicious and the wine to go with them was also a nice touch.

2  Thank Jonnya93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

A very pleasant cruise of the lagoon was made fun and informative by the captain and guide , Steven. While enjoying a sightseeing cruise on the lagoon we were enlightened by Steven as to the history and details of the oyster industry. He is also very knowledgeable about the lagoon and entertained us with stories of the local history and people. The generous helping of oysters and wine at the end of the trip were delicious . Overall a great trip at a reasonable price.

1  Thank andredavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The 10 March 2013 we were a small group of 9 Scandinavians that had a tour in the Lagoon of Knysna, with a superguy/guide called Steven. We added on, to the price, a glas of white wine and some oysters to taste and we had a very nice time on the boat. Steven had a lot of knowledge about the area, the lagoon and told us in a funny and easygoing way, so we all really enjoyed listening to him!
We highly recommend a tour like that with the Knysna Charters and if you can get Steven guiding and driving you, we assure you that you'll have a super-time!

1  Thank mflybring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oyster Tour also viewed

Knysna, Western Cape

Been to Oyster Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing