We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT FOOD TIME & TIME AGAIN”
Review of Ile de Pain

Ile de Pain
Ranked #4 of 163 Restaurants in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: We are ile de pain 2.0, a team of authentic artisans and devoted individuals; foodies, fundis, artists, professionals and dreamers, all waiting to welcome you to our magical cafe. We are committed to honest food and superlative service, upholding heritage and embracing evolution, supporting traditional farmers and local suppliers, developing people and creating community. Our cafe dishes offer a superlative level of honest sophistication in flavour and creative visual presentation. Each dish is lovingly and mindfully prepared using simple, fresh and beautiful ingredients that we hand select. We bake bread - good, honest bread that tastes the way it ought to. Our patisserie creates rustic yet refined desserts that offer a balance of delicate and decadent. We cultivate relationships with valued local growers who produce in small quantities and are entirely devoted to their land and craft. ile de pain is a place to gather, making friends of strangers. We find our guests respond to the energy of the cafe, and in turn fill it with life, adding to the unique experience that it is. Our new light and airy, open-plan layout encourages patrons to witness our team at work and understand the way in which we lovingly prepare “real” food.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
126 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT FOOD TIME & TIME AGAIN”
Reviewed March 19, 2012

I come to Ile de Pain year after year and it has NEVER failed to disappoint me. The service is so friendly, the coffee insanely good, the food is absolutely delicious. Fresh, organic, wholesome, absolutely faultless. The breakfasts are my favourite. Delicious pastries, breads, aprons, jams, chocolates to take-away! They are closed on a Monday but have a back-up coffee shop/cafe in town for your Ile de Pain fix! Wish we had one in Cape Town. Love it!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SammyKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    482
    156
    30
    12
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Worth the drive from Cape Town!”
Reviewed March 13, 2012

I don't think the food can get better so it was nice not to have the wait to get in that we normally experience in December and January as this time we were visiting in March. Would grace any city in the world, Knysna is very lucky.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cantwaitforspring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Go early”
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Homely , feels like you are eating in the family kitchen , lovely breads , good breakfast

Helpful?
Thank Lizette N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best food in Knysna by far”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We arrived at Ile de Pain hungry and excited. For lunch the vegetarian choices are excellent. We ordered the Butternut Squash and Chickpea Cakes with tomato salsa, tzatziki and fruit chutney and the Halloumi Bruschetta with rocket and a lemon caper vinaigrette. Both dishes were delicious. Stuffed as we were from cleaning our plates, I was still powerless to resist when they brought around a two tiered cake stand filled with all the different cakes and pastries they had on offer that day. The difficult thing was which ones to choose.
They very cleverly put the lunch and breakfast menus on the same sheet so you get to see both. I couldn’t think of leaving Knysna without trying out the breakfasts too so we decided to come back the following day.
“Como” is delicious steamed vegetables, mushrooms, poached egg and tomato shitake pesto. It has a slightly Asian flavour from the vegetables and is the best breakfast dish I have ever eaten.
All the cakes & pastries are beautiful especially the Portuguese custard tarts, not eggy or bouncy at all, just creamy and ever so slightly burnt, which is a good thing. And I haven't even mentioned the amazing breads.....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NatalieSantiago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“WOW!”
Reviewed February 9, 2012

This is one of the nicest places we have ever had the priveledge to visit and have breakfast at! The breakfast are delicious and the pasteries even better. Try the Chololat croissants, to die for!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raymond R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ile de Pain also viewed

Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to Ile de Pain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing