We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A definite stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Russel Hotel

The Russel Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Russel Hotel
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“A definite stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

What a pleasant surprise!
Upon arrival we were greeted by a very friendly staff member at reception. Being late in the evening, we were offered something to drink, which we found exceptional because this has never happened to us before.
Our room was very spacious, neat and tidy with crisp linen and a comfortable bed..
The breakfast was superb!
The hotel is very conveniently situated.
Overall: very friendly and helpful staff and we had such a lovely stay that we will most certainly recommend the hotel to our friends and family and will visit again - for sure!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lamontboerdery1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizemari H, Manager at The Russel Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for this very positive review.

It is reviews like this that makes the tourism industry flourish and make the effort worthwile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    83
    14
    9
    3
See reviews for
69
50
9
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed there for one night only on our way to Port Elizabeth.This small hotel makes a better impression outside than inside.The rooms are very basic though clean.The so called air conditioner( half broken ) could be barely felt on a cold, rainy day. The bathroom should be refurbished - plumbing problems. Our group arrived late in the evening and after receiving our keys we were told that there won't be anybody at the front desk at night which made me feel quite insecure at night.My room was on the 3rd floor.There is no lift in the hotel .We were lucky that our luggage was brought by the porters.What improved my impression was the breakfast which was very substantial and tasty. A pleasant touch was added by the fact that your omelette is prepared after you fill in the order form where you specify the way it should be done.It's not only prepared to your personal liking , it's always fresh and hot.Their guava juice was delicious as well.To sum it up, for only one stay it's not that bad.Would I stay there again? Probably not.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arubadreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizemari H, Manager at The Russel Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for your review.

I am so sorry that you had a negetative experience at our Hotel. We pride ourselves in being the best 3-star hotel that we can be and I can assure you we take all negative reviews very seriously.

I just want to point out that we do have security throughout the night and we have CCTV cameras recording every minute of the day and night. We do have a staff member on duty throughout the night, should a problem arise. I do apologise that this was not pointed out to you at the time.

We have our air-conditioners serviced on a regular basis and regarding the plumbing, I am not sure which room you refer to, but we had it checked as well.

I am glad you enjoyed the breakfast though.

If only you told us there and then of your discomfort, we could have made your stay much more pleasant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

We stayed here over the winter holidays for one night, based on availability, price, and Tripadvisor reviews. I also wanted to be able to walk around the town, and the location seemed/was good for that. The front staff was welcoming and professional.

However, the cost of the room ($130) far exceeded its quality. Bed was not comfortable. The window-unit air conditioner sputtered on but did little to cool the room adequately. The shower construction resulted in water spewing onto the floor. The bathroom sink warned users away from washing veg in it (what?!) And there was no Wifi, the one and only place we stayed on our vacation without it.

I would definitely look elsewhere and would spend a bit more to greatly improve the quality.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank liplipgabadoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizemari H, Manager at The Russel Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for your review.

I am terribly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at The Russel Hotel.

We were unaware of all the defects you pointed out on Tripadvisor about our hotel. If only we new which room you occupied and if only you told us of your unsatisfactory stay, we could have made it a much more pleasant one.

Having said that, we had a look at all the accusations and I can now assure you that everthing has been taken care of, whether it was true or false!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langebaan, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

As a regular to the Russell Hotel, on a monthly basis, for almost six years, we can without doubt recommend them to any traveller looking for accommodation in Knysna. The hotel is exceptionally clean, rooms are comfortable, the service is excellent, the staff is friendly and what we appreciate most is that the management respects one's privacy.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ODS_Consultants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

The service I received was excellent and staff are friendly and very helpful. My room was clean, neat and comfortable. The breakfasts are very tasty and well prepared and there is a variety to choose from.

The hotel is very centrally situated and the Waterfront, restaurants and other attractions in town are within easy walking distance.

The hotel is situated opposite a school and during the school term the road outside is extremely noisy from early in the morning. But not being one to lie in and sleep late, it was not an issue for me.

Room Tip: Because the hotel is centrally situated there are no rooms with spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

We felt welcome the minute we stepped onto the premises. Excellent service, we received an additional room for our kids which they enjoyed, it was opposite ours. Which gave us peace of mind. Friendly staff. The place central to shops, garages, beaches, Waterfront and shops. Scheepers Family

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

After a long day on the road i look forward to my stay at the Russel hotel. I'm greeted by name, and the heater in the room has been put on for me. The staff all go out of their way to make me feel welcome and the french toast and crispy bacon in the morning is the best in town!

Lee-Anne.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee-anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
6.4 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
0.3 mi away
The Rex Hotel
The Rex Hotel
#9 of 29 in Knysna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Knysna
Royal Hotel Knysna
#24 of 29 in Knysna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
1.8 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
0.3 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#22 of 29 in Knysna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Russel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Russel Hotel

Property: The Russel Hotel
Address: Corner Long, Graham & Unity Street, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Russel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Russel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing