We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hideaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bamboo the Guesthouse
Ranked #32 of 126 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Fabulous hideaway!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Authentic, peaceful and revitalising. This was a wonderful stay in magnificent surroundings. We felt at home and will definitely visit again when we are next in the garden route. hospitable, friendly and warm.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Romy Tao S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaynie C, Owner at Bamboo the Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thanks Romy for the wonderful feedback - we hope to see you and Irene back here soon!
Warmest regards from all here at Bamboo
Jaynie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    128
    22
    13
    9
See reviews for
130
252
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed for about 3 days and it was really nice right from beginning.. All the rooms are uniquely arranged and stylish. the hosts gave us a warm welcoming and are very helpful and have great insider tips as well.

the breakfast is good. on our first night we chilled at the bar and one of the owners grilled some awesome fish for us - completely for free. we even joined them to a nice evening in town with live music and good food.

the garden is unique. its like a little rain forest so you hardly see any other rooms. the first two walks it was almost a little confusing to find everything since the your basically walking in nature - great!

the price per night is a little expensive but its definitely worth it.

the only negative things we experienced were that one of our rooms was a little clammy due to high air humidity (in the "forest") and one bed was full of hair at our arrival (a dog or cat must have slept in it while nobody was watching). we told both issues to the hosts. the bed was cleaned immediately and we got a little discount on the clammy rooms - so everything was good. no problem there...

we had a great stay at bamboo guesthouse and would definitely recommend it so anyone who likes to experience a little different accommodation and wants great hospitality. thumbs up!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rookie1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

My wife and I spent our first anniversary here and it was as magical as when we stayed here on our honeymoon last year.
The staff and owners are super friendly and helpful, it's like being with family you didn't know you had and instantly getting along with everyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Crispian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaynie C, Owner at Bamboo the Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Here's hoping for the third visit.... looking forward to next years anniversary
Warm greeting and best regards from all at Bamboo
Jaynie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Bamboo was a real fun experience. A real unique place to stay. You have rooms nestled in between a manmade forest maze with abundant birdlife and water features. Very friendly staff and excellent service at breakfast in the morning. The rooms are beautifully styled and provides a peaceful setting to relax and unwind. Having some rain on the day was a bonus as it added to the forest feel. There are also some arts and crafts to buy.

Room Tip: Honeymoon Loft Suite - Big and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pieter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaynie C, Owner at Bamboo the Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thanks for the great review, we hope to welcome you both back to Bamboo in the future - perhaps for your anniversary!!
Warm greeting and best regards from the Bamboo team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We just spent the most wonderful weekend at Bamboo for a family wedding.
The atmosphere was relaxed, quirky and eclectic.
The room was cosy, the staff were very accommodating and the food was great.
A fantastic time was had by all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LFawell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaynie C, Owner at Bamboo the Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thanks for the great review, we loved hosting the wedding here and hope to welcome back you all in the future! Having just a few weddings here its great to get positive feedback.
Warm greeting and best regards from Knysna
Jaynie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Bamboo.We were made very welcome.The staff were very helpful in arranging our visits to local restaurants and advising on places to visit.We ate in on our first night and we all sat round one big table.We had a lovely meal and a great evening.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank deliat934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaynie C, Owner at Bamboo the Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
we welcome all the feedback we can get, thanks for your great review! Meeting guests and socializing over dinner is a treat for all Bamboo staff!
Warm regards and greeting from us all
Jaynie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stopped in Knysna on our way to Cape Town and had to come back for a second night on our way home! The accommodations were perfect, the hosts were incredibly hospitable and you certainly get your money's worth. The first night we stayed in the beautiful Pampas room and the second we were upgraded to the Loft Suite. The pictures do not do it justice - do not miss this special guest house in Knysna!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katharine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaynie C, Owner at Bamboo the Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thanks for the wonderful review, we hope as you are based in Port Elizabeth we will see you both back here in the near future - after all you have only tried two of our rooms so far!!! Lots of love from all at Bamboo -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.3 mi away
Knysna Country House
Knysna Country House
#21 of 30 in Knysna
326 reviews
0.6 mi away
Panorama Lodge
Panorama Lodge
#15 of 126 in Knysna
197 reviews
4.1 mi away
Oyster Creek Lodge
Oyster Creek Lodge
#13 of 126 in Knysna
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Cuningham's Island Guest House
1.5 mi away
Under Milkwood Chalets
Under Milkwood Chalets
#1 of 104 in Knysna
324 reviews
3.4 mi away
Blue Oyster B&B
Blue Oyster B&B
#21 of 126 in Knysna
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo the Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo the Guesthouse

Property: Bamboo the Guesthouse
Address: No 9 Bolton Street | Hunter's Home, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bamboo the Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique accommodation on the Garden Route, minutes from Knysna town centre, Bamboo Guest House offers a magical B&B experience in garden cottage rooms and courtyard suites, all in the tranquility of a tropical garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bamboo the Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing