We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local Excellence - Estate Classic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Knysna
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Local Excellence - Estate Classic”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Simola Estate encompasses beauty, tranquility, class, grace, fine dining, pampering and relaxation sport. The sweeping views of the golf course and Knysna town nestled below fill one with a sense of belonging and calm. The course and surrounds are immaculately maintained and offer even the experienced golfer a challenge or two. The restaurant boasts exquisite views through fold back glass panels.and floor to ceiling windows - supported by an excellent and varied menu. Clubhouse bar is as well stocked as you could wish for, supporting both local and 5 star wines and a full array of dangerous liqueurs. Again ceiling to floor windows look out onto the exquisite vista of golf course and the Knysna Heads. Even as a local the short climb up Simola Hill is well worth taking and long lazy afternoons enjoyed.

Room Tip: All Suites are lovely and spacious, but the rooms overlooking the lagoon offer the best views from y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shellskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    62
    24
    18
    9
See reviews for
59
104
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Knysna is a beautiful town n simola is a perfectly located estate. But the designers forgot to consider the room size as important factor and instead made rooms as big as store rooms. Also owners and management focus is on selling the fractional ownership and running the golf estate and thus they forgot that they are running a hotel as well. Result is when u reach there with high expectation amid beautiful property u find ur self in a room size of 10x12 with very rude staff. Small amenities from the rooms are also missing like a refrigerator, slippers and toiletry is of budget hotel quality. Simola was the only problem in our 10 days trip to south Africa.

Room Tip: Take only the golf facing suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Utkarsh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simola_Hotel, Rooms Division Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor with regards to your recent stay at Simola Hotel, Country Club & Spa.

We have made note of the specific areas on which you have commented and will endeavour to improve on these service aspects.

Regarding your rooms, when we received the booking, the request came through as 4 double rooms to accommodate 7 adults, 1 child under 12 years of age and 2 infants. You should have been accommodated in a family deluxe suite and 3 one bedroom suites, each of which is fully self catering and has a fridge; however, when we advised the agent that we did not have double rooms, only suites or standard twin rooms, the agent requested the twin rooms. We did offer an upgrade on arrival, but you chose to stay in the rooms you were already booked in to. The confirmation that was sent to the booking agent clearly indicates the size of the rooms so I can only apologise that you were not happy. We shall pass your comments on to the travel agent for future reference.

Yours Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
389 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We have certain name related reason we had to visit Simola and stay one night there, despite its price is by far over our budget.
But we really enjoyed every second there. Room is much bigger than average Finnish home. Very well equipped, everything works smooth as silk and staff is extremely friendly and ready to help you.
We also enjoyed the dinner and breakfast, excellent food - and dinner price was really moderate.
There really is nothing else to complain than the price - but then, it is our fault we don't make enough money. If You want ultimate service on top conditions, this is the place.

Room Tip: On top floor You get better scenery, on ground floor You can enjoy the grass field next to Your braa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ettelbruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed here for 10 days and had a wonderful time. The staff will do anything for you and the facilities are brilliant. I cannot recommend this hotel enough. The suites are well equipped and clean and are ideal for couples and families. It's a drive into Knysna but saying that its handy for the forest and of course, if it provides everything you need, who needs to leave the place! the golf course is excellent btw.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IanLooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2012

One of the best Golf Course in Knysna, South Africa. Spectacular view of Knysna Head from the estates Swimming Pool. Rooms are very clean and well maintained. Very serene and wonderful property with lots of scenery around.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manojbala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for one night on 10 May 2012. We were two adults, my husband and I. We stayed in 'n room with one kingsize bed (can be converted to two singles). The room were lovely, clean with fresh linen, although on the small side, it was still comfortable. The room had on suite bathroom with shower. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room. This hotel is located in Knysna, with a beautiful view over the golf course and the Knysna heads and sea in the distance. Breakfast was included in our stay. Had a lovely buffet breakfast. Dinner is also served in the restaurant, but we did not make use of this option. The hotel is close driving distance from the Knysna Waterfront, with plenty of shops and lovely seaside restaurants.
We stayed in this hotel on a winter special offer, costing the two of us R1100 breakfast included. Bigger rooms is also available. The bigger rooms consists of a kitchen, sitting area, lovely patio, bedroom and bathroom. Will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blackspaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We enjoyed a wonderful three night break at Simola Hotel & Spa in Knysna in April 2012. We were treated to a one bedroom suite (room C3A) with a full kitchen and living room. It was by far one of the nicest hotel rooms I have ever stayed in (and I have been lucky enough to stay in many luxury hotels). We had our own balcony with braii area (barbecue area) and patio furniture. The kitchen includes everything you need – cutlery, pans, plates, etc. The view from our room was simply spectacular. You can see right over Knysna (including the Knysna Heads) from your room. We baked our own pizzas and sat on the patio watching the sunset – it really was superb.

The hotel restaurant is above average, but not fantastic. We waited a long time for our hot breakfast to arrive on two out of the three mornings we ate there. We tried the hotel for dinner and were disappointed to be informed that two of the main courses were not available on our chosen night (especially disappointing on such a short menu). The staff in the restaurant are very nice and accommodating though.

The golf course is beautiful and very well kept. The hotel itself and the guest rooms are immaculate. We loved strolling around the golf course on an afternoon.

The Spa is beautiful and has all the latest fitness equipment and beauty products. Unfortunately the Spa was let down by the customer service during our visit. The receptionist was not welcoming and when we asked for an appointment at 3pm she simply said it was not available. She did not offer alternative times but when we pressed it was clear there were plenty of slots available that day. I felt like she would rather we didn’t book a treatment so that she could put her feet up all day! The treatments themselves were good but lacking a personal touch. There was no music playing in the treatment room and my therapist didn’t even tell me her name. I was not told how to position myself on the bed and there was no where to hang my dressing gown or place my locker key inside the treatment room (I had to pile them in a corner on the floor). All this made me feel a bit uneasy and I found it difficult to relax during my massage (which, again, was average). I passed my comments on the Spa to the manager via the customer feedback form and he was kind enough to send me a personal email thanking me for my comments. I do hope he tries to turn things around as this is an otherwise lovely hotel and the Spa has real potential.

Room Tip: Treat yourself to a one bedroom suite. My photos attached are of Suite C3A which was simply fantasti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VJW322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
5.3 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
808 reviews
2.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
3.0 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
5.3 mi away
The Mount Knysna
The Mount Knysna
#17 of 30 in Knysna
35 reviews
2.3 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#2 of 30 in Knysna
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa

Property: Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa
Address: 1 Old Cape Road | Simola, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Knysna
#12 Family Hotel in Knysna
#16 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simola Hotel And Spa
Simola Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing