We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as always.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ile de Pain

Ile de Pain
Ranked #4 of 157 Restaurants in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We are ile de pain 2.0, a team of authentic artisans and devoted individuals; foodies, fundis, artists, professionals and dreamers, all waiting to welcome you to our magical cafe. We are committed to honest food and superlative service, upholding heritage and embracing evolution, supporting traditional farmers and local suppliers, developing people and creating community. Our cafe dishes offer a superlative level of honest sophistication in flavour and creative visual presentation. Each dish is lovingly and mindfully prepared using simple, fresh and beautiful ingredients that we hand select. We bake bread - good, honest bread that tastes the way it ought to. Our patisserie creates rustic yet refined desserts that offer a balance of delicate and decadent. We cultivate relationships with valued local growers who produce in small quantities and are entirely devoted to their land and craft. ile de pain is a place to gather, making friends of strangers. We find our guests respond to the energy of the cafe, and in turn fill it with life, adding to the unique experience that it is. Our new light and airy, open-plan layout encourages patrons to witness our team at work and understand the way in which we lovingly prepare “real” food.
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“As good as always.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

We are locals and this is one of our favourite hangouts in Knysna. They serve the best coffee in town and we ONLY eat their bread. We had lunch there yesterday and it was superb. See the photographs to get your taste buds going. Good service, friendly staff, prices high but then so is their quality. You get what you pay for. We just keep going back and back.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank YEBO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    450
    145
    28
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Do not pass through Knysna without having a meal here.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

Ile de Pain is one of my favourite restaurants in South Africa. The food is simple fresh and delicious. Ingredients are carefully sourced for the best quality. The menu is short but every item is excellent.
Their bread is sublime and plays a major role in their dishes. It is all baked fresh each day and is also sold over the counter.
The only drawback to Ile de Pain is that it is often very difficult to get a table due to its popularity, which can be disappointing to those who have traveled far anticipating a delicious meal only to be turned away.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SuzanneCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of my favourite restaurants!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

Love the decor & atmosfere! Delicious & interesting food! Friendly staff! Excellent service! Cosy! Relax!

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank delint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent, a must!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

So French! Open kitchen, watch how chef/owner bakes breads & pastries, while enjoying a wonderful breakfast or lunch. Great atmosphere, food and coffee!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DominiqueduP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east midlands
Level Contributor
297 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“A very superior cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2011

We really liked this place. It's actually a cafe whose opening times reflect its basic function as a bakery; so it opens early and closes in the late afternoon. Despite the French name its provenance is more that of central Europe; the owner/baker is an Austrian and his bread and patisseries reflect that. The short lunch menu is apparently the work of his South African born but European trained wife and very appealing it is too. Again ostensibly this is French influenced but with a distinctly idiosyncratic local twist. On one visit we ate a delicious pissaladiere but nice though it was it didn't replicate those on offer in Marseilles, Toulon or Nice. The composed salads and bruschetta we ate on other visits were also not European replications so much as really satisfying takes on the originals. Throw in the reasonable and decent quality wines by the glass and you had great lunch.

We also took away their bread which had the strong taste and rough finish of artisan baking; it was by some distance the best bread I ate in South Africa. We also sampled their plum tart when we had one specially commissioned for a meal we prepared for friends; the alacrity with which it was consumed testified to its desirability.

All of this lovely food was produced and delivered by the most amiable and willing staff. These included the proprieter who was helpful, flexible and professional when we went to him with a specific request. The food was reasonably priced too, especially in view of its quality. All-in-all our best overall culinary experience in South Africa and certainly one we would highly recommend to any visitor.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lancashireexile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ile de Pain also viewed

Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to Ile de Pain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing