We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best guest house we have stayed at ever! Highly recommended!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Knysna Country House
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2011

The house is situated in peaceful surroundings and within easy reach of Knysna center. The rooms are bright and clean with good beds. The breakfast is varied and very good. The garden and the pool is lovely and we enjoyed it very much. We will be back in 2011.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnitaBryne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (332)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 332 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2010

We stayed at Knysna Country House over Christmas and it was perfect. The room was beautifully decorated, and the fittings of our luxury room such as the double shower and double sinks, plus the huge bed made it feel relaxing, romantic and luxurious. They have wifi (decent enough speed for SA) and it cost R30 for unlimited usage during our stay. The swimming pool is quite large - no camera tricks for their website pictures! They provided us with swimming towels on request. Erik and Ypie made us feel at home and were lots of fun. They also run a touring company so had lots of advice to offer for things to do in the area. We stayed for 3 nights but wanted to stay longer! The location is beautiful, just a short drive to the Heads. It's a 10-15 minute drive to the waterfront, but no problem.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elliesophiebeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2010

wonderful accomodating hosts, superb breakfasts with stunning views, easy to find, very secure, and comfy rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kamsadra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2010

We spent two nights in a thatched garden room. This was made to resemble a small safari lodge with a terrace and it worked as such. The room was nicely furnished with some attractive touches.

We arrived at a time of transition in the management but the staff and owner were very helpful.

Breakfast was served in a pleasant dining room in the main house. It was adequate without being outstanding, something that could be put down to the aforementioned transition.

All in all a good experience that left us wanting to return, but hoping for an improvement in the breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njohnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2009

We stayed at this lovely country house and enjoyed the beautiful surroundings and comfortable public rooms, it is not in Kysna, but just outside the town
We had a large well decorated modern and very comfortable room, with a modern excellent bathroom
The highlight of our stay was the amazing Manager Hanelle who made our stay memorable with her kindness and attention to our every request, even driving us to a recommended restaurant each evening for dinner. The breakfasts were excellent with everything anyone could want
I recommend this place for a quiet relaxing and very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vrrenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Rene Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Remco A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knysnacountryhouse, Owner at Knysna Country House, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
2.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
2.6 mi away
Royal Hotel Knysna
Royal Hotel Knysna
#25 of 30 in Knysna
33 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
840 reviews
4.2 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
3.6 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knysna Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Country House

Address: 30 Fraser Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range: $65 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Knysna Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Knysna Country House, situated in the wooded suburb of Hunters Home, is only minutes away from the Knysna and Pezula Golf Courses in Knysna, on the scenic Garden Route alongthe Indian Ocean coastline of South Africa. The spacious and sunny balcony overlooking the large swimming pool is the ideal place to enjoy the rich bird life and views over the Knysna Lagoon, town and distant mountains. Only 9 rooms, knowleagable, multi-lingual hosts and friendly and relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Knysna Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing