We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A Beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rex Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Rex Hotel
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Durban
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bed roomed apartment in the hotel in Dec 2012. What I liked was the great location, just a few paces from the waterfront. We had a nice mountain view from a fantastic balcony, and enjoyed the waterfront for supper and breakfast. The decor was amazing, very modern contemporary chic without any cold minimalism. Lovely kitchenette with high-end appliances, comfy couches and lovely beds. We booked via Booking.com that great rates, however breakfast wasn't included. Still, the high-light was the best bakery I have ever been to, is opposite the Reception. Croissants, pastry, bread.........divine!
just a small quibble: the shower in the bedroom can be seen in the sitting room because that small section of the wall is glass........strange! We just showered with the light off and it was fine. i would suggest that management intall blinds there and on the small window in the bedroom that lets in light from the ( gorgeous) passage.

The staff were not terribly polished but they were very helpful.

Given the chance I would go back in a flash.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    136
    28
    18
    8
See reviews for
91
197
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite at The Rex Hotel and really had a good experience. Located in central Knysna near the water and within easy walking distance to everything, the Rex is well designed and maintained, service was great also.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bdh1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

The room was great and really spacious. We stayed in a luxury studio apartment.
However, the desk staff was not at all friendly. Our room's air con was not working and despite having complained 3 times there was nothing they could do about it. They could not fix it the next day also and asked us to accept a fan as its replacement in the room.
This is simply not acceptable from such a nice property. The least they could have done was given us something complimentary but I guess that gesture was too much for them.
I am sure there will be better options than this in Knysna.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piyusht04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

In arriving at the hotel, service was excellent, the rooms exceeded our expectations they were beautiful. The seating area for drinks on the evening outside the rose cafe was very comfortable and clean. Our only complaint, if that is the right word, was the service at breakfast, I believe that they were understaffed and therefore the service was very slow. In all though, a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClareyCarebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

During the whole of our trip on the Garden Route, this was one of our most expensive stays, but I had a hard time seeing the value. Firstly, the location isn't great. You're basically two blocks off the major tourist pier, and two blocks off some pretty rough neighbourhoods where you wouldn't send your wife for a stroll. That said, the hotel does have a nice plaza to relax in and a great local, independent cafe.

The desk staff at the hotel is markedly unfriendly, and will struggle to crack a smile or have a conversation. Not sure if this bloke is trying to imagine he's working in Beverly Hills, but a bit of that South African friendliness would go a long way. The rest of the staff we encountered, primarily cleaning staff, were all top notch, friendly, and very helpful.

The main complaint with this property comes with the condition of the bathroom. The kitchen, living, and bedroom are all modernly appointed, spacious and comfortable. The cleaning was also very thorough. However, the bathroom is showing abnormal water damage for such a young property. It's obvious the shower leaks buckets when being used, and most of the baseboard gets soaked and damaged, requiring a few towels to sop it all up. Why would they let this happen to such a young property? Failed investment scheme, most likely, and short-sightedness. Another dumb thing about the shower is that there is no cover/blind on the window, so you basically get to give a top-half strip show to the neighbours. Saucy.

Also don't stay here if you need to get an early night's sleep. The live music from the pier-side restaurants is very audible on the water-facing rooms. Sleeping to a badly rendered version of "All night long" is not easy.

Parking is free. Wifi isn't included and is extortionately priced. Stupid really.

I have to say this wasn't my favorite stop.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yvr1k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for a week during our December holidays.

To summarize the pros and cons of the hotel:

Pros
-great location, close to all the amenities and restaurants
-rooms are modern and spacious, suite style
- great food from restaurant, with room service option
- friendly staff
- comfy beds

Cons
- no pool, no free wifi
- small bathroom
- limited tv channels
- not much crockery or cutlery
- rooms not made up early in the day
- rooms get hot at night if you don't sleep with aircon

Overall, great option for a holiday town getaway, probably won't find much better in knysna.

Room Tip: Ask for waterfront rooms as these have a slightly better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amir F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

The Rex, is a very well done hotel the interiors are like entering a wonderful home along with the good feelings which come of a home of warmth , cleanness , comfort , warmth etc.. The rooms we stayed in was an apartment type 1 bhk luxry sweet it had its own mini kitchen which was fully equipped along with cooking utensils and dinning crockery along with fridge , microwave , toaster etc.. We had a great stay as i had a chance to cook breakfast for my wife the 3 nights we stayed there. It is almost like a home away from home. The waterfront 2-3 min walking distance along with all the restaurants and the super market 4-6 min walking distance. they also have 2 bicycle for guest who want to ride them and go to places was a nice idea in my opinion.

The negative of the hotel : charge for wifii , no swimming pool , and no chairs and table in the balcony ( the balcony was very nice so they should put the same in all of them ) however we did ask for one and they arranged one for us so was great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prashantbajaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
0.7 mi away
Turbine Hotel & Spa
Turbine Hotel & Spa
#6 of 29 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
6.2 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 29 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
1.6 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
0.9 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rex Hotel

Property: The Rex Hotel
Address: 8 Grey Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rex Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Knysna’s most elegant and sophisticated accommodation offerings, The Rex Hotel promises its guests superior service and exceptional comfort. Located on the World Famous Garden Route, The Rex Hotel is one of the most exhilarating getaways in its class. Capturing the essence of four-star luxury, the impeccably appointed Rex Hotel offers travelers a gateway to world-class restaurants, blossoming forests and the shores of the serene lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your The Rex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing