We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (532)
Filter reviews
532 results
Traveler rating
337
138
30
15
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
337
138
30
15
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest househoneymoon suitea great stayyogurtpampashostsfireplaceaccommodationprivacybirds
Filter
Updating list...
273 - 278 of 532 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at this guest house after visiting the beautiful town of Knysna.
When we arrived at the guesthouse we were amazed by the gorgeous garden.
After checking in, we went to our room which was more like a small house/cabin so much bigger than expected. The room was decorated with african artswork and beautiful animal skins.
We were given a very nice diner with several of the other guests who we're staying at the guesthouse as well.
The efforts the people did to make us feel at home was so nice! It was a perfect stay.

Room Tip: Stay for dinner instead of going into town!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carola K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaynie C, Owner at Bamboo the Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

So long as our efforts are rewarded by having added that extra dimension to your Knysna stay then we are doing something right!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We had an awesome stay for two nights in the honeymoon suite at Bamboo. The Lodge itsself is a unique experience only topped by the friendly hosts, the helpful staff and a great breakfast. Good times... Thanks again!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Torben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaynie C, Owner at Bamboo the Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

"Awesome", "unique", "friendly", "helpful", "great".......wow! What more can we say? Heartwarming and gratifying that we managed to inspire those words after your your stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This was a direct quote from my husband which I was pleased about since I was in charge of the booking. It really is an oasis within Knysna. The staff are very friendly and helpful too. It really feels like you're in the middle of the forest.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khyati D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaynie C, Owner at Bamboo the Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

High praise indeed Khyati......many thanks! Your husband's words confirm everything that Bamboo stands for........uniqueness!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed at Bamboo's for two nights. The room was excellent, nicely decorated and had that genuine 'Bamboo feel' to it (you'll know what I mean once you get there;-) ). The people there went out of their way to make us feel at home and provide us with everything we needed; information, placing a call, providing directions and even homemade ribs! Jummy!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quelake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaynie C, Owner at Bamboo the Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

The 'Bamboo feel' is indeed something special that is difficult to convey in words. Fantastic that you experienced it and summed it up so eloquently - ".....genuine 'Bamboo feel' to it (you'll know what I mean once you get there;-)".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Two nights shoot be two months. Wauw what a place to stay the jungle garden, every house/room has its own special style. The relax and bar spot it's complete. The fireplace style like gaudi. Don't go to a restaurant just stay for diner. The special attention from the crew: delicious spare ribs, information about the area, special guiding to the local market, tasting of the good wine, homemade clothes made by "Granny"........and so on. The next time we will stay much longer
Dear Jaynie and Gordon don't change a thing it's so special what you both achieved with your crew.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leediver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaynie C, Owner at Bamboo the Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Rest assured Leediver.....things will remain the same at Bamboo! Quirky, homely, welcoming and unique! Looking forward to seeing you guys for a bit longer next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews