We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Knysna Treasure” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Drydock Food Co

The Drydock Food Co
Ranked #29 of 157 Restaurants in Knysna
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Knysna Treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

We had a wonderful time at this lovely sea side restaurant. The service we received was excellent, from when we were greeted by the charming hostess at the door, to our server (leeana). The food is great value for money and very tasty. All in all a great experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jessicaluiters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    290
    176
    95
    61
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent sushi but poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stopped for lunch and were there after the lunch rush. The waiter forgot about us towards the end and we waited forever to get our plates cleared and to order another drink. Disappointing especially since the restaurant was not that busy. And with unemployment so high it is frustrating when this kind of attention to detail is overlooked. Where was the supervisor?

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grabouw, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had our anniversary dinner at this restaurant, didn't get a really nice seat, although we booked a few days in advance, service was good, had sushi as a starter really good, maybe a bit expensive but good, I had the calamari and prawn combo very nice my husband had the beer battered hake, although it was ok I can't think that it was beer batter (because we had a few times at different places and never looked like this). Big menu, maybe a little bit to expensive. Will try again in the future hopefully will get a better seat.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great location, great variety and charming manager who was very warm and attentive. Beware of how hot the sun gets to try and keep under the shade.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Shazzy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
102 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A pleasant evening. But not outstanding.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

We had a good evening, with a very good waitress Bongani. She had a good sense of humor. The fish stack dish was very good. The steak over cooked and not great. Nothing exceptional. An average resturant.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Drydock Food Co also viewed

Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 
Knysna, Western Cape
 
Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to The Drydock Food Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing