We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Honeymoon say wad Excellent.”
Review of Peace of Eden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Peace of Eden
Ranked #35 of 104 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
North West South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our Honeymoon say wad Excellent.”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed 5 nights at Peace of Eden for our honeymoon... What a good choice we made!!! We stayed in the forest tent, Wow!!! We will go back anytime !!! The staff are so friendly and helpfull!! Thank uou Ruth for all your arrangments, it helped so much!!! Love love love!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jolind E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peacesoul, Owner at Peace of Eden, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thanks so much, it was a pleasure having you guys.
Blessings for a long and happy marriage.

Warm Regards
Jen, Ruth and all the Peace of Eden staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    40
    11
    12
    9
See reviews for
35
58
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2013

My Boyfriend and I stayed in Gwendolyn's Glade- with a beautiful loft bedroom and a cosy fireplace in the lounge. The cottage ticked all the boxes- well equipped, charmingly decorated an romantic. The garden is lush and wild and I loved sitting on the veranda over looking the lily pond. The peace and quite was a welcome alternative the the buzz of city living and allowed us our privacy. The absolute best for us was the forest on the property, dense and green and untouched- truly magical. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We were looking for a relaxing peaceful accommodation in Knysna and found Peace of Eden. On arriving Jen was very friendly and helpful towards activities that we were interested in and places that we have to visit while being in Knysna area. She even made phone calls and bookings for our next accommodation in the West coast. Peace of Eden accommodation was spaces and we had lovely bbq’s while watching horses grazing. It was great value for money, but above that, Jen and her husband are amazing people. Thank you.

Room Tip: The Bodhi Barn Cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petrus J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Peaceful location, apart from the monkeys.
One toilet, not with sink, for at least 6 tents, one with many people inside.
The sink was in the shower room only. Only one shower for all the tents. Thankfully I didn't go to the toilet at the time in the morning when everyone was queueing for the shower, otherwise wouldn't have been able to wash my hands.
The first tent we were shown to was literally a tent we could have bought ourselves and put up, which had 2 campbeds within it made into a double bed, with no space for baggage, and rainwater inside the tent on the floor.
The second one thankfully was on a deck, but the chairs outside were between the tent and the awning, on the grass, pretty soaking due to the rain.
Probably not helped that all was soaked as we arrived in the rain, but the dated and smelly rugs in the tent, the low number of washing facilities, the dangerous looking gas-powered shower and the outside light of our tent with wiring in the rain and over the seat in our tent gave it a shoddy impression where little TLC has been shown to it for a while

Helpful?
Thank katherinet1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 26, 2012

The booking made at Peace of Eden was based on what is portrayed on their website as a very cozy and unique place, where one can take a special person for a special occasion and spend good time. This is the impression we had when booking the accommodation for my special gentleman who was visiting South Africa for the first time! To our surprise, we ended up being surprised by what we found in reality and we were extremely disappointed as we had planned to stay at the Peace of Eden for 3 days.

Our disappointment is evidenced by the following:
• There was dirty water at the place; both from the tap and flashing water (see pictures)
• Holes in mosquito net which renders it useless (see pictures)
• The cabinets were dirty
• No towels in the bathroom
• No glasses in the kitchen
• Very unfriendly welcome
• Very late arrival due to imprecise address and wrong GPS coordinates
• Departed earlier than planned but host still insisted first of all on paying the pending amount for the third night instead of refunding the second night we had already paid. We only stayed there for one night (5 hours to be precise!).
• Overall price-performance ratio very bad, especially as compared to the hotel we stayed at the next day, Royal Knynsa Hotel, located in a nearby town. While Peace of Eden didn’t, that hotel “even” included A/C and a delicious breakfast – all that at a significantly lower rate.

Based on the above, our rating for Peace of Eden is as follows:
Value for Money: Zero Star (Starless)
Customer Service 1 Star
Cleanliness 1 Star
Location 3 Stars
Safety 3 Stars

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoSJoR2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peacesoul, Owner at Peace of Eden, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Globetrotter 001001 and JoSoR2012 - You have put up 2 of the same review - my responses are underlined and asterisked
--------------------------------------
********************We offer affordable 2-3 star eco Traveller's Lodge Cottages and forest tents, we cannot be what everyone likes or is looking for, so please next time you book accommodaiton, read carefully what you are booking and do not book by price alone - as you may then find it is not what you are looking for
*********** Please do not book budget style 'eco' accommodation and then expect something that is luxury or 4 or 5 stars, as you will then possibly be very disappointed **
------------------------------------

The booking made at Peace of Eden was based on what is portrayed on their website as a very cozy and unique place, where one can take a special person for a special occasion and spend good time. This is the impression we had when booking the accommodation for my special gentleman who was visiting South Africa for the first time!

******************** Many of our guests love what we offer and some have even found it so romantic they have got engaged and even married here **
--------------------------------------
To our surprise, we ended up being surprised by what we found in reality and we were extremely disappointed as we had planned to stay at the Peace of Eden for 3 days.

******************* I am sorry you were disappointed, please read my covering note, we are a budget priced 'eco' Traveller's Lodge - not a luxury establishment **
--------------------------------------

Our disappointment is evidenced by the following:
• There was dirty water at the place; both from the tap and flashing water

****************** The water is not dirty ! As we are a water scarce country, and an eco establishment, we use our dam water which is light brown but is filtered and treated and is perfectly safe to use and drink, however it does retain a light golden brown colour. We have filtered rain water in bottles to drink in the cabins.
--------------------------------------------
• Holes in mosquito net which renders it useless

**************** I apologise for that, it was so small staff did not see it, it has since been replaced.
------------------------------------------
• The cabinets were dirty

****************** We dust and clean the Cottages daily, however perhaps this was overlooked by cleaning staff. I apologise this may have been so and thank you for pointing this out.
------------------------------------------
• No towels in the bathroom

***************** this is incorrect, there are hand towels in the bathrooms, with a notice that you request bath towels on arrival - as you arrived at 2am in the monring perhaps you didn't see the notice nor in the morning.
------------------------------------------
• No glasses in the kitchen

**************** all Cottages are fully stocked with everything - plus with both drinking glasses and wine glasses. They are stored in a seperate leaded glass cupboard on the kitchen wall, perhaps you did not open that cupboard and only looked where the plates and other utensils are stored. I will in future put a notice on the door.
-------------------------------------------
- Not very welcoming

****************we waited up for you until 2am, and you phoned about 6-8 times between 10pm and 2 am as you were lost and couldn't read your GPS - Despite this you were warmly welcomed by both my husband and my daughter and were shown to your cottage. I am not sure what more we could have done.
----------------------------------------------------------
• Very late arrival due to imprecise address and wrong GPS coordinates

**********************GPS co ordinates are correct as hundreds of guests have found us with them. We do warn that it takes you the shortest route via Phantom pass which is gravel dirt road, so to rather use our map or a road map book. We especially request Guests to arrive before dark as country roads are very dark as there is no road lighting and it is more difficult at night - you chose instead by your own admission to have a leisurely dinner instead, and then proceed to get very lost.
*************Our directions are very simple 8 kms off the N2 which is the only main road between Cape Town and Durban on the east coast of south africa.

----------------------------------------------
• Departed earlier than planned but host still insisted first of all on paying the pending amount for the third night instead of refunding the second night we had already paid. We only stayed there for one night (5 hours to be precise!).

************************We have a clear policy that if you depart before your booking is over, the full amount is still due, and it is standard practise that if you arrive and are not happy, you give the hosts the opportunity to put things right. This you did not do. You told me you were leaving and did not give me a reason, I told you about our policy which you would have seen on the booking website you used. Only then did you say you were not happy, I immediately offered to put things right, put you in another cottage or to try and book alternative accommodation for you, this you declined.
********************Basically I feel you were looking to find fault as it was actually too far out for your liking. This was born out when you refused to be upgraded to a 3- 4 star double story Cottage on our property.
---------------------------------------------------------
• Overall price-performance ratio very bad, especially as compared to the hotel we stayed at the next day, Royal Knynsa Hotel, located in a nearby town. While Peace of Eden didn’t, that hotel “even” included A/C and a delicious breakfast – all that at a significantly lower rate.

********************* R650 for 2 or 3 adults in the height of the highest Christmas season consisting of a Cottage with a seperate bedroom, lounge, bathroom and small kitchen, with a covered veranda is a bargain by anyone's standards.

***************** I am glad you found a cheaper option of a double room with aircon in our 3 star Hotel on the very busy Main Road of downtown Knysna and I am sorry that you did not find our peaceful, safe, pretty cottage surrounded by tree's and bird song to your liking.

********** Knysna is one of the most popular destinations in our Christmas holiday periods and accommodation is almost impossible to find in Dec - The fact that the Hotel room was available in high season and the fact that I was fully booked says it all!?
-------------------------------------------------------------------
*****************wishing you safe and happy travels - Jen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reigate ENGLAND
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Had the pleasure of staying here from 9 april 2002, booked for 4 nights but ended up staying 5, accommodation was simple and good, everything we expected from a country lodge, beautiful surroundings,close to nature and peaceful, Both Jenni and Howard are pleasant easy going people,The children (10 and 12 yrs) loved it here as there is so much to discover. Highly recommended and will certainly return here on our next venture. Thank you for a pleasant stay.
Ian & Sharon

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ijduffell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oudtshoorn, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Had a slight problem getting booked in, lady at reception was busy, but it was soon sorted out, by another lady in charge, sorry did not get her name.
The cabin was nice and clean and well equipped. Beautiful surroundings and so peaceful.
We even had some visitors on Sunday morning - very entertaining but no problem.
Thank you Jen and Howard and staff for a lovely overnight stay. Got back home well rested.
We were sorry our stay was so short.

Room Tip: Would recommend cabins for weary travelers rather than tents - leave that to the youngsters. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank renell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
3.9 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
0.5 mi away
Woodlands Self Catering Accommodation
1.2 mi away
Cliffhanger Cottages
Cliffhanger Cottages
#1 of 6 in Rheenendal
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat
2.9 mi away
191 Nirvana
191 Nirvana
#43 of 104 in Knysna
28 reviews
6.7 mi away
Teniqua Treetops
Teniqua Treetops
#1 of 20 in Sedgefield
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peace of Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peace of Eden

Property: Peace of Eden
Address: Rheenendal Road, Knysna 6576, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 104 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peace of Eden, fondly known by many as 'The Peace Lodge' is a quirky beautiful place that is setting trends as the first Vegan Backpackers Lodge and Retreat in South Africa if not Africa! Only 8 km's off the main N2, its set alongside magical indigenous forests and offers eco rustic creative accommodation from woodcutter Cottages (once the stables), a Barn Cabin, a cute fairy tale double story Cottage and four retro canvas tents on stilts in the forest. Perfect for nature lovers and the more eco green aware travelers. They offer gorgeous 5 star vegan dinners and breakfasts, its best to pre book in winter, however meals are available every day in summer. Whilst nature does most of the entertaining, they also offer an onsight nature Guide who can take you on any adventure, an award winning Music Studio with sunset soirees, festivals and host creative and holistic workshops. Be it for a night stop or used as base to explore the incredible Garden Route National Park, this 'Peace Lodge' is perfect for those wanting to be a little off the beaten track and who love something different from the mostly busy noisy backpackers, traditional BnB or impersonal hotels. Here you arrive as a stranger and leave a friend inspired by the owners Jen, Howard and Jessamine who do what inspires them and share it with love. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Orbitz so you can book your Peace of Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing