We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An exceptional, superb experience”
Review of Villa Mulligan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Mulligan
Ranked #61 of 130 Knysna B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 14, 2012

The only negative, was that we should have stayed longer than our 2 nights. Our hosts, Chris and Marcus were incredibly friendly and helpful. Our spacious room had a huge private balcony with a birds-eye-view of Knysna and the wide expanse of water. The breakfasts were incredible and definitely the best we had on our trip. Marcus gave us great tips on what to see in the area, and good directions. This was one of the highlights of our 3 week trip in South Africa. We probably would have never found this place on our own, but it was highly recommended by our trip planner at Mills Africa Travel in Lynnwood, WA. (mamaafrica27@gmail.com) who has had great feedback from Villa Muliligan guests.

Room Tip: If walking is a problem, choose the room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 110 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2012

Just spent 4 nights there and already planning our next trip back... Chris and Marcus are incredibly friendly and welcoming hosts. Our family room with a massive balcony and a view to die for could not be better. The rest of our family were staying in Pezula and when they came to see our place, they had to admit that we had a winner! Individual touches such as a putting green of an incredible standard and a quality of our breakfast and it's presentation was excellent. The laundry service was very handy indeed and we will recomend this place to all our friends. Many thanks to the owners for making that part of our holiday in SA so good.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GalinaRatcliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed here for 3 days and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Our hosts, Marcus and Kris went out of their way to make our stay special and we particularly enjoyed the Braai that they laid on and which was popular with all of the guests. The views from the villa are spectacular and there is a huge deck from which they can be enjoyed. The rooms are not the largest that we have come across and they would benefit from either a ceiling fan or air-conditioning as they were a little stuffy in the warm December nights but they are comfortable and modern. The breakfast was easily the best that we had during our two weeks in South Africa with delicious fruits and pastries and Marcus is a dab hand at scrambled eggs and bacon! Would love to pay a return visit in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pengaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

We recently visited and stayed in Villa Mulligan with family and friends. Marcus our host at the Villa was most welcoming and happy to oblige to our many needs! The property is located on a hilltop overlooking the Knysna lagoon. The villa has one of the best views that I have ever seen in my extensive travels. The lagoon waters look magnificent in dawns light and changes character throughout the day. The grounds are superbly maintained with mature trees, a swimming pool and carefully crafted and well maintained putting green! The rooms are comfortable, clean and well appointed. The interiors are well done with superb taste and nice paint touches personally crafted lovingly by the hosts themselves! Breakfast is of a high quality and again benefits from Markus's personal touch. Wifi is free, Bar is well stocked! Emma the housekeeper is very professional and competent! Markus is an avid golfer who was kind enough to take me for a round of golf!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SChengappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2010

the view over the Lagoon is fantastic , the breakfast actually the best we had on our trip with plenty of beatiful arranged fruits , the host are very friendly and in the evenings it s a pleasure to sit on the great balcony , have good talks and feel the good vibs

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank su-cool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2010

Looking back on our third visit to South Africa, my wife and I agreed that the accommodation at this delightful bed and breakfast in Knysna, was the best we had encountered. The rooms are clean, spacious, comfortable and beautifully appointed. Breakfasts are delicious with a wide variety of fresh fruit, breads, cereals, juices, tea and coffee sitting alongside cooked meals if required. Breakfast can be taken on a wide terrace overlooking Knysna Lagoon, the distant Knysna Heads and the sea beyond.
Stunning views all round.
The lounge area - again tastefully appointed and decorated - is a perfect area for relaxation in the evening; listen to music, sip your wine, chat to friends......
Markus and Kris are friendly, gracious hosts; their attention to detail, the warmth of their manner and the many ways in which they offered help, combined to make our stay really enjoyable.
The Villa is in a lovely setting. The pool area is set in beautiful landscaped gardens and for golfers, there is an added attraction in the form of a golf green below the terrace; Markus is keen, he will help you with your putting.
An excellent place to stay; you will not be disappointed if you visit Villa Mulligan.
John and Christine Steele, Bury, U.K.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunshinerBury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2009

We booked Villa Mulligan for one night after having seen an advertisement in the German travel magazine "Reise und Preise" and we were so happy about our choice, that we changed our travel plans to get another night there!
The situation above The Knysna Lagoon with a view all the way out to The Heads and The Indian Ocean is breathtaking.
Breakfast is rich and varied and the fruit arranged as small works of art, a joy to the eye, and served on the huge sundeck overlooking the Lagoon.
The German hosts, Christiane and Markus are most helpful and wonderfully relaxed and they can tell you where to play golf and where to get the best oysters!
Next time we go to Knysna we`ll definitely stay at Villa Mulligan, it is highly recommendable.
PS. Free internet!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hehoberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
2.7 mi away
Knysna Stays
Knysna Stays
#24 of 130 in Knysna
332 reviews
4.4 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
869 reviews
16.4 mi away
Pine Lake Marina
Pine Lake Marina
#5 of 12 in Sedgefield
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Woodlands Self Catering Accommodation
2.5 mi away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
292 reviews
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Mulligan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Mulligan

Address: 6A Metelerkamp Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 130 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: $138 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Mulligan 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Villa Mulligan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing