We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and extremely comfortable”
Review of Villa Mulligan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Mulligan
Ranked #58 of 127 Knysna B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 17, 2012

I stayed at Villa Mulligan 2 nights, the warmth of the owners was amazing; has that family feeling. From when I got there until I left everything was great; the comfort, organisation and entertainment.
I can't fail to mention the view; overlooking the Knysna lagoon even though the weather wasnt great the view is wonderful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dumi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 109 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed at Villa Mulligan just for one night, but we wish we could have stayed longer. The place is absolutely breathtaking. We got the honeymoon suite, a rich and delicious breakfast buffet , a huge room with our own private balcony with a view to Knysna's lagoon, and a wonderful host (Marcus) who was very welcoming and nice. We will definitely come back!
Annat & Michael (Israel).

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miki A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

My family and I had 4 nights with Chris & Marcus. As hosts, they are wonderful & their property is stunning! We had a large family room with large verandah which had stunning views over the water - being on a hill above the town, the views were beautiful. The breakfasts are out of this world!!!!! You want for nothing and the range of amazing food they put on is fantastic. They really are prefectionists. My husband enjoyed the putting green and Marcus can arrange golf bookings for the nearby courses..he and Chris are passionate about the game.
The room slept 4 of us (2adults/2children), has a spacious bathroom and a small office space - internet connection is free so great bonus! The room and rest of the property is immaculatley clean. It has a homely feel and is very relaxing and welcoming with great music always playing in the background. Loved it!
There are many attractions close by including Tenikwa Wildlife Centre, Cango Caves as well as beaches - one of the best is Buffles Bay. Knysna Waterfront is also very charming with shops and a number of quality restaurants.
Thank you Chris and Marcus. We would have no hesitation in staying with you again! Beautiful part of the world, great property and amazing hosts.
From the Phillips' family, Australia.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

The only negative, was that we should have stayed longer than our 2 nights. Our hosts, Chris and Marcus were incredibly friendly and helpful. Our spacious room had a huge private balcony with a birds-eye-view of Knysna and the wide expanse of water. The breakfasts were incredible and definitely the best we had on our trip. Marcus gave us great tips on what to see in the area, and good directions. This was one of the highlights of our 3 week trip in South Africa. We probably would have never found this place on our own, but it was highly recommended by our trip planner at Mills Africa Travel in Lynnwood, WA. (mamaafrica27@gmail.com) who has had great feedback from Villa Muliligan guests.

Room Tip: If walking is a problem, choose the room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Just spent 4 nights there and already planning our next trip back... Chris and Marcus are incredibly friendly and welcoming hosts. Our family room with a massive balcony and a view to die for could not be better. The rest of our family were staying in Pezula and when they came to see our place, they had to admit that we had a winner! Individual touches such as a putting green of an incredible standard and a quality of our breakfast and it's presentation was excellent. The laundry service was very handy indeed and we will recomend this place to all our friends. Many thanks to the owners for making that part of our holiday in SA so good.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GalinaRatcliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed here for 3 days and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Our hosts, Marcus and Kris went out of their way to make our stay special and we particularly enjoyed the Braai that they laid on and which was popular with all of the guests. The views from the villa are spectacular and there is a huge deck from which they can be enjoyed. The rooms are not the largest that we have come across and they would benefit from either a ceiling fan or air-conditioning as they were a little stuffy in the warm December nights but they are comfortable and modern. The breakfast was easily the best that we had during our two weeks in South Africa with delicious fruits and pastries and Marcus is a dab hand at scrambled eggs and bacon! Would love to pay a return visit in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pengaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

We recently visited and stayed in Villa Mulligan with family and friends. Marcus our host at the Villa was most welcoming and happy to oblige to our many needs! The property is located on a hilltop overlooking the Knysna lagoon. The villa has one of the best views that I have ever seen in my extensive travels. The lagoon waters look magnificent in dawns light and changes character throughout the day. The grounds are superbly maintained with mature trees, a swimming pool and carefully crafted and well maintained putting green! The rooms are comfortable, clean and well appointed. The interiors are well done with superb taste and nice paint touches personally crafted lovingly by the hosts themselves! Breakfast is of a high quality and again benefits from Markus's personal touch. Wifi is free, Bar is well stocked! Emma the housekeeper is very professional and competent! Markus is an avid golfer who was kind enough to take me for a round of golf!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SChengappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.0 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#3 of 30 in Knysna
369 reviews
1.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
0.7 mi away
Double Dutch B & B
Double Dutch B & B
#1 of 127 in Knysna
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cambalala
Cambalala
#6 of 127 in Knysna
209 reviews
0.9 mi away
Blue Oyster B&B
Blue Oyster B&B
#22 of 127 in Knysna
301 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hide Away Guest House
Hide Away Guest House
#13 of 127 in Knysna
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Mulligan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Mulligan

Address: 6A Metelerkamp Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: $115 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Mulligan 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Villa Mulligan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing