We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Rex Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Wayside Inn(Knysna)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (488)
Filter reviews
488 results
Traveler rating
235
169
48
25
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
235
169
48
25
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrose cafeluxury studiotwo blocksknysna waterfrontmodern hotelwalking distancebuilding siteglass doorbedroom apartmentother hotelsbuilding workbuffet breakfastwalk in showerwater frontstayed here for nightssmall kitchenfull kitchen
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
273 - 278 of 488 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2014

My wife and I overnighted at the hotel and were disappointed in the service and staff friendly ness. The rooms are very nice and modern but as for the quality of stay I would not recommend it. We had to take our own bags to the room on arrival, the kettle did not work, the shower was blocked and when we were leaving I called for a porter to assist us but after waiting 20 minutes we took our own bags. Not what you expect from a 4 star hotel.

I don't recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Nick M,

Thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor. Your review of our hotel is of great concern to me and I am really sorry that you left us with this impression of our service and facilities. Your experience is certainly not the norm for us and I can assure you that the issues you mentioned will be addressed.

While it is difficult to try to make amends after the fact, I do hope that you will consider staying with us again, as we would like to prove that we are just as good as the rest of the unique “Knysna” experience.

Regards,
Masuda Mohamed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Really glad we chose this hotel, was great value for money. We opened the door to a beautiful lounge area, with a very modern kitchen and big dining table. The bedroom had a safe, and huge wardrobe, and to the side in a tiled are was a stand alone bath, and next door to this the bathroom and wet room. Breakfast was nice, and staff were helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ilovemarmaris08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear Ilovemarmaris08,

Thank you for writing a review. I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Regards,
Masuda Mohamed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. Bathroom, room and lounge are modern with latest amenities. Very comfortable night sleep after tiring day. Only thing din't like about them were their breakfast and lack of room service for dinner.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kavitachoudhary89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear Ms Choudhary,

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Guest comments help us to improve and uphold standards, and I will certainly use your comments on the restaurant for this purpose.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours Sincerely,
Masuda Mohamed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Loved this little gem of a place. Lovely decor. Spacious. More than what's required. Lovely little touches, welcome card, chocolates and turn down in the evening. Close to waterfront. Breakfast was amazing. Staff friendly. Def go back. Pity no pool. Kitchen window needs a curtain as the light shines into the room brightly all night. Loved our stay

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Cindy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Hi Cindy T,

Many thanks for your comments and the great feedback. We will most certainly continue to keep up our standards. I have forwarded your comments on the pool and the kitchen light to our owners for consideration.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Knysna.

Yours Sincerely,
Masuda Mohamed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed at The Rex for 2 nights; it is a small timeshare hotel. We nearly gasped at the beautiful "apartment size" rooms that included a living room, kitchen, bedroom and bathtub AND shower. Everything was meticulously clean and shiny and tastefully decorated. We even had an outside deck! On the downside, the bedroom was small, but that would be my only negative. Amenities included hairdryer, in-room safe, flat screen TV in the living room, and robes - hanging in the closet waiting for you. There aren't any internet stations, but you could use the "front desk" internet if needed. We ate breakfast in their restaurant and the food was great. Service was a little slow, but they were very busy. Great coffee! The hotel is just about a block from the waterfront; take the time and go there to visit the shoppes and restaurants with great food. While you're in Knysna, don't miss going to the Featherbed Nature Reserve. Walk down the trail from the top of the mountain and see the sea caves - amazing!!! I definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I understand from other travelers that some of the rooms are smaller than what we stayed in. Guess we lucked out. Perhaps when reserving, you could ask for a large apartment size room.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilthd2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Dear Hilthd2000,

We would like to thank you for visiting us as well as sharing your lovely experience on Trip Advisor. We hope that you visit Knysna again in the not too distant future, as it would be a pleasure to welcome you back to The Rex Hotel.

Regards,
Masuda Mohamed
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews