We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ile de Pain

Ile de Pain
Ranked #4 of 160 Restaurants in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We are ile de pain 2.0, a team of authentic artisans and devoted individuals; foodies, fundis, artists, professionals and dreamers, all waiting to welcome you to our magical cafe. We are committed to honest food and superlative service, upholding heritage and embracing evolution, supporting traditional farmers and local suppliers, developing people and creating community. Our cafe dishes offer a superlative level of honest sophistication in flavour and creative visual presentation. Each dish is lovingly and mindfully prepared using simple, fresh and beautiful ingredients that we hand select. We bake bread - good, honest bread that tastes the way it ought to. Our patisserie creates rustic yet refined desserts that offer a balance of delicate and decadent. We cultivate relationships with valued local growers who produce in small quantities and are entirely devoted to their land and craft. ile de pain is a place to gather, making friends of strangers. We find our guests respond to the energy of the cafe, and in turn fill it with life, adding to the unique experience that it is. Our new light and airy, open-plan layout encourages patrons to witness our team at work and understand the way in which we lovingly prepare “real” food.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great lunch venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Ile de Pain is the best venue around Knysna for lunch.
Cross over the bridge to Thesen Island for this quirky bakery/cafe.
The food is superb and served on or with freshly baked breads of all kinds.
Prices are very reasonable and it is definitely worth a visit if you are in the area.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 350zzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    475
    149
    30
    12
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
95 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“A wee bit too full of itself.......”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

This was our first visit since the island moved to a real island. Vive la difference! But not for the better. Indifferent and aloof waiting staff are now attired in dreadful sack coloured wrap around pinafores and there are books and DVDs for sale at the front counter, paying homage to the Austrian owner. (I've always wondered why he opted for a romantic French name and not something closer to home!)

Our pastries were fine but too dry and my strudel was nice. Nice. Not fantastic, as it really should have been. We have had better in far flung Namibian outposts. Fresh lemonade and fruit juices good but not exceptional.

This place is so used to accolades being heaped upon it, and it seems that they may believe their own publicity too much. Don't feel that you have missed out if you don't have time to visit here when you are in Knysna.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maija63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Went back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

As europeans living in atlanta, usa we miss good fresh bread. So we selected ile de pain for sunday breakfast. Place was very busy but it was worth the wait: fresh orange juice, smoothies, bread, it was all super. We went back two days later as this cafe is a must when you are in the area.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bart V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Poor customer service!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

We were told nice things about this place so travelled from Plettenberg Bay to try it. It is supposed to be open from 12 till 3pm. We arrived at exactly 3pm and were turned away. In fact the clocks in the clock shop next door were chiming as she turned us away. My watch actually said 1 minute to three and she could only say to come back at 8 am the next day as I looked at my watch unbelievably! There was only the two of us and there was no one else in the vicinity looking to go there so I don't think it would have been too much trouble for them to accept us. Terrible customer service in my opinion.

I'm sure the tea & pastries would have been superb had we had the chance to try them.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1st_Class_Please
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
212 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Best coffee in South Africa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

We have been travelling in South Africa for nearly three weeks and this place clearly made the best coffee we have had to date. We were staying next door in The Lofts Boutique Hotel and we came back time and time again: coffee, breakfast and lunch. If is hot make sure you try the home made lemonade - fantastic. The place is open for breakfast and lunch only. Both menus are concise and provide lots of delicious options. Children are welcome and they can make new friends playing on the swinging rope that hangs from the tree in the outside court yard. There is plenty of room inside and the cafe is built in around some beautiful trees. This place is worth a visit even if you are not staying on the island in the lagoon. Make sure you try a dish with the home made bed.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank anactbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ile de Pain also viewed

Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to Ile de Pain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing