We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terribly experience twice in a row”
Review of Senza Knysna

Senza Knysna
Ranked #38 of 164 Restaurants in Knysna
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Cape Town
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terribly experience twice in a row”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

4 couples, we sat "ordered" our dinner at 9:45 eagerly awaiting dinner having consumed expensive drinks in the interim only to be informed at 10:30 that the kitchen had closed. Er…what establishment does this to patrons. Total disbelief as we had placed our order. After one of our guest who had arrived at 9:00 that same eve got up and walked into the kitchen and voiced his utter disgust at the kitchens sorry attitude they fired up the kitchen again and called back the chef. Dinner eventually arrived. Do have have to explain that it was a complete flop…wrong fish for three of us and completely undercooked vegetables. My partner and myself on a previous experience ordered pizza 3 days prior to this simply never ever received our cutlery or serviettes after 2 request so we proceeded to eat by hand. On both occasions there was no management at this potentially amazing place. It is placed on the water edge and has potential. If only they can get there food and service sorted. One of my worst eating out experiences. shame on you Cornuti

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Justcruizing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    230
    113
    74
    126
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disgusting food, an insult to the Italian kitchen. This place manages to spoil the view. Rotten service”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

"Look what the cat coughed up!" is what I said when the food here was (finally) served. Cat vomid was actualy still a compliment to whatever it they serve you here. If you go here just go for a drink to enjoy the lovely view. But whatever you do, don't eat there. It is absolutely disguisting if not a threat to your health. The service is nearly as bad as they forget everything and bring you the wrong orders.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank vanwijngaardenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't be bothered”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Cornuti has undoubtedly the best location in Knysna, and that's about all it has going for it as a restaurant. We arrived after booking a table and were left to seat ourselves and arrange more tables. Once seated we were asked if we were there to have a couple drinks and maybe a meal to which we responded yes. The waiters response was that if we wanted a drink we should rather go to the service counter and order it ourselves as it would take her too long and couldn't really be bothered. We weren't willing to do her job for her so asked that we please be served. We waited 45 minutes before there was one drink on the table.

In another instance we went to order pizza and were greeted by a sign: "Tired. Hung over. Bare with us"!!!!!! It took an hour and a half for 3 pizzas. Never again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike_CapeTown_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Always a winner”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Great location, fantastic food and gorgeous views. This is definitely a must while you are in Knysna. The Foccacia is the best in town!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gabby V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Truly horrifying.”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We visited Cornutis on a beautiful January evening. The location is breathtaking, and the views just out of this world. Our starters were pretty acceptable, and the food arrived promptly.

The wine choice however was non existent, and the cocktails definitely left something to be desired. We were told upon asking for oysters, they had decided not to continue serving them as they were too effort intensive!

The real problem however arose when the mains arrived. The food was bland (to the point of having to add every possible extra seasoning to it to no avail.) Then as the cherry on top, after virtually completing her meal of calamari, my sister fished a large piece of raw chicken from her mayonnaise dip! A strip of raw, who knows how old, chicken. Basically stewing in the mayonnaise dip.

Upon asking to see the manager, not once, but twice...and after a ten minute wait, we eventually had to physically hunt him down as the staff were not sure where he was!

When eventually arriving, he apologized, admitting that he had seen them prepare the food in the morning???

We paid for the remaining meals, drinks, demanded that they throw the entire vat of dip away, and left.

It's such a pity that suck a beautiful location and pretty restaurant be ruined by terrible food and management.

Lets hold thumbs no salmonella!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Stormie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Senza Knysna also viewed

Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to Senza Knysna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing