We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel in amazing location.”
Review of The Rex Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Rex Hotel
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Our stay at the hotel started very well, since while checking in, we were upgraded to a better room, which was very spacious, clean, beautifully decorated, and had a small kitchen with all the amenities you might need to prepare your breakfast or dinner. Me and my wife had dinner at Valentine’s Day in the room tasting a delicious South African wine. Breakfast is not included, as although it’s name is Rex Hotel, it’s like an apartment or a vacation rental rather than an hotel. Location is the best, a few steps from waterfront, as well as from many restaurants. The only downside is that they don't provide free wireless. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcelo85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Threecities, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear Mr Marcelo,

Thank you for completing a review. We value all comments received.

I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It was only a pleasure to have been able to upgrade you to a luxury suite. With regards to the wifi, we are currently in the process of sourcing an alternative supplier.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Rex Hotel in the not too distant future.

Yours Sincerely,
Masuda Mohamed
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (470)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

286 - 292 of 470 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2013

Stayed for two nights and cant complain about the hotel other than it was quiet and had no restaurant in the evening on site but with so many close by not an issue

check in was fast and curteous, our room was upgraded to a half suite with a switting area which was nice to sit ad relax in the evenings, room had large balcony but no seating which is odd.

Location was good being two minute walk from the waterfront, good value for money and would recommend to others without having to think too much about it

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I am currently at the Rex, I checked in with my Grand Circle group last night. Our group of 35 received luxury rooms, mainly 2 room suites. I walked in to room 109 and was horrified! The carpets were in poor condition (heavily stained), the lamp shades were also heavily stained, and the only countertop available was covered with coffee stains. This room was barely big enough to fit the two twin beds that were pushed together. I paid the same amount for my trip as the others in my group, why did I receive a room in such poor shape? My tour director hinted that since I am a first time traveller with GCT I was not entitled to a better room. I even tried to get GCT to place me in another hotel, no luck. I hope Roger Chulow (Regional General Manager - Africa) sees this review. He should be ashamed that one of his customers has been treated so poorly. Not a good introduction for me as a consumer to a travel company that relies on word-of-mouth referrals.

Room Tip: Refuse to accept room 109
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2016

Dear Guest,

My apologies for the room you received. Unfortunately room allocations are done as per availability. I am happy to advise that we have attended to all your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards,
Masuda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We booked a suite as we were staying for three nights from Monday 15th April and really appreciated the extra space. Our well appopinted suite looked on to the atrium and was very quiet. The hotel is well sited just two blocks from the Waterfront and safe to walk to in the evening for restaurants, boat trips etc. The bed was very comfortable, great bathrooms, comfy sofa for watching television and breakfast was available in the Rose Cafe each morning - we did not use the kitchen facilities with so many restaurants nearby! The staff were also very welcoming and helpful. Would definitely stay again if/when we return to South Africa.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandJHyndland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This Apt hotel is one of the best I ever stayed in not only in South Africa but most of the places I went to
I stayed in two bedroom apt. and it was huge and decorated great, Beds were comfortable and the room is cleaned daily
the hotel breakfast was nice and you need to try the pancakes
over all the hotel is great and I really recommend it

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tHeOnLyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Value for money, ultra modern with open bathrooms, mood lighting and great service. as the pictures show the room is very modernly decorated. we rented a 2 bedroom apartment for 6 nights. were were two adults with two teenaged children. please do use this resort and their sister properties. aha.com. they are value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arvafk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised when we were taken to our room to see that it was actually a full suite! There was a full kitchen and living room, and it reminded us more of a condo than a hotel room. I enjoyed the full bathtub as well. The location couldn't have been better, and it was just a short walk to the harbor. We also appreciated the parking right at the hotel, and the hotel was a great anchor location for us to explore the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Chelsea J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
3.3 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
867 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
0.7 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
0.6 mi away
Falcons View Manor
Falcons View Manor
#3 of 30 in Knysna
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rex Hotel

Address: 8 Gray Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range: $114 - $447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rex Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Knysna’s most elegant and sophisticated accommodation offerings, The Rex Hotel promises its guests superior service and exceptional comfort. Located on the World Famous Garden Route, The Rex Hotel is one of the most exhilarating getaways in its class. Capturing the essence of four-star luxury, the impeccably appointed Rex Hotel offers travelers a gateway to world-class restaurants, blossoming forests and the shores of the serene lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Rex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing