We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Paradisa Guest House
Nearby Hotels
$118
$115
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$154
$143
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$138
$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Conrad Pezula(Knysna)
$144
$96
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Russel Hotel(Knysna)(Great Value!)
$66
$41
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$237
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (325)
Filter reviews
325 results
Traveler rating
292
26
5
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
292
26
5
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarilyn and martincoral suiteguest houseoyster roomgreat hostsbreakfast cookedsteep driveknysna lagoonbeautiful housegarden routeinfinity poolbreakfast each morningglass of winestunning viewsspecial experiencehuge balconyexcellent stay
Filter
Updating list...
275 - 280 of 325 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2010

Best view of Knysna lagoon, top of a hill, but very close to town and waterfront.
Truly 5-star treatment, and luxury.
The hosts are very friendly and do their best to make your stay unforgettable.
Excellent breakfasts!
Oyster room has a jacuzzi, if you want some extra fun :)
Private balcony with beautiful view of lagoon and Knysna town, stunning even at night.
This is the place to stay for honeymoon, or if you want to spoil yourself.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeonClaremont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2010

On a trip across the Garden Route, our stay at villa Paradisa was a highlight! Marilyn and Martin were great at offering insider tips, laying on bubbly in the jacuzzi and generally making us sad to leave. The view across town is breathtaking, the room was gorgeous and the breakfasts brilliant, especially the special South African breakfast martin made us. Wouldnt hesitate to recommend and will hopefully be able to go back

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CandiceCon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2010

My wife and I spent two nights here at Villa Paradisa - what an amazing time. Martin and Marilyn made us feel right at home from the minute we arrived.

When we pulled up to the gates it was like driving into a Beverly Hills Mansion - WOW. The views of the lagoon and Kysna city are absolutely incredible. It is right next to Villa Afrikana which also looks very nice but I much prefered Paradisa's layout.

Knysna is a very quaint city - amazing walks, and landscapes. It is nothing like Plettenburg Bay so if you want a beach town this is not it (Although amazing beaches are available on the western head about 15 min drive away from the Knysna center).

The actual B and B is awesome - it really is a hollywood mansion with a country home feel. It is decorated quite beautifully and my wife and I are actually going to use some of their ideas in our new home. Their kitchen is gorgeous and even has an indoor oven with spit/rotisserie - seriously amazing.

The rooms are HUGE - each what you would think a master bedroom in your house should be. They all have a nice veranda/walkout with absolutely stunning views of the Knysna lagoon and eastern/western heads. The design is really modern and in my opinion just fabulous.

The location is up on a hill - Knysna is a town with homes all built on the side of the mountain and the city center at the bottom. The waterfront area is quite nice and newly built.

Martin and Marilyn were exceptional hosts - they even assisted us with booking reservations for dinner at Sirocco and Firefly. Firefly is really nice - a small family establishment aimed at indian inspired meals. Lots of good spices but you can totally eat there even if you dont like hot food - it is more aromatic than hot. The owners are a mother and daughter who have travelled all over the world. The mom is really eclectic and weird but very nice. Sirocco will send a shuttle to pick you up and is on the waterfront. Great setup and ambiance but really the food was not anything special and I wouldnt go back. My wife had two terrible dishes and my main course was nothing to write home about.

Overall this is the place to stay in Knysna. Martin and Marilyn are FANTASTIC hosts and will make you feel part of the family. Martin's breakfasts are pretty great too - ask him to whip up some of his homemade chilli sauce (its delicious).

This is truly a hidden gem and will without a doubt be #1 in knysna soon.

Hope this helps!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CanadianTravellerVK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2010

We stayed 2 nights in Villa Paradisa. And it was like a paradise for us. We enjoyed at the pool area and jacuzzi with a best view in Knysna. Our room (coral suite) was large and bed was confortable. Also we had a spacious balcony with magnificant view over the blue lagoon.

Marilyn ja Martin, the owners of Villa Paradisa spoiled us with their hospitality and helpfullness. In Villa Paradisa we felt like home. We really loved Martin's hot chilli!! Martin, we will keep your recipe as secret.

We truely had a amazing stay. Many thanks to Marilyn ja Martin- you made our stay as confortable as possible. You recommended and helped us to find nicest activities in Knysna and even made bookings and arranged shuttle service for us.

If You are looking for unique guest house with super surrondings and view, you definately have to stay in Villa Paradisa.

We really hope that some day we can go back to the paradise!!

Best regards
Johanna & Petri from Finland, Espoo

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobetrottersEspoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2009

Villa Paradisa is one of the rare places I have been to in SA which really merits/deserves its name. This beautiful, romantically built, warm house built on the very top hill of Knysna with an amazing view of the lagoon reallly makes you feel like you are in Paradise! The amazing 180 degree view over the nature reserve and lagoon just makes you regret why you did not book for more days to stay longer ... This lovely villa style guest house is not only located in the prime area but it's also run by one of the most hospitable couples who will help you with good guidance and advice that you would need during your stay. One of the biggest advantages of the place is the private space that you will have without many other guests staying over. There are only 3-4 rooms and therefore it feels like it is your home and you don't feel invaded by others. I recommend Villa Paradisa to everyone (and have already sent 4 people to have the experience), to get away and find the perfect vacation! It is also a place where you find absolute value for your money.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Findik77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews