We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great boutique hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Rex Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Rex Hotel
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great boutique hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

A modern and stylish hotel hotel with apartment style rooms in the heart of Knysna - convenient for the waterfront etc. Comfortable and well equipped to give a luxury feel. Good service from friendly staff. Enjoyed the Rose cafe.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    145
    35
    21
    11
See reviews for
100
220
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

I called the hotel and asked for a good price and the admin person I spoke to gave me a decent quote for the 80m2, 2 bedroom app. Though not in the most touristy season the price was ok. The hotel has its own restaurant and we ordered dinner and had it brought up -excellent food and quick service. Each bedroom had their own shower and one had a bath tub. The app was neat, classy and with a huge dining table. The location is great -it is in the midst of Knysna. But very close to the Waterfron and the Thesen Island. I would however agree that it is a pity that the rooms doesn´t overlook the beautiful lagoon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mountain77Oslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed in the Luxury studio apartment which was very well equipped and stylishly decorated. We were met with excellent service and enjoyed a pleasant and luxurious stay. The location at the Waterfront is central, the nice balcony makes one long for a slightly more scenic view ... a pity it doesn't overlook the lagoon. I would recommend the hotel and would return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miche1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

The standard rooms are a bit small for a longer stay, but tastefully decorated and comfortable. It has a large double bed and two side tables, super large tub with a seperate loo . The breakfast at Rose Cafe was excellent except for the last morning when a large tour group were having breakfast and I do not think the staff and kitchen could cope with such a large number of people.

The hotel is perfectly located. We had a hire car, but only had to drive 10 km's over the 3 days we stayed there. One could easily walk to various destinations.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linmic16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

The only two good things about this hotel are the comfortable beds and the modern style. The breakfast is average and the server was a surly kid with zero personality. The bathroom is a joke. You have to put your personal kit on a block of wood under the pedestal sink. The towels are threadbare. Of course there is no free wireless. The place advertised a fitness center, no such thing on site. The hotel changed hands in March 2012 and it appears as a shoestring operation. Look around at other hotels before choosing the Rex.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beaway24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Our stay at the Rex in Knysna could not have been any better. The hotel rooms are huge and very very stylish. The hotel is perfectly located for those that like to party at night as you can walk to many of the best restaurants and the Quay. Breakfasts are hosted in a coffee shop next door and are excellent; the gym is next door (for those that actually feel the need to go to a gym on holiday??) - the only thing that irritated is the need to pay for your wi-fi connection....it was free everywhere else on our trip. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheLulu99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
117 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is a really high quality hotel very close to the Knysna waterfront. As a previous review hinted, it has a slightly odd feel to it which I put down to us staying at the end of winter, though unlike that reviewer’s experience, the reception was staffed 24 hours when we were there, the rooms fully serviced, including evening ‘turn-down’ with pillow chocolates and weather forecast, and good breakfast provided. The staff were all extremely helpful, and local eating opportunities on the waterfront or in Grey St (e.g. Mr. Wu’s Chinese) were pretty good, though limited beyond that area during the evening (a member of staff warned us off going into the town itself after dark).

Room Tip: Try to get one of the rooms with a balcony and view of the waterfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
3.3 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
1.5 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
0.8 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rex Hotel

Property: The Rex Hotel
Address: 8 Gray Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rex Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Knysna’s most elegant and sophisticated accommodation offerings, The Rex Hotel promises its guests superior service and exceptional comfort. Located on the World Famous Garden Route, The Rex Hotel is one of the most exhilarating getaways in its class. Capturing the essence of four-star luxury, the impeccably appointed Rex Hotel offers travelers a gateway to world-class restaurants, blossoming forests and the shores of the serene lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Rex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing