We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rex Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Rex Hotel
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Salem OR
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Loved having kitchen. Some rooms are huge with separate area for bedrooms. Bathrooms are not set up with older people in mind. Extremely deep tubs and no grab bars of any kind. Light breakfast available.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miriam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Many thanks for taking the time to complete a review. We value all comments received.

I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Yours Sincerely,
Masuda Mohamed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    143
    32
    21
    10
See reviews for
99
216
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The family stayed at The Rex en route to PE, what a fantastic "little hotel" close to both the Waterfront and the centre of town. The Rex is stylish and modern, however it is also so welcoming and comfortable. Plenty of space and "seperation" for adults and their offpsing to not be in each others faces. Surrounded by some great restaurants and Pubs, as well as a super little breakfast experience downstairs.

Full 24 hr security was offered for our parking garage.

Room Tip: Ask for the family room, two bedrooms en suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Mr Graeme,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We value all comments received.

I am delighted to hear that your family had enjoyed their stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming them back to The Rex Hotel in the not too distant future.

Yours Sincerely,
Masuda Mohamed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Our sat nav told us the hotel was on the right hand side of Gray Street, near the end, but it still took us 3 circles of the block to find the hotel. It seems that they wish to keep it a secret and only advertise its presence with fairly small signs set way up on the wall above the level of the shop signs. Even the car park has no signs to indicate its attachment to the hotel. However, once found, the hotel reception was very good and we were shown quickly to our 2 suites, 110 and 106. Both were similar and, on first impressions, looked very attractive in a modern, minimalistic style. It was only subsequently that we realised the shortcomings of the design.
The first point was the available storage for clothes, etc. There was only a narrow, single wardrobe for hanging items, with associated shelves and a couple of drawers. Had we been staying for more than our 2 planned nights, we would still have been forced to 'live out of a suitcase' and been unable to unpack. More importantly, the toilet are was incredibly cramped. As well as the loo itself, there was just a very small single wash basin, a small pedal bin and a wooden stool. There was no shelf and the only light was in the centre of the ceiling, throwing one's face into shadow at the mirror. This made it extremely difficult to shave or apply make up accurately (not for the same person!). Additionally, the only available space to put one's own toiletries, because of the small surrounds to the basin, was on the stool, but that area was already occupied by the hotel's toiletries and cloths. Finally, the only other mirror, a wall mounted, full length one, was in the corner of the room, behind an armchair and partially hidden by the curtain drapes, rendering it very difficult to access. Additionally, as my wife pointed out, there was no electric socket nearby, so rendering the efficient use of a hair drier or curling brush impossible.
In sum, the rooms seemed to be beautifully designed, but by someone who had not tried living in them, with a companion, for any length of time. Hence, I would only recommend the hotel for very short stays.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WIWOL92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We value all comments received.

My sincere apologies for all the inconvenience caused. With regards to the signage, we are in the process of re-doing our signs. I will most certainly put forward your concerns to our owners as we strive to ensure guest satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Rex Hotel.

Yours Sincerely,
Masuda Mohamed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Nice, central location to waterfront and restaurants in evening. Check in was a bit rushed and not all information was given to us. However the lady was in training. Room nice and spacious. They offered us complimentary sparkling wine which was really special and I thought they went the extra mile with this - thank you! The breakfast was also fine, more attention could be given eg filling items up that's empty. Not hiding the bowls in the cupboard would also be great. I would recommend this hotel especially for people staying a bit longer as there is a kitchen as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the waterfront entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lale-Burg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Leigh,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. We value all comments received.

My sincere apologies for the rushed check-in process that you have received. As mentioned the receptionist is still training and I can assure you that the next time you come and visit us, the service would be superb. I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed the wine and it was only our pleasure to have given it to you. I will most certainly have a word with the restaurant manager as refills should be done constantly.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Rex Hotel.

Yours Sincerely,
Masuda Mohamed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

I Manoj Raveshia stayed at Hotel Rex at Knysna on 24/06/2013 for 2 nights. The experience at this hotel was amazing and excellent. The total staff at the reception, the restaurant, the house keeping was very warm and welcoming. The quality of rooms, cleanness, the food was par excellent. it was value for money. Mainly the head of the team Masuda - GM made sure that all the guest staying in hotel are comfortable and had pleasant stay. Please keep it up and all the best .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mannank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Threecities, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Mr Raveshia,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. We value all comments received.

I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Many thanks for your kind words and I will most certainly pass this onto my staff.

We look forward to welcoming you and the family back to The Rex Hotel in the not too distant future.

Yours Sincerely,
Masuda Mohamed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Luxury suits & rooms near Knysna Waterfront just one Min , friendly staff , nice Breakfast Cold & hot they make it as your request included of the stay
The only negative point I face during my stay : It was Cold & all air condition in the room & leaving room doesn't work to heater!
They send us a heater in the same day & next day thy fix the air condition in the bedroom but still they can't fix the leaving room one!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thamer-Awliya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Threecities, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Mr Thamer-Awliya,

Thank you for completing a review on Trip Advisor. We value all comments received.

I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. However my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused with regards to the air conditioner. Unfortunately the unit in the living room needed a part to be replaced and therefore took a bit longer to be fixed.

Once again my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Rex Hotel in the not too distant future.

Yours Sincerely,
Masuda Mohamed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed at the Rex this past weekend. The hotel was beautiful and we loved the walking distance to the waterfront. Breakfast was a great variety and we were incredibly impressed. Spacious rooms and friendly service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank natelie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Threecities, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Mrs Natelie,

Thank you for posting a comment on trip advisor. We value all comments received.

I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Rex Hotel in the not too distant future.

Yours Sincerely,
Masuda Mohamed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
0.7 mi away
Turbine Hotel & Spa
Turbine Hotel & Spa
#6 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
6.2 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
1.6 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
1.5 mi away
Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rex Hotel

Property: The Rex Hotel
Address: 8 Gray Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rex Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Knysna’s most elegant and sophisticated accommodation offerings, The Rex Hotel promises its guests superior service and exceptional comfort. Located on the World Famous Garden Route, The Rex Hotel is one of the most exhilarating getaways in its class. Capturing the essence of four-star luxury, the impeccably appointed Rex Hotel offers travelers a gateway to world-class restaurants, blossoming forests and the shores of the serene lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Rex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing