We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best guesthouse ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bamboo the Guesthouse
Ranked #39 of 129 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2014

I took a couple of my friends from the UK with different nationalities including Canadians, Australian, Irish, Slovakian, English, South African and Norwegian and they were amazed with this this guest house!

We were made to feel at home and anything we wanted was attended to! The rooms are spectacular and once you enter you do not want to even leave! I want to thank the staff for their hospitality and will always make use of this place whenever we come to Knysna again! My out of town friends praised me for getting accommodation here but the guest house should take all the credit! Well done and i will be advise everyone i know to stay here!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CraigCassim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaynie C, Front Office Manager at Bamboo the Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Hi Craig
Was a pleasure having you and your friends here with us even though it was only for one night, we do hope to see you again soon sometime. Send my regards to all, and Walsh hehe
Warmest regards
Cally and Bamboo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (519)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 519 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2014

Wow !!! Just what we expected a vibrant and exciting, quirky, and exhilarating B&B. Everyone made us welcome, Granny Liz there every day to make the guests feel at home. Jaynie, Preston, Cally and can Gordon cook a mean curry !!!! Loved every minute, can't wait to go back again and again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank BALTIDAVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaynie C, Front Office Manager at Bamboo the Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Hi Dave
Thank you so much for your review it was a great having you here and cant wait to have you back again and again and again, next time you are here we will make sure the food is even better, if possible.
All our love the Bamboo Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Bamboo Guesthouse is a really outstanding location to stay, when visiting Knysna. Bamboo is set up by several single huts and some rooms in the main building in a jungle like area. You can get to the huts and the main building over wooden walkways. You almost feel like directly in the jungle and each day there is something new to discover. The great hosts, with their great team always help you with organizing trips or if you need any good advice about what to do.
We would definitely love to come again and want to say thank you for wonderful stay in Knysna, to the whole Bamboo team

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flxD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaynie C, Front Office Manager at Bamboo the Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Hi There
Thank you so much for your fantastic review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we are defiantly looking forward to seeing you again, and hopefully for longer.
Best wishes
The Bamboo family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Bamboo is a hip and relaxed place. The location is really out of town so you need a car. But when you are on the premises, you have your own balcony and some chill space. Swimming pool is small and there was no wifi in our cottage ('best wifi at the pool'). It feels a bit old school to search around for the a possible wifi signal.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank travelRobert2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaynie C, Front Office Manager at Bamboo the Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Good day Robert
Many thanks for your review, we have attended to the WIFI problem and it is now available throughout the property, so the next time you come to stay at Bamboo you wont have to search again. Many thanks once again.
With love from the Bamboo family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Bamboo is very good. It have a rustic and unique style, with a very nice and big green area around the rooms (with many kinds of plants). The place is very quiet and calm, the breakfast is really good (I loved to take an outside table and have my Breakfast around the trees) and the decorations is really nice. The rooms are tidy and the manager, Mr Preston, is a very nice guy, with good tips about what to do on Knysna. One night he did an excellent braai (barbecue) as dinner, for the guests. The only thing that I missed was a blackout on the room's windows, to avoid the sunlight entering in the room on the very beginning of the morning. I trully recommend this place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rcrlacerda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaynie C, Front Office Manager at Bamboo the Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Good day
Many thanks for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and all the decorations that makes Bamboo the unique place that it is. We have rectified the light situation.
We do hope that we will see you again soon.
Warmest regards from the Bamboo family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed at Bamboo for Valentines weekend this year. The Garden is like a little bit of heaven right here on earth and the breakfasts were sublime - anyone who makes chocolate pancakes as an option for breakfast deserves all the acolades in the world - and these were particularly fine pancakes too...
The staff were really friendly and helpful - just a joy really.

Our ONLY two very minor issues were that we were staying in a room with a glass door that didn't have a blind or a curtain so shafts of light tended to keep you awake at night if the garden lights were on - and you woke up the second that dawn broke on the horizon. Issue two was that there was a big Rugby match on the one day and it wasn't being shown on either of the two channels available in the room....which only affected 50% of the occupants of the room - the other 50% were quite glad really :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaynie C, Front Office Manager at Bamboo the Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Good day Tracy
Many thanks for your review we always find them very helpful and we strive to make our guests visit an enjoy full one. We have rectified the problem with the light as for the rugby, usually at the request of the guest we change channels to there needs, we are sorry for any inconvenience caused.
We do hope to see you again soon.
Warmest regards, the Bamboo family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We arrived at 11pm, after a grueling 5 hour drive from Cape Town. Our host opened the gates as our car slowed down and we were welcomed into a beautiful African Paradise. He then led us through a beautiful garden with stunning water features and birds to a beautiful bungalow which was our room. The decor in the room transported us to a beautiful African Paradise and our dreams were made sweeter by the stunning, relaxing sounds. We walked through the beautiful garden the next morning to enjoy breakfast in the restaurant which is situated next to the pool. I did not want to attend our meeting, I wanted to stay. (Made a note in my diary to definitely be back and spend more time exploring the magical guesthouse.)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lynette & Trevo... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaynie C, Front Office Manager at Bamboo the Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Good morning Lynette
Thank you so much for your review, that is exactly what we are striving for, after a long drive we want our guests to feel relaxed and happy.
We hope that your next stay will be longer and absolutely no working.
Warmest regards
The Bamboo Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.6 mi away
Panorama Lodge
Panorama Lodge
#12 of 129 in Knysna
215 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amber Guest Lodge
Amber Guest Lodge
#38 of 129 in Knysna
186 reviews
3.3 mi away
Blue Oyster B&B
Blue Oyster B&B
#22 of 129 in Knysna
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Knysna Stays
Knysna Stays
#26 of 129 in Knysna
331 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pumula Lodge
Pumula Lodge
#20 of 129 in Knysna
207 reviews
0 mi away
Nieu-Wherry Meadow
Nieu-Wherry Meadow
#1 of 2 in Rheenendal
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo the Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo the Guesthouse

Address: No 9 Bolton Street | Hunter's Home, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: $58 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bamboo the Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique accommodation on the Garden Route, minutes from Knysna town centre, Bamboo Guest House offers a magical B&B experience in garden cottage rooms and courtyard suites, all in the tranquility of a tropical garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Bamboo the Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing