We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$213
$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pezula Hotel(Knysna)
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brenton On The Rocks Guesthouse(Brenton-on-Sea)(Great Value!)
$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Oyster Creek Lodge(Knysna)(Great Value!)
$73
$61
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa(Knysna)(Great Value!)
$82
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $103/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Under Milkwood Chalets(Knysna)(Great Value!)
$85
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
$90
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $108/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$156
$127
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$519
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (529)
Filter reviews
530 results
Traveler rating
336
137
30
15
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
336
137
30
15
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest househoneymoon suitea lovely stayyogurtpampashostsfireplaceaccommodationprivacybirds
Filter
Updating list...
306 - 311 of 530 reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We happened on this guest house from a tourist info booklet and what a lovely place. Janie and Gordon are natural hosts, from the brai which was available the night we arrived to the wondererfully imaginative buildings and grounds. 'Granny' (Gordon's mum) is a real assett too. It's as relaxed as being at home and there are always interesting people to chat to, should you wish to.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJHMcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Large and comfortable rooms - quiet and secluded
Great owners and staff
Best place we stayed in South Africa

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite was superb
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan_betts2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

I already reviewed Bamboo a couple of years ago but I always stay there whenever I'm in South Africa, even if it means a diversion from my planned route because it really is unique. Jaynie and Gordon are the best hosts and the garden is awesome.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Torland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed in Bamboo from the 27th-30th of December last. We were on our honeymoon from Ireland and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We received the best welcome and hospitality. Jaynie and Gordon are the perfect hosts. They really couldn't do any more for us.
Bamboo is a real gem and was totally different to anywhere else we stayed. The layout of the property gives the feeling of relaxation and privacy. Each room is built separately from each other.
Never fear if you fancy a chat. The honesty bar is the place to meet and chat with Jaynie and Gordon, their three dogs, Roxy, Forest, Maddie and other guests from all over the world.
Not forgetting the breakfast. Freshly made muffins, eggs from their own hens and a bottomless coffee mug. I had the savoury pancake for three days and Angela had a three egg omlette. The perfect fuel for our days of adventure around the Knysna area.
I can't recommend this place enough. I'll be back sooner rather than later.
Thanks Jaynie and Gordon for the memories, hospitality and genuine friendliness.

Room Tip: Make sure and tell them what you want. They will be more than willing to help you pick the perfect room for you.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Our lodge (Flax) was very dark, sticky and humid due to the dense planting around the cottage. It smells musty. Maybe other rooms are better. Also the pool is very small. Nevertheless good breakfast, very nice and lovely constructed garden, friendly staff.

Room Tip: Choose not room "Flax".
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GSMUC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews