We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Knysna Backpackers
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wayside Inn(Knysna)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveler rating
45
39
7
4
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
45
39
7
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold victorianfree breakfastprivate bathroomrooms are greatquiet at nightenjoyed my staystayed here for one nightlovely placehostelbazdormcerealwaterfrontfacilitieslagoon
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 100 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

First backpackers I have been to and they have converted me to looking at backpackers for future travels. Affordable, yet clean and a service full of smiles. Cute old house with awesome view and located do that many activities, restaurants and bars are within walking distance! If out is an option for accommodation I suggest taking it.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ddtpoison777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Stayed there two nights when my car was broken into. Owner was unsympathetic but the police gave me an ear full on how often it happens there. The police mentioned that the owner was asked to put up a fence/gate but refused as it cost too much. The owner was nasty and incredibly rude. I feel bad for the underpaid employees who work in fear of their boss. The atmosphere felt dreary and unfriendly. Loud wooden floors and TV in the middle of the place. Safety first, stay somewhere else!!

Room Tip: Avoid the dorms...small and lightless. Unsafe as well as there are no lockers.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeff k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaQueen, Owner at Knysna Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2012

After 15 years of having this backpackers i must say this was a very unpleasant incident with a very MEAN and NASTY little man who THINKS he knows it all! Maybe in the States (where he comes from) he knows everything , but still has a lot to learn about South-Africa. The bottomline of the whole incident was because his car was broken into ...... after being verbally warned and requested not to leave ANYTHING in his car, as well as NOTICES in all the rooms of the house , warning and requesting guests NOT TO LEAVE ANYTHING IN THE CARS. HE KNEW BETTER !!...he left a bag in the car and of course the car was broken into. He then immediately DEMANDED a "discount" ( with a very bad attitude!!) and i refused the discount as he CHOSE to stay in the dorm, ( yes not the brightest and lightest room in the house - after all it is the budget rate room ) only paid R120 per night which included a FREE breakfast ( from eggs right through to the Nutella spread ) FREE internet/wireless, spotless ablution, kitchen and bedding.....and i quote from our guest book " the cleanest backpackers we have stayed in". There was nothing wrong with what we offered to justify a "discount" ... he unfortunately knew better at the end of the day not to take note of our warnings. As for the comment from the police.....maybe if they do their job better.... we will not have to put up fences etc!!.... by the way places with HIGH SECURITY FENCES AND LIGHTS AND ALARMS also get broken into.. 2 days after the incident at our place another hostel with 2 meter high fence around ,cars were broken into. Unfortunately CRIME IS A HUGE PROBLEM IN SOUTH-AFRICA! Travellers please take note of the management warnings!! We just might know "better." Accommodation establishments in general are being targeted ..... not just our backpackers. As to the rest of his comments i am not even going to bother to respond to , as he does not know me! He made a judgement of my character in the heat of the moment! Some staff has been working with me in this backpackers for 15 years! ........i just might also be doing something right......

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Not the best location, but Knysna is a weird city by its spread over the bay and its streets location structure

Service is very nice and the guy on reception was very helpful with late check-in. rooms are great - backpackers itself is an old mansion, so all rooms are spacious with very high roof and big windows

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yarrilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

We spent one night at Knysna Backpackers in a double room. The room was beautiful, very clean and comfortable. Location was good, in a residential area in walking distance (approx 5 minutes) from the city centre. From the porch, you have a nice view on the bay. Kitchen was well equipped and in the morning, bread etc. for a self-service breakfast was provided. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Any travel along the Garden route is not complete without a stop at Knysna.
Situated in the heart of the city, this is a perfect stop over.
With ample parking space & a garden at the back this is definitely a break from the concrete jugles most of us stay in.
The Land Lady of the place , Jenny will make you really feel at home with her anecdotes and her glib talk,
Infact, my wife was so swooned talking to her that when we finally took leave she wanted to give e big hug to Jenny.
There a different categories of room ranging from dormitory to Private double bed rooms. With the living room adjoing the row of room,
you can relax with a can of beer or simply catch up withsome TV shows or browse through some books.
Internet is free , so is coffee & Tea.
The kitchen is well equipped to cook any kind of food but make sure you carry the necessary ingredients.
Morning breakfast is complimentary and starts at 7AM. Infact , when we told Jenny that we would be checking out at 6AM, she was kind enough
to arrange for an early breakfast.
Situated near the hotel is the only Indian restuarant in the town which should entice Indophiles to the place.
During the night, there was a bon-fire in the garden with some guys singing their favouries songs in their tongue.
Reminds us of the trekking trips we had during college days.

Definitely a nice place to spend a day or two enjoying the warmth & hospitality of the people & place.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ryanraghu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews