We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply: perfect”
Review of Augusta Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Augusta Bay
Ranked #24 of 129 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 13, 2012

A great stay, Staf is extremely helpfull and will guide you throw your stay with personal approach. Rooms where great and big and clean with sherry waiting for you. Location is very nice at The Heads - you can walk around romantic part of Knysna and there is restaurant 2 min walk, you can wath ships coming into the lagoon from it. There are also golf courses around and many tourist places. All very romantic.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helicid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 212 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed over in Knysna for a couple of nights along our Garden Route journey in January 2012, and Augusta Bay made the experience amazing. We got upgraded to their suite, which was a large spacious room with 2 double beds and an amazing view of the bay.

The property is beautiful, and Monica was one of the most amazing hosts we have come across. She was very happy to give us suggestions, make bookings for us, and organize transport. There is a nice restaurant just across the road from Augusta Bay called Sirocco's, and the view is really nice.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nirvaana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

we spent a couple of nights at the Augusta. The rooms are large and the breakfast wonderful. Staff are knowledgeable and always ready to advise on a day's activities. A good, quiet spot at the Knysna heads, not too far from the town centre and the forest walks. You'll need a car around here though as it is outside of the town and away from restaurants but then you get the peace and quiet of the location, which is a huge bonus. A definite must is a trip to the Elephant Park where you can be up close and personal with the elephants. I last visited the Park in 2007 and met Shungu, a 2 month old Ellie born at the park. Shungu is now a healthy and determined 5 year old.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Travellerb9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Booked 2 rooms for 2 couples as a stop over driving up,the garden route. Both rooms were huge and very comfortable. The staff were pleasant and professional. The breakfast a feast. This guest house is in a beautiful position at The Heads.

Room Tip: Belfry had a better view but Emerald was just as big and a bit cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikelynn47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Where can I start! Brilliant stay at Augusta, everything from the room with the amazing view to the brilliant breakfasts in the morning. It is a great place to stay to see Knysna and the surrounding area. The owner Monica is very kind lady who pays attention to everything and makes sure all her guests have a brilliant time. Monica got us a table last minute at a restaurant in Knysna and also organised for them to collect us from the guest house. She also dropped us off at a restaurant on our last night and made us a brilliant packed lunch to take with us the next day. Monica also treated us to a bottle of champagne for a special occasion we were celebrating. It really was a home away from home experience. Erina who works with Monica also was fantastic and waited for us to arrive on the first night (our flight was delayed), she also booked us into a great local restaurant for dinner. All in all, a fantastic experience and I would definitely recommend to anyone visiting the Knysna area!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laoise1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We were travelling from Natal to the Cape and stayed here for one night on the way down and then again on our return journey. Augusta Bay Guest House is well worth a visit, lots of golfing pictures around the place and a fantastic view from the bar. The suites were very spacious with a seating area and nicely decorated, the bathrooms again spacious and tastefully fitted out. Nice touch with the complimentary sherry and biscuits. Plenty to chose from for breakfast, you definately will not go away hungry. Fantastic views allbeit marred by the building works opposite (cannot fault Augusta Bay for that!!). The staff were very helpful and friendly and thank you Monica for checking out what roads were open or washed away with the rain for our return journey home.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zini6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

What a great spor! Fabulous view of the Western Head. Sitting almost on the Eastern Head. You can hear the waves crashing against the rock. The restaurant just steps away is word class.

The people who run the business are so accommodating and did everything to make our stay enjoyable.

Are car is a must.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChereenO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1 mi away
The Islander Knysna
The Islander Knysna
#31 of 129 in Knysna
68 reviews
3.3 mi away
South Villa Guest House
South Villa Guest House
#5 of 129 in Knysna
230 reviews
2.7 mi away
Candlewood Lodge
Candlewood Lodge
#2 of 129 in Knysna
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Double Dutch B & B
Double Dutch B & B
#1 of 129 in Knysna
660 reviews
0.2 mi away
Headlands House
Headlands House
#13 of 129 in Knysna
205 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hide Away Guest House
Hide Away Guest House
#14 of 129 in Knysna
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Augusta Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augusta Bay

Address: 30 George Rex Drive | The Heads, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: $85 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Augusta Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Eastern Head in Knysna this 5 star guest house offers excellent service and hospitality, luxurious rooms with all the extras and comfort you can imagine, unequal views of the lagoon and the opportunity to play golf on their corporate membership at either Pezula or Simola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Augusta Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Augusta Bay Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing