We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but could be better”
Review of The Russel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Russel Hotel
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2014

First of all I must agree with the reviewers about the friendly staff. You feel welcome the moment you enter the reception. The rooms are spacious, clean and the bathrooms very modern. For the price I cannot fault the hotel, but unfortunately there are issues which I must raise. Fritz below mentioned the small selection of TV channels and when I querried at reception the lady confirmed that they only have SABC 1,2,3, e and MNET. Not sure where the manager gets her bouquet of 40 channels..take my word you will be bored by 7pm if you plan a night in. Five channels of which 3 have terrible reception- that is it. Secondly the Air Conditioner is a noisy window rattler positioned behind the curtain. For ventilation you must lift the curtain and wrap around the AC unit for cool air. When you book in you receive a safe key, but the safe is not fixed to the wall. I ask myself what is the point!!!!! Finally the rooms are not sound proof. We were opposite noisy people who obviously did not respect other guests. These minor items, which is either important to you or not, will determine if this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank archi007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 247 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2014

During a trip down the Garden Route we needed to find 2 nights accommodation in Knysna - we were absolutely thrilled with the service, central location and the ease at which everything took place. Highly recommended for an easy-going holiday stop!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Grant F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Nice hotel in the centre of Knysna. The rooms are clean, large and have comfortable beds. The service is good and staff is helpfull and friendly. The breakfast was nice. Only minors no wifi in room and no pool(would be nice with children)

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MarcBurgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Rooms were large, well laid out and equipped for purpose. Staff were friendly and incredibly helpful when it came to the local area. Breakfast was delicious. The hotel is super central - close to the waterfront, bars and shopping malls. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Quiet and nice place. Room and yard is nice. Hardware is good. Service is good. But only one people serve for the breakfast, so it's slow. The water quality is not good when we do the bath. The price is a little high.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bo Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed at the Russell Hotel only one night on our way back to Cape Town but we slept very well and liked the location. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the rooms clean and neat. The only little thing I'd like to mention is that the net curtain was torn slightly. Once this is fixed, I have no complaints! Overall we enjoyed our stay very much!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nicolette_nel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

No wifi and terrible sound insulation. I am embarrassed I invited my overseas family to stay at this hotel after all the amazing places we enjoyed in SA within the same price bracket. The location is excellent, perhaps too good as the thumping bass from the local nightclubs reverberated through the rooms. Seriously, I have travelled SA far and wide and I would avoid this establishment like the plague.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IDBooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Knysna
Royal Hotel Knysna
#25 of 30 in Knysna
32 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Knysna Country House
Knysna Country House
#20 of 30 in Knysna
332 reviews
3.4 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
828 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#23 of 30 in Knysna
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Russel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Russel Hotel

Address: Corner Long, Graham & Unity Street, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range: $52 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Russel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and Otel so you can book your The Russel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing