We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, fantastic value!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Drydock Food Co

The Drydock Food Co
Ranked #29 of 157 Restaurants in Knysna
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food, fantastic value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Visited Drydock Food Co at Knysna for dinner - wonderful food. Try the fish curry or the vegetable pie. Superb value - ZAR244 (£15) for two with drinks! Great location; superb atmosphere. Don't miss this one!

Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    290
    176
    95
    61
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knysna, South Africa
1 review
“NEVER AGAIN”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Live in Knysna so not "wow-ed" by any holiday "rose coloured glasses". Had a bad meal here a month or so ago and put it down to a one off but ordered burger at the weekend and it LOOKED cooked (disguised with basting sauce) but middle still ice cold, and I mean ice cold. Eatery only half full so can't put it down to an overworked kitchen. There are too many excellent eateries in Knysna to risk going back here ever again. Try Cruise Café or JJ's (both within a few yards of Dry Dock) for great food and atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Knysna_Mike142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing & fantastic value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

My husband & I have just had a really great meal at The Drydock - we didn't have a reservation but they found us a table at the front of the restaurant overlooking the harbour. Drinks order taken really swiftly & delivered as such. Food order was delivered to a really high standard (Venison for my hubbie & chilli & garlic prawns for me - yum!) We ordered a cheese board for dessert which was ammaazzing (had to share the photo). There are some really mixed reviews on this place but for us it was perfect, the food was really good & our waitress Nwabisa was so "on it" & friendly (we didn't have to ask for anything twice - a credit to the restaurant)

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vinolovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
“Just an awesome restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

In short, we just never get enough of this place! The calamari is superb, the overall menu has a great variety that suits all, the service is friendly and professional. The ambience is warm! Great job guys! Keep it up an we'll keep coming back!

Helpful?
Thank Krewella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A enjoyable evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

32 of us went to celebrate a 40th birthday at Drydock Knysna in December 2013.Service was great,staff were friendly and food was good.Setting is lovely,will recommend that you eat there.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shehnanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Drydock Food Co also viewed

Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 
Knysna, Western Cape
 
Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to The Drydock Food Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing