We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed it at half price”

The Drydock Food Co
Ranked #27 of 161 Restaurants in Knysna
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
113 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it at half price”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Winter seems to be the time to visit Knysna as there are lots of specials - we had sushi at half price and it really was great (the sushi and the price). We also had battered fish which was tasty. Drinks are pricey and added quite a bit to the meal but would go back even at full price.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxi_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    300
    183
    97
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst soup ever”
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

The setting and service was good but that is where it ended. We had the seafood soup that tasted like packet soup with a few pieces of fish in it. I even got a lump of undissolved stock mine.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingecox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun in the sun”
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

We sat the whole afternoon at Dry Dock Restaurant and ate sushi. The sushi was one of the best we have had so far. Told the waitress we were on honeymoon and she did not bug us at all. They were filming the new Afrikaans movie called Knysna around us. Will definitely be back to enjoy an afternoon sitting in the sun watching the awesome view.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice meal in pleasant surroundings”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

I ate here with my wife and overall the food was very good. We shared a seafood platter and thai fishcakes. All of it was very good. The only downside was a poor selection of Chardonnays as we prefer oaky / creamy and the closest was the Tokara. Overall good but not exceptional.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Malcolm P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edenvale, South Africa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy spot on a freezing night”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

The upstairs section of this restaurant and 2 big wood burning fireplaces which were so welcome last night when we were experiencing freezing windy weather. The place was warm and cosy and inviting. The food was very tasty and the portions were very generous. A very nice evening all in all overlooking the beautiful Knysna Quays and boats.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcelle09_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Drydock Food Co also viewed

 
Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 
Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to The Drydock Food Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing