We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Head Over Hills
Nearby Hotels
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Conrad Pezula(Knysna)
$295
$155
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$121
$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$137
$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$143
$140
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$547
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$141
$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wayside Inn(Knysna)(Great Value!)
$51
$42
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Knysna Country House(Knysna)(Great Value!)
$67
$58
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (269)
Filter reviews
269 results
Traveler rating
210
41
14
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
210
41
14
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsknysna headselephant suiteowners martincaptain's suiteluxury retreatwine selectionamazing locationbreathtaking viewsnespresso machineguest houseplace to staylittle extrasindian oceanbreakfast and dinnerpleasure of stayingattention to detaila special place
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
213 - 218 of 269 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2013

What a beautiful establishment with the most spectacular views! The service is absolutely first class and we were made to feel special from the minute we walked through the door. We were served drinks on the deck where there is a beautiful rim-flow pool and a Jacuzzi. The sound of the sea and the views are unbelievable. The rooms are tastefully furnished and decorated and the view from our balcony was amazing. To sit outside in the evening just taking in the sounds of the sea and gazing at the stars was so special. We will be back...

Room Tip: The corner room has the best views - over the sea and into the Knysna Heads
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

What a lovely guesthouse! The views steal the show for sure! Our room had incredible views over the ocean & Heads. The sound of the ocean at night is incredible! Sara, the hostess, is such a lovely person and the perfect person for this position. She is professional, a real hands-on type of person and super helpful. Dare I say the only downside was the breakfast. A little 'ordinary' for my liking, no smoked salmon, croissants or crumpets. Just standard white/brown bread with scrambled/fried eggs & the usual suspects but I'm sure would suit a lot of people. Would definately go back!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are always bigger and offer better views
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SammyKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We spent 8 days in Head over Hills over December 2012. It was a perfect establishment, beautiful views, superb rooms and consistent attention to detail. Sara is just right as a hostess, she strikes the right balance between attention, friendliness and professionalism. All in all a place to remember and to be recommended.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

My husband and I were fortunate enough to spend one night in the View Point room - I have just one word - WOW! Being the corner room, it had absolutely stunning views of the Heads and ocean. It was such a pleasure just to sit on the large balcony with a glass of wine and to forget about everything else except the peace and tranquility that we were experiencing. Sara, our hostess was very welcoming and attended to our every need.

We feel very privileged to have stayed here and will definitely be telling all our friends about this wonderful establishment - if only we could have stayed longer....

The only problem now is that I think it has possibly spoiled us for anywhere else!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

My husband and I spent two wonderful days at Head over Hills during March 2013 at this amazing hotel. We chose to stay in the Viewpoint Room which certainly lives up to its name with splendid views of the Heads and Ocean. The hotel is situated on the highest point of the Heads at Knysna and so has unrestricted views. Sara was there to welcome us and attended to our every need, making us feel completely at home. The staff were very friendly and always smiling and the breakfasts were excellent - such a variety to choose from. Attention to detail made us feel very special and we will definitely be back and recommend this lovely place.

Room Tip: This hotel does not cater for children. This is understandable due to the position of the hotel high up on the Heads.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veronica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews