We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tiny touches would make this review "excellent"” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Knysna Country House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Knysna Country House
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Tiny touches would make this review "excellent"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Stop number five on our trip and this lovely guesthouse is somewhere we would visit again. Ypie and Erik are indeed excellent hosts and the room was lovely and comfortable. Sofa and footstool a bonus!

The bathroom was the biggest I have ever seen in my life with a twin shower and bath big enough for two! However, like the previous reviewer I agree that why have such a luxurious bathroom then not provide so much as a box of tissues? Let down by the dirty bin with rusty lid and mould spots on the ceiling.

This was one of the more expensive places we stayed. Breakfast was nice but not a great deal of choice (compared to previous guesthouses) and we weren't offered a list of hot food so not sure what we could choose.

Having said that, our hosts were very informative and the pool and grounds are lovely.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CelMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    88
    21
    11
    4
See reviews for
59
203
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights during our tour of the Cape and Garden Route. They served the best fresh fruit cocktail for breakfast of all the places we visited!
The guest house has the potential to be excellent - with just a bit more attention to detail. The following comments are intended to be constructive as well as informative. Almost everywhere we stayed in S Africa was excellent quality, and there is clearly a lot of competition.
Our room was large, light and airy. The bed was very comfortable, as was the sofa. However the cupboards were of white melamine and looked a bit tired in places, with staining on the dressing table top where previous careless visitors had spilt liquids. There was a nice large balcony overlooking the surrounding countryside. However the balcony needed some tlc, with wood coming away from near the door, and varnish peeling in some areas.
There was a large en-suite bathroom with both shower and bath and nice washbasin/vanity area. But a rusty bin lid, a faded white painted wooden toilet seat, and mildew on the ceiling (doubtless caused by the lack of an extractor fan) spoiled the overall picture. And if you are going to provide bath robes (always a nice touch) they should at least give the impression that you are the first person to use them - these didn't.
The house sits in pleasant gardens, with a pool. The owners and their staff were very helpful and pleasant throughout.
Knysna CH is located slightly out of town, to the East of the lagoon, in hills above the golf course - about 5 mnutes by car from the centre. The area is very peaceful, and it is a great place to relax and catch your breath for a couple of days. There is certainly enough to keep you occupied in the Knysna area, and we thought Knysna and it's satellite resorts were amongst the nicest places we visited during our trip.
Near the bottom of the hill is a restaurant called Mo's (I think) recommended by the CH owners and now recommended by me also - nice food and a nicer vibe than the rather modern and commercialised outlets at the waterfront development.

Room Tip: There are only a couple of rooms with private balcony or patio, so make sure you ask in advance if t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedCompliance11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knysnacountryhouse, Owner at Knysna Country House, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Redcompliance11,

Thank you for your reply and thank you for the fact that your overall experience of your stay was good one.

On what you call 'attention to detail' we would like to say that it is more a matter of priorities than anything else and with that we mean mainly financial priorities. We know of the things you mentioned so we do have attention for details:
Deck was on the to do list before season and has been done, fixed and painted. Still have to sort the awning out, though!
Milldew has to with the fact that it is end of winter (cold and wet) and that a lot of our guests apparently do not open the window of the bathroom for fresh air. In any case, we have cleaned it and going into summer now.
We are not going to replace a whole dressing unit because of 1 stain. Would be interesting to find out when something that is in great working order starts to 'look tired', especially melamine furniture.
The toilet seats are not painted, we bought them new like that. Still on to do list.
We think our bath robes are OK (no threads, no fading). And we wash all linen and that includes the robes after guests leave.

Your room tip is a very valid one, but please keep in mind that there is a rate difference between standard rooms and luxury rooms with balcony.

Kind regards,
Ypie and Erik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed at Ypie and Erik's for a few day as we were travelling along the garden route. Our host were particularly helpful in providing us with a cot for our 1 yr old, and making sure we were warm enough. We loved the home made breakfasts! Would definitely recommend Knysna Country's House's hospitality to anyone travelling in the area :)

Room Tip: We stayed in the room adjacent to the common area. I was afraid it was going to be noisy, but I was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iglook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Reminded me of Hawaii, beautiful views and the best breakfast to wake up to! Ypie and Erik were wonderful hosts and Ypie was also an amazing tour guide. I wouldn't have had such great experiences without the help of Ypie. She knows the best lookouts, restaurants and things to do. The knysna country house is definitely a must stop if you are traveling the garden route.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

This was a lovely place to stay - an amazing breakfast overlooking the garden and very attentive hosts who gave us helpful information for our brief stay in Knysna.
.Highly recommended. if you are on the Garden route.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LizHDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We looked for the Knysna Country House late at night and were delighted to see signs posted steering us in the right direction. It's a beautiful location (think Hawaii) and everything at the guest house was lovely. Strongly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnaMilazzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

The staff was really friendly! The staff gave us some advice what we can do in knysna and where we can eat. The family room was clean and had a good size. Each morning we had a rich breakfast. There was a big pool in the garden and a lot of beautiful flowers and trees.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gecko1693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
8.7 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
2.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
1.2 mi away
Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
0.6 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
3.6 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knysna Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Country House

Property: Knysna Country House
Address: 30 Fraser Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Knysna Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Knysna Country House, situated in the wooded suburb of Hunters Home, is only minutes away from the Knysna and Pezula Golf Courses in Knysna, on the scenic Garden Route alongthe Indian Ocean coastline of South Africa. The spacious and sunny balcony overlooking the large swimming pool is the ideal place to enjoy the rich bird life and views over the Knysna Lagoon, town and distant mountains. Only 9 rooms, knowleagable, multi-lingual hosts and friendly and relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Knysna Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing