We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and Tranquility?”
Review of Knysna Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Knysna Backpackers
Ranked #27 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2013

My partner and I spent a night at Knysna Backpackers in May this year. Their website boasts the following statement:

"We offer the discerned traveller peace and tranquility in this beautiful town on the Garden Route."

Peace and tranquility - the Knysna version of these terms is probably unlike what most of us would describe as a "peaceful" experience:
A loud banging noise woke us up at approximately 3.30AM in the morning. My partner got up to investigate, only to discover three men attempting to break in through the bathroom window. He was threatened with a knife, at which point we got hold of the emergency services.

We of course reported this the following morning, at which the manager (a better term would be "mismanager") of the establishment, accused us of lying. She refused to believe what had happened and instead of offering an apology, abuse was hurled at us over the phone.

As far as the lodging itself goes, we of course were not expecting "Hilton" standards. The room was clean, although extremely basic. The prominent signs warning all guests to not leave ANY valuables in their cars, should perhaps have given us an inkling as to the unsavoury area that this backpackers is located in.

Reception only opens at 8AM in the morning, so attempting to check out any earlier and get back any relevant deposits for room keys (yes, you pay a deposit for your key, as I assume it is only natural for tourists gracing backpacker type establishments to run off with the room keys), is virtually impossible.

If you are after affordable accommodation, in an unsafe area, with an early morning knife attack and abuse by the establishment's manager thrown in for free, then by all means ... book a room at Knysna Backpackers. Enjoy your stay!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Colmassier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 100 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in march 2013 and just loved everything about our stay! Rooms were modern and clean. Bathrooms spacious and also very clean! Kitchen was very well equiped and breakfast super! Eggs which you can cook to yout liking, fruit, cereal, bread with different spreads and yoghurt.
In the communal area there is also a computer with internet which you can use freely. The owner is very friendly and enthousiastic! But by far the best part about this place are the views from the veranda! We would definetly stay here again. Good value for money!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dorienver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This place felt like a home not a backpackers, immaculately clean, friendly helpful staff. There are more things to do in and around town than people seem to think, so please differ to staff knowledge. Whether you choose to come to do the activities or chill for a couple days and revel in small town life, you'll enjoy and appreciate your time here.

Room Tip: Just come and see for yourself And try some oysters!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoneFishing81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Muriel makes this hostel what it is. It felt warm, friendly, relaxed and welcoming during my stay. Muriel looks out for every single guest there and ensures that they get the most out of their time in Knysna. The rooms were immaculate and a great selection of food is available for the free breakfast. It is so much more than just a backpackers or a place to rest your head for the night. Muriel went out of her way for me during my stay and I can't thank her enough! This is definitely the only option for accommodation in Knysna in my opinion.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cw00011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

If you're tired of the Bob Marley/Jack Johnson backpacker scene this is a great place to stay. Laid back, friendly, and very helpful. Rooms are really nice in old house and DIY breaky is good too. Good choice for families too.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKL W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

An extremely homely feel to this backpacker yet it had the 5 star standard of a BnB. Muriel was most helpful in pointing out must sees in Knysna, letting us get as much as possible into the little time we had there. Our room was spacious and imaculate. The location was incredible, with the house being old Victorian and overlooking the beautiful Knysna lagoon. We cannot thank Muriel and her team enough for such an incredible stay. Thank you (also I love my girlfriend so much Hashtag Lechelle Kim Mills)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete Fox L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Clean dorms
Fresh bedding
Free breakfast
Free wifi
Tv & sitting area
Kitchen area
Friendly/Helpful staff
Close to shops & walking distance to the waterfront
Not a great deal to do in the town other than eat in nice restaurants


A place to relax! :)

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank DaneandKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.4 mi away
Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers
0.6 mi away
Island Vibe Knysna
Island Vibe Knysna
#28 of 107 in Knysna
227 reviews
1.2 mi away
Footprints of Knysna
Footprints of Knysna
#23 of 107 in Knysna
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Afrovibe Adventure Lodge
Afrovibe Adventure Lodge
#2 of 22 in Sedgefield
270 reviews
0.4 mi away
52 on Main
52 on Main
#52 of 107 in Knysna
38 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inyathi Guest Lodge
Inyathi Guest Lodge
#30 of 107 in Knysna
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knysna Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Backpackers

Address: 42 Queen Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Price Range: $33 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Knysna Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Knysna Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing