We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Narnia- paradise on earth”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Knysna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Narnia Farm Guest House
Ranked #65 of 129 Knysna B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We recently stayed at Narnia for 3 nights and can safely say we are unable to find a guesthouse that matches up to the charm and beauty we found in this little piece of heaven.

We stayed in what is called the "shed", quiet and peaceful, away from all the distractions and hussles of everyday life!

What we loved about the shed was that, as a group of friends, we could have our privacy- away from the other guests- but still within walking proximity of the main house.

The only thing we would change would be to prolong our stay in this beautiful place- sitting outside with a cup of coffee, looking out at the view of the heads was exactly how we wanted to start each day of our holiday :)

Thank you to Stella and staff for making us feel so welcome, we hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
Thank Kirsty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 63 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed at Narnias 'shed' for two nights. The shed is app. 100m away from the main house and pool. Next door to the shed is living a family with 2 kids. The shed has a large living room with a kitchen and a washing machine included, 2 bathrooms and 2 bedrooms. The interior is very special, they mostly used second hand furniture to fit the rooms, so everything's looking 'antique' or maybe a little run down - not everyone would like that as things don't seem overly clean. Some things we didn't like:
- a bad smell in the shed, especially in the sleeping rooms with carpet (the carpet seemed not too clean and very old, too).
- a very old front door with a lock you probably could open when pushing a little bit harder.
- the noise from the neighbors - you can hear their TV, them talking and the kinds running around in the house at 6:30 am.

On our first day we arrived really early, we planned to ask them if we could just leave our luggage and come back later for check in. Luckily we could check in earlier and left our luggage at the shed. We went out and came back around 11pm. As we arrived we found the shed with the bathroom lights on and we were sure we didn't leave them on. Also some doors in the shed we had closed when we left were now open. That was a little scary. The lock at the door didn't give us a secure feeling at all. When we got inside the bad smell was hardly bearable. So we wondered if we should leave directly or talk to the owners first. So we went to their house really late and woke them up because we we sure somebody had been in the shed. Actually they had just fetched something in our unit an had forgotten to turn off lights again. They couldn't understand why we were scared. We also told them about the bad smell and so they checked with us if there was something wrong. Actually they did't smell anything and said it must be the old wood in the house and we should open the windows. Although they really tried to be helpful the issues for us remained.
As there was no other accommodation in Knysna available at this time we stayed for another night at Narnias shed, but we were glad when we left.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank KatGa23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narniagardenroute, Owner at Narnia Farm Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Your review is a bit muddled - you mention the shed is special yet complain that it is furnished with antiques! And confused - why would we "fetch something in your unit and forget to turn the lights out"? We respect our guests privacy and wouldnt dream of going into any unit while a guest is out - perhaps you left the lights on when you went out and forgot?
The guests who checked in the next day after you left came across and asked to stay another night as they loved it so much and the people who have checked in today have asked to stay 3 more days.
We had guests in there every night in December and all of them loved it. We have no idea why you were so scared. My husband got out of bed at midnight to go and see what the problem was and literally couldnt understand what you meant - he patiently explained to you how safe it is ( we have lived on this property for 22 years without a problem ) and that perhaps the shed smelt "bad" because all your windows were closed on a sweltering night!
We have had guests in the shed every night in december - all of whom absolutely loved it. Three different lots have booked it for next year!
The tenants next door have been given notice as they are noisy and for this we apologise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Reflecting on our trip to Germany and South Africa. Other than the wildlife and stunning viewscapes of South Africa, we were really impressed by the friendly service and hospitality - above all, it was genuine. Narnia Guesthouse was the perfect example of exceptional charm and hospitality. The gardens, rooms, setting and beautiful views were like something out of a postcard, and yet it's not protentious. We felt totally at home, with the boys playing with the dogs and swimming in the pool. What was also great was that the guesthouse is so central; close to town, beaches, and the wonderful Saturday Farmers Market in Sedgefield. Talk about a little oasis!! Thanks Stella and Richard, you are amazing hosts.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I was more than pleased with the Narnia guest house. We had a brilliant stay in the comfortable Cottage. It afforded us all the comforts we needed in a spacious self catering apartment with access to the house, it's gardens and the pool. Stella, Richard, family and staff all made us feel very welcome and comfortable. Nothing was too much trouble for our amazing hostess. The kids loved running around the amazing gardens, exploring the pool and playing with the dogs. Sitting outside in the garden whilst having breakfast and enjoying the spectacular views over the Knysna estuary and mountain backdrop were my highlight. What an amazing place. I would highly recommend to anyone wanting to get away from it all. I wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoenUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We have been visiting Knysna for several years and enjoyed Narnia Guest House since then. Waking up in that environment has always been so enchanting. There is a spontaneous complicity between the guest and everybody else surrounding you to make your stay unforgettable. The Sohn family and the staff have created and maintained a gem that is unique. It is a perfect place to discover the true nature of Knysna, the spirit of the people and you will probably feel within yourself that emotion filling you heart that you have finally arrive d home

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cedric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Wow what a place ! Narnia guest house is as magical as the name suggests. Perched high up on a hill side looking straight at the Knysna heads, this place is simply stuning. Waking up early in the morning is a must and standing staring at the view across the lagoon at the heads is wonderful. The shed itself is nice and comfortable, with a double room, a twin room and then a good sized lounge and kitchen. It really does have everything you will need and is only 10 mins drive from Knysna centre. Stella and the rest of the family give a great warm welcome. Definitely recommend to anyone looking for peace and quiet for a few days.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Really excellent place. Firstly the views are superb and the location is really peaceful. Secondly, the reception we received from Stella and the family was really warm and hospitable.
We stayed in the Shed and I don't have anything bad to say about it. There was everything we needed in regards to amenities and the place was really comfortable. I would definitely go there again and again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
5.3 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
849 reviews
15.6 mi away
Pine Lake Marina
Pine Lake Marina
#4 of 12 in Sedgefield
160 reviews
3 mi away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Woodlands Self Catering Accommodation
2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
3.4 mi away
Cliffhanger Cottages
Cliffhanger Cottages
#1 of 6 in Rheenendal
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Narnia Farm Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Narnia Farm Guest House

Address: Off Wellbedacht Lane, Knysna, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Narnia Guest House provides affordable bed and breakfast accommodation and self-catering accommodation in Knysna. Situated on top of a hill, we surrounded by majestic views of the Knysna Heads (famous entrance to the sea), Knysna lagoon, the Knysna river and the Garden Route's Outeniqua mountains, this stone and timber guest house nestles in an acre of award winning gardens, visited by 180 species of bird and small wildlife such as bush buck, lynx, monkeys and bushpig.You would be hard pressed to find a better location to stay. Just 2 kms from the town of Knysna with its fabulous shops and restaurants, beaches within 10 kms, forest walks closeby, Plettenberg Bay 30 kms away and both the Tsitsikamma National Park and Oudtshoorn easy day trips.The Guest House is eclectic and intriguing with a mix of building materials, most of which were found on site. The salt water pool is a delight in summer and boasts a view of the mountains very difficult to beat. Geyser water is solar heated, the owners collect glass and tin to recycle, the gardens are watered from dams and are fed with worm farmed compost and an organic veggie garden supplies whoever needs what is being picked on the day.This is a place looked after, with love, by staff who have worked here for over 15 years and looked after guests for 12. Bed and Breakfast guests are treated to a fun drum call by Nomic. Mavis and Natalie make sure your room is spotless and your flowers in the bathroom fresh. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing