We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic in all aspects!”
Review of Head Over Hills

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Head Over Hills
Ranked #10 of 126 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic in all aspects!”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

The most amazing views, great service and attention to detail are what makes Head over Hills an unforgettable experience. Management and staff go out of their way to ensure that the high standards are maintained at all times - from the correspondence and contact before arrival, to the generous breakfast made with lots of love and all the little details and special amenities in the rooms and bathrooms. Thank you Sara - you are winning hosts! This accommodation is world-class!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JMT555_555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    34
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
169
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
johannesburg S.A
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

To Sara and Dominique
We had the time of our lives,
1. The beautiful home away from home
2. Spotless clean
3. Room was situated in the perfect view, overlooking the ocean .
4. Modern rooms and wifi free, tea and coffee
5.always a surprise in your room when you get back from your daily tours
6. Breakfast spectacular , so filling and delicious .
7,Sara always ready to assist with advise on restaurants and tours.
8. Jacuzzi and beautiful pool on the deck overlooking the ocean and the heads.
9.relaxing environment and very romantic
10. I look forward to going back.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

What a special place. Amazing setting wonderful views . Sara is amazing not scared to assist with bookings and making you feel at home. Breakfasts are wholesome and tastie . I recommend soaking up the sun while chilling in the jacuzzi . In the evenings you can have a sundowner while drifting off looking at the Western Head. Well done.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Whilst driving up the Heads, Lovey pointed to a white building and said: I hope we get to stay there. (As this was a surprise gift he had no idea where I was taking him) The moment we drove through the gates his face lighted up and we stood in the car park area and just took in the amazing view. Sara is an amazing host and was friendly and efficient throughout our entire stay. Every small detail in Head over Hills is taken care of and it looks and feels like a very well furnished and beautiful home away from home. We enjoyed our stay immensely, from having welcome drinks served in the Jacuzzi to having a hearty breakfast prepared by friendly staff each morning. The rooms are kept in an immaculate state and I loved the awesome touches like the over sized rubber duck in the tub. We will be returning hopefully within the next year to this amazing place. Loved everything except having to leave at the end of our stay.

Room Tip: Viewpoint room has a fantastic view of both the cliffs and the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LandiAndLovey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

A delightful and cosy establishment. Fantastic views,friendly and courteous staff, clean setup that is maintained throughout your stay. The manageress, Sara, is a great source of local knowledge and extremely helpful. 5 star rating all around. We will be back soon!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Clive H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The lady that met us somehow knew our names. Talk about personalised service. Such friendly staff. The place is really amazing - it is really hard to leave to go explore other places in Knysna. Stunning views.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola230681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Just came back from 2 nights stay. Host Sara was friendly and helpful. The Dolphin room we stayed was clean although not huge but just enough for two people. Great view from room and ground floor has a swimming pool and a jacuzzi over look The Head and the ocean. Over all, great stay! Would go back again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AC123321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.6 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
805 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
3.9 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
3.5 mi away
Falcons View Manor
Falcons View Manor
#3 of 30 in Knysna
366 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Mount Knysna
The Mount Knysna
#16 of 30 in Knysna
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Head Over Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Head Over Hills

Property: Head Over Hills
Address: 22 Glen View Road | Coney Glen, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Head Over Hills 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Head over Hills is a unique luxury retreat situated on the beautiful edge of the iconic Knysna heads. Our luxury accommodation and world-class views are the perfect backdrop to a well-deserved getaway, honeymoon or to simply take in the splendor of our naturally beautiful location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Head Over Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing