We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eclectic and Cozy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bamboo the Guesthouse
Ranked #31 of 127 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We had a great time at this eclectic little gem of a place. If you are looking for something formal and buttoned-up this might not be the best guesthouse for you. It is hand crafted and with tumbling gardens and walkways filled with all kinds of little treasures scattered around (flowers growing in a bathtub, repurposed plastic bottle bird feeder). Everyday we had great conversations with both the family in residence and other travelers who were passing through.
The staff extended themselves to us to make sure we were oriented in the area and had great activities to do in the surrounding area and even took the time to make some recommendations for later on in our road trip.
Our room had everything you need to be comfortable and was nicely curated with real african folk art and contemporary pieces too. There was a good and safe place to park, and accessible bar at all hours, and a wonderful breakfast everyday.
We felt like we had tons of privacy in our cabin and then when we wanted to socialize we could just wander right down to the bar lodge and see who was around...never a boring conversation to be found.
If you love to meet new friends, hang out with a real family, and be in a space that was crafted by hand and with love then this is for you.
And if you are really lucky you will get a hug upon check-out;)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rae -
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaynie C, Owner at Bamboo the Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Thanks Rachel, what a great post on TripAdvisor! We thoroughly enjoyed you and Ben - hope you will both come back in the not to distant future! Love from the whole bamboo crew to you both!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (502)
There are newer reviews for Bamboo the Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 502 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

We spent 6 nights at Bamboo which we thoroughly enjoyed. The layout and the ambience was excellent. Great hospitality by all with a very sociable bar area for those who wanted it. The breakfast was very good with wonderful homemade muesli and chopped fruit. Location was good and assistance with restaurant recommendations and day trips was excellent. Would love to return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaynie C, Owner at Bamboo the Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Thanks Gary for the terrific post! We loved having you and Kate stay with us, and hope you will be back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

The Bamboo Guesthouse was one of our stops on the Garden Route, we spent 3 nights here in November. Very friendly, comfortable environment, lovely settings, friendly hosts, helpful staff and great breakfast. Lovely stay in a lovely place, thank you :) Zsuzsanna and the family from Hungary

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susie1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaynie C, Owner at Bamboo the Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Thanks Zsuzsanna for your kind review, we loved meeting you and your family, its always fun when a family group comes to stay!
Warm greeting to you all from all here at Bamboo
Kind regards
Jaynie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We have been travelling around quite a lot and stayed in many great places. Sometimes, however, you walk into a place which feels like coming home. Bamboo guesthouse tops that list and the welcoming, warm admosphere combined with unique quality accomodation makes us rate this guesthouse top of our list! There is only one right way to find out what i am talking about and that is to stay there for a couple of nights. Chances are you agree with me.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Briek54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaynie C, Owner at Bamboo the Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Thanks SO much for the heart warming feedback - reviews like yours keeps smiles on our faces and we all feel like we're walking on clouds!!! We loved meeting you both and look forward to a return visit in the not too distant future!!
A special greeting from all at Bamboo - have a great 2013
Warmest regards
Jaynie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The setting is lovely - boardwalks through a mini-forest in a suburban lodge. It feels like a place that would find favour equally from well-heeled backpackers or well travelled yuppies. It's very laid back, friendly and has a great buzz. We visited on a quiet day, so I imagine it will be better when there are more people around. Good b'fast, well appointed rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jozisam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaynie C, Owner at Bamboo the Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Thanks for the great review and for staying with us over our quieter days!
We have noted our short falls and will work extra hard to make all our reviewers enjoy 5 stars at all times!
Warmest regards from a busy Knysna
Jaynie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed at Bamboo for one night on a last minute decision and I was extremely sad that I was scheduled to leave the next day. There is no doubt in my mind that Bamboo will be my first choice to stay upon my return to Knysna. The lodge is super romantic and cosy. You enter and you are part of a family. The hosts are outstanding, the rooms are super clean and the food is delicious. I had a blast of a time despite being single. I could only imagine how perfect this place would be with someone special to share this experience with.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaynie C, Owner at Bamboo the Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Thank you Iris for the glowing review, we hope you will be back - this time with your boyfriend! We will remember the night with Brian Finch and Tigger with you singing so beautifully! Have a wonderful 2013 - hope to see you back here again very soon
Lots of love from us all
Jaynie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We found Bamboo on the net and it looked great and we were not disappointed!! We travelled as a big family group with 13 kids through many African countries on a 6 week tour and the Bamboo was a highlight for us. Wish we could have stayed longer and enjoyed New Years with them and the live band! The rooms were spacious with beautiful decor filled with art that is for sale, coffee plungers, port and chocolate biscuits. Breakfast was a real treat with the best homemade musli, cooked treats and great holondaise sauce.
Jaynie and Gordon were very welcoming and extremely helpful in organising activities and tours for us and went above and beyond in making sure we were looked after.
Granny's gift shop was beautiful and I wish I had bought one of her own hand knitted jumpers or scarf's.
The kids loved the accommodation too as the pools were great and the garden like an adventurers jungle with a surprise around every corner! Thanks so much Bamboo Guest House xxx

Room Tip: We used 4 of their rooms and all were excellent!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaynie C, Owner at Bamboo the Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Hello Paula and the Aussie gang! Thanks for taking time out to write this review. We had the most fun ever with you and your families.... a memorable few days that will contain some of the very best experiences we have had at Bamboo.
Send out love to all the other too please
Warmest regards
Jaynie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.3 mi away
Knysna Country House
Knysna Country House
#20 of 30 in Knysna
331 reviews
0.6 mi away
Panorama Lodge
Panorama Lodge
#15 of 127 in Knysna
201 reviews
1.7 mi away
Knysna Stays
Knysna Stays
#17 of 127 in Knysna
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pumula Lodge
Pumula Lodge
#21 of 127 in Knysna
196 reviews
1.4 mi away
Knysna Herons Guest House
Knysna Herons Guest House
#34 of 127 in Knysna
148 reviews
3.3 mi away
South Villa Guest House
South Villa Guest House
#7 of 127 in Knysna
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo the Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo the Guesthouse

Address: No 9 Bolton Street | Hunter's Home, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: $57 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bamboo the Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique accommodation on the Garden Route, minutes from Knysna town centre, Bamboo Guest House offers a magical B&B experience in garden cottage rooms and courtyard suites, all in the tranquility of a tropical garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bamboo the Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing