We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful”
Review of Knysna Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Knysna Backpackers
Ranked #25 of 103 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Clean dorms
Fresh bedding
Free breakfast
Free wifi
Tv & sitting area
Kitchen area
Friendly/Helpful staff
Close to shops & walking distance to the waterfront
Not a great deal to do in the town other than eat in nice restaurants


A place to relax! :)

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DaneandKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    39
    7
    4
    5
See reviews for
5
41
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Knysna Backpackers is beautifully located not far from the center and the lagoon of Knysna. From the terrace, you have an amazing view over the lagoon. But the best was certainly the staff, in particular the owner, who was one of the most helpful people I've ever met in South Africa. She soughted out some problems we had with a laundry service and gave excellent tips on what to do in the city. If you can, try to cycle to Leisure Island and the Heads instead of going there by car.
Besides, the hostel provides free breakfast and wifi, which was definitely a plus. One of the nicest hostel we stayed at in South Africa!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EyelessView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Owning a backpackers ourselves it is nice to be on the other side of the counter sometimes and observe what is going on.
Being in this home and meeting staff and owners, we could not have felt more at home and relaxed. Good balance between price and accommodation, service.
Nothing is 100% perfect . If something would bother me too much I would talk to the owner and then you often find out the reason why something is done or not.
Concerning us, Knysna Backpackers is definetely a place to recommend to the mature, peaceful traveller who enjoys a homey atmosphere.

Chris and Rita, Belgium

Room Tip: No place for party people!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krielkippeke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck, Austria
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This house is small but beautiful! Located in a calm area it provides absolutely clean rooms in an victorian-styled building, super showers, the best BP-breakfast in the world (included) and free Wifi. The stuff is amazing, helpfull, friendly. Sitting on the sofa there, I felt a little bit like at home.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAF190445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a world heritage building and is very good for large groups. We were a group of 16 adults stayed in 2 private bedrooms, 2 double bedrooms and a drom of 6 beds. The place is clean. Kitchen is fully equipped. Very near to beaches, restaurants and pubs. All in all a very good accomodation.

Room Tip: Private bedroom with attached bathroom is the best room in this establishment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

After staying here for 2 nights I was told I'm not getting my R100 deposit back because I slept in another room without their permission. There were only 3 guests in the entire backpackers on my second night and all 3 of us slept in the same room, guaranteed. I did not even open the door to another room. The reception guy continued to accuse me with 'cmon, just be honest!' He already made up his mind that I was the cuplrit and all this in front of other guests. The only 3 guests in the backpackers slept together in the same room - that's a fact. My actual issue is the fact that a fourth person freely entered the backpackers and slept in one of their beds without them knowing - that's not very comforting to know. Needless to say, I won't be booking myself or any of my guests in here again. I'm an easy guy and wouldn't be looking for luxuries or 5 star service in a backpackers, but this was unacceptable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PieterWCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaQueen, Owner at Knysna Backpackers, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Hi Pieter
I regret to have learned about your "bad" experience here with us.
I have heard the OTHER side to the story and there seems to be quite a few discrepencies between the two sides of the story. I was assured that you were refunded your deposit ( there was a witness to this being done) and only you will know for sure ...where you actually slept the seconde night??? ( in the dorm as you were booked in or if you decided to upgrade yourself to a private room ). I can assure you that our guests are the only people that can access the hostel as they are issued with keys and our front door lock gets changed twice a month for safety. There were only 3 guests that night and the other two did sleep where they booked - in the dorm, so logically that only left you........ if you wanted to sleep in a private room we would have gladly assisted you .
Muriel ( owner)























private
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

First backpackers I have been to and they have converted me to looking at backpackers for future travels. Affordable, yet clean and a service full of smiles. Cute old house with awesome view and located do that many activities, restaurants and bars are within walking distance! If out is an option for accommodation I suggest taking it.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddtpoison777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knysna
0.1 mi away
The Russel Hotel
The Russel Hotel
#16 of 30 in Knysna
234 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers
0.7 mi away
Island Vibe Knysna
Island Vibe Knysna
#33 of 103 in Knysna
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bluesky Backpacker & Lodge
Bluesky Backpacker & Lodge
#77 of 103 in Knysna
27 reviews
6.3 mi away
Elalini Backpackers
Elalini Backpackers
#30 of 103 in Knysna
31 reviews
18.4 mi away
Albergo for Backpackers
Albergo for Backpackers
#15 of 68 in Plettenberg Bay
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knysna Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Backpackers

Property: Knysna Backpackers
Address: 42 Queen Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 103 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Hotel Class:3 star — Knysna Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Knysna Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing