We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Knysna”
Review of Head Over Hills

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Head Over Hills
Ranked #11 of 126 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Knysna”
Reviewed February 15, 2011

Fantastic location, probably about as good as it gets overlooking the Heads at Knysna. Rooms are all modern and very clean. Great place to stay especially when you are the only ones there. Sara is great and the service excellent but be warned, the breakfast is megga. One really good thing is that you can get a free taxi to a couple of the best restuarants in Knysna in the evenings.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bald-EagleUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    34
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
168
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights just after the New Year, definitely one of the best boutique hotels we have stayed in. Rooms were fantastic and breakfast fit for an Emperor! Sara and Dom were great hosts, nothing was too much trouble and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It is off the beaten track, but that is part of it's inherent charm. The town and its restaurants are only 10 mins drive/cab away, or some will actually collect you in a mini bus which added to the experience.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank spireite65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2010

This place was just a stopover on the way to Port elizabeth for the football match. This place had amazing views when we got there in the night but the next morning they were even more amazing.
The rooms were extremely clean and very comfortable. The breakfast was included and was to my taste.
Overall the stopover was well worth it and the staff was helpful and welcoming. The broadband/Wifi connection was fast and reliable.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daanishc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2010

Absolutely magnificent setting. The rooms were elegant and spoiling. The hospitality and service was unsurpassed. Will definitely return for the wonderful experience.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Levatine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2009

I stayed here back in February and loved it. My finace spotted it whilst driving through Knysna and insisted that we book a night there en route back to Cape Town...I'm so glad we did. It's not light on the purse, but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The views are spectacular and the service was lovely, but not over powering. Enjoy a dip in the plunge pool to watch the sun go down over the 'knysna head'. Perfect

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annie650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2009

We stayed at Head Over Hills for one night for a special treat as part of an already brilliant holiday in the Western Cape. We loved it and it proved to be a real highlight of our trip.

Our stay started with a tour by one of the managers, after which the staff discreetly kept their distance, appearing only to refill our glasses as we soaked up the awesome views on the terrace and to make us a restaurant reservation in town. The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming, and it was reassuring to know that they were there if you needed them - but it was great to be left alone to enjoy the experience.

In terms of Head Over Hills' facilities - the infinity plunge pool is small but perfectly formed and the jacuzzi is just right. The setting in both cases was spectacular... Breakfast the next morning was good - plenty of choice, with both hot and cold options.

The rooms - like the public areas of the guest house - are beautifully decorated and are furnished to a high standard. There were all the usual things you would expect to find in a hotel room as well as plenty of nice touches that made staying in the room a real pleasure - such as the handmade soaps and the lovely smelling toiletries in pretty bottles.

We really enjoyed our stay at Head Over Hills. It was wonderfully relaxing and we didn't want to leave! Hopefully one day we'll make it back there.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pssei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2009

This guest house has one of the best positions in Knysna,which is on top of the cliffs at 'The Heads' . My friend and I had booked several months ahead and had specified that we required twin beds, the reservation was accepted. On arrival we were shown to our room which had a small double in it. We queried this to be told none of the rooms had twin beds. As this was not suitable we asked if we could have two rooms as it was a mistake down to the reservations clerk at the time. The person in charge had to make a phone call to Johannesburg and was not able to make this decision herself. We assumed it was down to the hotel being busy and an extra room might not be available.
After sometime we were told we could have two rooms for the price of one which we accepted.
We had prebooked dinner at the hotel and we found out that we the only ones staying in the hotel that night. The dinner was lovely all freshly cooked. We were told that there was no one available to sleep in the hotel that night and we would be in the seven bedroom hotel on our own and to check the doors were locked after the staff had gone!
This was rather unverving as we felt rather responsible and vulnerable two ladies on our own.
When we came to pay our bill this was wrong as we had paid a deposit up front and this was not shown on the bill, another phone call and it was sorted out.
This could be a great hotel if it had a manager that had authority to sort out problems

  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piddingoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.6 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
803 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
3.9 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Mount Knysna
The Mount Knysna
#15 of 30 in Knysna
35 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Alexander
The Alexander
#3 of 126 in Knysna
321 reviews
0.6 mi away
Amanzi Island Lodge
Amanzi Island Lodge
#9 of 126 in Knysna
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Head Over Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Head Over Hills

Property: Head Over Hills
Address: 22 Glen View Road | Coney Glen, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Head Over Hills 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Head over Hills is a unique luxury retreat situated on the beautiful edge of the iconic Knysna heads. Our luxury accommodation and world-class views are the perfect backdrop to a well-deserved getaway, honeymoon or to simply take in the splendor of our naturally beautiful location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Head Over Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing