We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pick a different place”
Review of The Rex Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Rex Hotel
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Pick a different place”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The only two good things about this hotel are the comfortable beds and the modern style. The breakfast is average and the server was a surly kid with zero personality. The bathroom is a joke. You have to put your personal kit on a block of wood under the pedestal sink. The towels are threadbare. Of course there is no free wireless. The place advertised a fitness center, no such thing on site. The hotel changed hands in March 2012 and it appears as a shoestring operation. Look around at other hotels before choosing the Rex.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beaway24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    149
    35
    21
    11
See reviews for
103
224
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Our stay at the Rex in Knysna could not have been any better. The hotel rooms are huge and very very stylish. The hotel is perfectly located for those that like to party at night as you can walk to many of the best restaurants and the Quay. Breakfasts are hosted in a coffee shop next door and are excellent; the gym is next door (for those that actually feel the need to go to a gym on holiday??) - the only thing that irritated is the need to pay for your wi-fi connection....it was free everywhere else on our trip. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheLulu99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is a really high quality hotel very close to the Knysna waterfront. As a previous review hinted, it has a slightly odd feel to it which I put down to us staying at the end of winter, though unlike that reviewer’s experience, the reception was staffed 24 hours when we were there, the rooms fully serviced, including evening ‘turn-down’ with pillow chocolates and weather forecast, and good breakfast provided. The staff were all extremely helpful, and local eating opportunities on the waterfront or in Grey St (e.g. Mr. Wu’s Chinese) were pretty good, though limited beyond that area during the evening (a member of staff warned us off going into the town itself after dark).

Room Tip: Try to get one of the rooms with a balcony and view of the waterfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oudtshoorn, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed in a two-room apartment for 3 nights. All was well at the check-in and we were helped to our apartment by Bianca who provided us with very good service during our stay. The rooms were not very clean. e.g. dirty wine glasses and a couple of hairs in the both the bathrooms. The furniture and dining room chairs were badly marked with stains. There is very little privacy in the apartment as you can see into it from the corridor from a very large milky glass window (from ceiling to floor). The main bedroom’s bathroom also had one of these wonderful windows (About 1m wide by 80cm high) as the bathroom was an open bathroom the light from the corridor would shine into the bedroom all night. (No blinds). Then there’s another one of these windows from the shower to the lounge, although milky glass, when wet you could see the person have a shower quiet clearly. In both bathrooms the washbasin is much too low and in one there is no space for your toiletries.The Wi-Fi is very user unfriendly, you have to login and enter credit card details to pay. The TV reception in both rooms of the apartment is shocking, not worth watching at all. All this is down to poor management. I have given a Very Good value for the rating as we only paid R1000.00 per night. Standard rate in the winter is around R2400.00 per night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marwim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

My partner and I had the opportunity to stay at the Rex hotel for 3 days in August 2012. What a delight! We stayed in room 204 overlooking the waterfront. Modern, spacious and very tastefully decorated. It was more like a boutique apartment rather than a hotel room. The suite had a separate lounge and open plan kitchen area. Lovely bathroom and fantastic bed and bed linen. We didn't want to leave after 3 days, I could actually imagine myself living there! It was exactly what we wanted for our 3 days stay in Knysna. We wanted to do our own thing. Make our own breakfast in the morning and go out for dinners across the street in the evenings. Curl up on the comfortable couch in a luxurious apartment and watch movies on a rainy evening if we wanted to. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly as to be expected from South African hospitality. We stayed for 3 nights and only paid R2200. Great value indeed!

Room Tip: Room 204 is great! Go for the luxury suit rather than a normal room. It's worth the little ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marco75london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was a complete surprise. It was beautiful, modern with a very large suite-room. I only stayed here one night but I really loved it. The staff is so friendly too. The room was decorated so beautifully with African art.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank StevenBFla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanzibar Island, Tanzania
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

What a beautiful little hotel - huge rooms - exquisite decor - all finishes and furnishings from the minute you leave the lift and arrive on the floors first class. A superbly appointed kitchenette with very modern applicances. Within walking distance of Waterfront. Staff extremely helpful - a most efficiently and well managed Hotel. Will certainly be back. Had meals at the Fisherman's Cabin - the service is excellent and great 'oysters' the Tapas 'shop' of 34 South, Mario's Italian and The Rose Cafe which The Rex uses for breakfasts - excellent coffee and really friendly and helpful staff. Certainly would not recommend 34 South in the Waterfront (next to Mario's) - service shocking & food mediocre - wine prices RIDICULOUS!

Room Tip: all rooms are really great - if you however need 'darkness' for sleep - suggest you take you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDHowell38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
0.7 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
3.3 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)
1.3 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#2 of 30 in Knysna
369 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rex Hotel

Property: The Rex Hotel
Address: 8 Gray Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rex Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Knysna’s most elegant and sophisticated accommodation offerings, The Rex Hotel promises its guests superior service and exceptional comfort. Located on the World Famous Garden Route, The Rex Hotel is one of the most exhilarating getaways in its class. Capturing the essence of four-star luxury, the impeccably appointed Rex Hotel offers travelers a gateway to world-class restaurants, blossoming forests and the shores of the serene lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your The Rex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing