We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back”
Review of Peace of Eden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Peace of Eden
Ranked #37 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
“We'll be back”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We spent 4 nights at Peach of Eden over the new year and absolutely loved it. We stayed in a cottage and my boys stayed in the forest tents which was a great experience for them. It depends on what you like but for us it was perfect - rustically beautiful with the best night sky we've seen in a very long time. We're looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Des396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    40
    11
    11
    9
See reviews for
34
58
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Windhoek, Namibia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We were very friendly received at Peace of Eden and stayed in one of the tents. It was very nice and peace full to wake up with all the forest noise and the "Piet-my-vrou" chirping. My only complaint is the very hard matrass, but we enjoyed our two day stay. Next time we need to stay longer as there are a lot more to do in Knysna.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 451HHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Peace of eden is really the name of the place, we had a wonderful time and the cottage was beautiful and very clean and neat. Ruth was very kind and the atmosfere was wonderful did really enjoy our stay will go again

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonja V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durbanville, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Thank you, Ruth, for all your kind assistance. We had such a wonderful stay. Beautiful surroundings, well-equipped cottage, charming accommodation and very friendly staff. Best place to 'switch off' and relax. Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tania S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2013

The cottage we stayed in was clean and nice - there was a lot of space for two people the bed was comfortable and the kitchen had everything we needed. The lady who welcomed us was very friendly and, as it was National Brai Day, invited us to join them at their BBQ that evening (which we decided not to do, but very much appreciated the invitation).

The only reason I haven't rewarded 5 stars is because the water in the shower wasn't very warm and the pressure was very weak. But I know this may be personal preference, and may not bother everyone.

Good value for money, definitely recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janika F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed 5 nights at Peace of Eden for our honeymoon... What a good choice we made!!! We stayed in the forest tent, Wow!!! We will go back anytime !!! The staff are so friendly and helpfull!! Thank uou Ruth for all your arrangments, it helped so much!!! Love love love!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jolind E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peacesoul, Owner at Peace of Eden, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thanks so much, it was a pleasure having you guys.
Blessings for a long and happy marriage.

Warm Regards
Jen, Ruth and all the Peace of Eden staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2013

My Boyfriend and I stayed in Gwendolyn's Glade- with a beautiful loft bedroom and a cosy fireplace in the lounge. The cottage ticked all the boxes- well equipped, charmingly decorated an romantic. The garden is lush and wild and I loved sitting on the veranda over looking the lily pond. The peace and quite was a welcome alternative the the buzz of city living and allowed us our privacy. The absolute best for us was the forest on the property, dense and green and untouched- truly magical. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
3.9 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
0.5 mi away
Woodlands Self Catering Accommodation
3.7 mi away
Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Cliffhanger Cottages
Cliffhanger Cottages
#1 of 6 in Rheenendal
156 reviews
6.7 mi away
Teniqua Treetops
Teniqua Treetops
#1 of 21 in Sedgefield
434 reviews
12.9 mi away
Pine Lake Marina
Pine Lake Marina
#4 of 12 in Sedgefield
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peace of Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peace of Eden

Property: Peace of Eden
Address: Rheenendal Road, Knysna 6576, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peace of Eden, fondly known by many as 'The Peace Lodge' is a quirky beautiful place that is setting trends as the first Vegan Backpackers Lodge and Retreat in South Africa if not Africa! Only 8 km's off the main N2, its set alongside magical indigenous forests and offers eco rustic creative accommodation from woodcutter Cottages (once the stables), a Barn Cabin, a cute fairy tale double story Cottage and four retro canvas tents on stilts in the forest. Perfect for nature lovers and the more eco green aware travelers. They offer gorgeous 5 star vegan dinners and breakfasts, its best to pre book in winter, however meals are available every day in summer. Whilst nature does most of the entertaining, they also offer an onsight nature Guide who can take you on any adventure, an award winning Music Studio with sunset soirees, festivals and host creative and holistic workshops. Be it for a night stop or used as base to explore the incredible Garden Route National Park, this 'Peace Lodge' is perfect for those wanting to be a little off the beaten track and who love something different from the mostly busy noisy backpackers, traditional BnB or impersonal hotels. Here you arrive as a stranger and leave a friend inspired by the owners Jen, Howard and Jessamine who do what inspires them and share it with love. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Orbitz so you can book your Peace of Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing