We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beatiful golfcourse/ Hotel with poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Driebergen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beatiful golfcourse/ Hotel with poor service”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

In january we stayed 1 week in this hotel together with friends; accommodation is fine, breakfast is poor (cheese and meat are presented uncooled in restaurant and are not fresh), majority of restaurant-staff is trainee.
During our stay housekeeping did search our suitcases (locks were broken) and took away a Rado watch; management didn't feel responsible anyway.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rgorter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simola_Hotel, Rooms Division Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
We thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor.
1. With regards to our buffet breakfast, it is prepared entirely fresh every day and our Chef most certainly does not re-use any food the following day. Our most recent TripAdvisor comment makes reference to the excellent quality of our breakfast, and yet another guest also posted that we have the “best breakfast in the Southern Cape”.
2. There has been numerous correspondence between yourself and management with regards to your wife’s missing watch which you only reported on your day of departure. We did a thorough investigation and questioned all staff who had access to your room during your stay but this did not yield any conclusive results. A safe is provided for your convenience and in our welcome letters we remind all our guests to make use of them for their own safety. The registration card which you signed on arrival has a Conditions of Residence which also states that the hotel cannot be held liable for any loss or damage to property. In light of this, we advised you to claim from your travel insurance and/or household insurance.
We regret that you felt compelled to give us bad publicity as threatened in one of your communications, however we honestly feel that we did everything we could to resolve the problem and wish you well in your insurance claim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    55
    22
    18
    9
See reviews for
52
95
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This is a lovely golf resort and the accommodation is really spacious and comfortable
It is a good thing to know that there is a kitchen and dining area room for 6 to eat
Taking your own tea and coffee is a good idea and we did eat in the room as a family one night
The restaurant is fine for one night but there are some lovely restaurants in Knysna worth going out for.
The golf course has deteriorated badly since our last visit - the greens were in shocking condition.
The only explanation given to us was the over use of visitiors!!!
The whole resort now looks like it needs a little TLC

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the golf course and not a forest facing one
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CapeTownBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simola_Hotel, Roms Division Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review of Simola Hotel & Spa on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your comments and are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in Knysna.

With regards to your comments on the golf course, we have addressed your concerns with the relevant people and are happy to report that every effort is being made to manage the situation with our golfers. As we have such high volumes of golfers on our course on a daily basis it is difficult to monitor the problem, but we have now put notices on the carts kindly asking players to assist us by ensuring that they repair their pitchmarks and rake their bunkers, thereby contributing to the enjoyment of others.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Book this if you want romance & privacy.
The rooms are built like apartments with private parking in front. A short stroll away from main building. Reception & all other facilities. We stayed in room 6a block E right at the end with far reaching views over sea, mountains, golf course . Balcony was huge with 6 seater dining table & large gas barbeque.. The kitchen was equipped with cooker/ceramic hob/microwave 2 fridges freezer & 6 place settings china & enough glassware to open bar!!
We chose to self cater as eat out lots normally with our jobs.. Plus the quality of meat & fish is amazing.. We bought great wine..& coffee..Woolworths best selection

The town is near by & very well designed with lovely little shops on water front..
We're going to book for a few months next UK winter...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank jarussell12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simola_Hotel, Rooms Division Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post your valued comments on TripAdvisor. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Simola Hotel & Spa and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We have stayed at Simola in Knysna a few times over the last few years. This year we (wife and I) were there for over 2 weeks in an upstairs, Logoon facing 1 bedroom apartment. Our experience this year has been exceptional. Views and apartment are spectacular, overlooking the Jack Nicklaus Golf course and on to Knysna heads. The golf course is excellent...with around 90 odd bunkers!! Beautiful condition.
I think the most improved element of our stay is the food and service. Big welcoomes back, drinks on arrival and nothing too much trouble. The breakfast has always been the best on the garden route...and continues to be. Heaven 's eggs are freshly cooked as you look on!! Dinner is great as well..with a excellent Menu.
All in all - a first class experience! we'll be back next year

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveM6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simola_Hotel, Rooms Division Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post your glowing review of Simola Hotel & Spa on TripAdvisor. Your positive feedback has been forwarded to all relevant departments as we strive for continued improvement.
As always, it was our pleasure to have you with us and we look forward forward to welcoming you back for many years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This hotel is situated in a very beautiful spot with beautiful views of the Knysna Lagoon and the Knysna Heads. Although the rooms are very well appointed and comfortable and spacious, there was a serious problem with the service at the hotel. In one of the rooms that we booked we found only one large towel for the two guests staying in the room and upon enquiry we were told that they only give 1 large towel per room although the other room had two large towels. On the last night we stayed we were not supplied with water and biscotti as had been the case the previous nights, upon enquiry we were told that they had run out of water and biscotti! Also the room service took long at times and the service in the restuarant was also slow on several occasions. Although this hotel was quite a bit cheaper than other five star hotels in the area, we soon realised that it was also not of the same quality.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a full view over the lagoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quiet_Guest312583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simola_Hotel, Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Good morning and thank you for your review on TripAdvisor, posted 02 January 2013.
We greatly appreciate your comments and have made specific note of the areas in which you felt disappointed, particulary with reference to service standards. We endeavour to maintain a professional and efficient standard of service at all times and therefore value constructive criticism, such as yours, to continue to strive for excellence.
As a valued guest, we hope that your experience does not deter you from returning and that you will allow us to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I recently visited Simola with my wife and we had a wonderful stay.

Starting from the reservations team right to the chefs during breakfast, all of them looked well after us.

Of course, not to mention the location, facilities and views, which are all stunning.

Room Tip: The rooms with the kitchen are very nice as the other room type is a bit small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WildlifeLover12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simola_Hotel, Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, dated 28 December 2013, on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your positive comments and shall continue to give of our best at all times. We trust you enjoyed your stay in Knysna over the holidays and hope to welcome you back to the hotel when next you visit our lovely town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Simola Estate encompasses beauty, tranquility, class, grace, fine dining, pampering and relaxation sport. The sweeping views of the golf course and Knysna town nestled below fill one with a sense of belonging and calm. The course and surrounds are immaculately maintained and offer even the experienced golfer a challenge or two. The restaurant boasts exquisite views through fold back glass panels.and floor to ceiling windows - supported by an excellent and varied menu. Clubhouse bar is as well stocked as you could wish for, supporting both local and 5 star wines and a full array of dangerous liqueurs. Again ceiling to floor windows look out onto the exquisite vista of golf course and the Knysna Heads. Even as a local the short climb up Simola Hill is well worth taking and long lazy afternoons enjoyed.

Room Tip: All Suites are lovely and spacious, but the rooms overlooking the lagoon offer the best views from y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shellskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
5.3 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 30 in Knysna
767 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Mount Knysna
The Mount Knysna
#15 of 30 in Knysna
32 reviews
3.0 mi away
Turbine Hotel & Spa
Turbine Hotel & Spa
#6 of 30 in Knysna
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
2.6 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
2.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa

Property: Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa
Address: 1 Old Cape Road | Simola, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Knysna
#12 Family Hotel in Knysna
#18 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simola Hotel And Spa
Simola Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing