We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic and Highly Recommended”
Review of Head Over Hills

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Head Over Hills
Ranked #10 of 127 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic and Highly Recommended”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

My husband and I spent two wonderful days at Head over Hills during March 2013 at this amazing hotel. We chose to stay in the Viewpoint Room which certainly lives up to its name with splendid views of the Heads and Ocean. The hotel is situated on the highest point of the Heads at Knysna and so has unrestricted views. Sara was there to welcome us and attended to our every need, making us feel completely at home. The staff were very friendly and always smiling and the breakfasts were excellent - such a variety to choose from. Attention to detail made us feel very special and we will definitely be back and recommend this lovely place.

Room Tip: This hotel does not cater for children. This is understandable due to the position of the hotel high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    35
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
173
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We had a great stay in the Captains Room. Views are breathtaking. Sara and her husband are great hosts - couldnt do enough for us. Definitely need a car and very winding hill road to the property. If you want complete relaxationfor a few days you cant do better. The whole property is beautifully maintained.

Room Tip: Had a look at all the rooms. Would recommend either the Dolphin Room or Elephant Room. They have t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berylruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 4, 2013

My husband and I were celebrating our wedding anniversary, and we couldn't have chosen a better place to stay. From the moment we arrived, everything was amazing. Sara was an amazing hostess, really warm and welcoming. We stayed in the Elephant Room, and I honestly felt like I never wanted to leave. The views were SPECTACULAR, the room was beautifully appointed with every luxury you could imagine, including sauna and spa bath. We didn't know what to do first, sauna, jacuzzi or swim in the beautiful pool on the edge of a cliff over looking knysna heads. We were lucky to be there on the most beautiful day and watched the sunset from the jacuzzi on the deck. HEAVEN! We had dinner at a restaurant in Knysna, but the highlight was when we returned. Sara had left some Sherry and nougat on our bed, and then a bathroom FULL of candles, some insence and chocolate next to our bath. We didn't want to go to sleep, because we knew when we woke up, it would nearly all be over. Breakfast was delicious and beautifully presented. There was nothing we could fault. Just that we weren't there long enough. We'll DEFINITELY be back!!

Room Tip: We can really recommend the Elephant Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrislinafricanlodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTown, RSA
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We arrived on the 10th Jan 2013 to a warm & friendly welcome by Sara. After a 5 hour drive from Cape Town the welcome drink was just what we needed. The hotel & room facilities were superb and of the highest standard, comparable to any 5 star establishment around the world. The view from the Knysna Heads and our room was the highlight. Sara, we thank you for the attention and service we enjoyed during our 2 day stay. We highly recommend this Guest House to any traveller looking for value for money and world class service.

Room Tip: The corner room we had with a big balcony and breathtaking views was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RAFFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Head over Hills offered exactly what I needed. I was looking for a quiet place with beautiful views, to relax. Head over Hills was exactly it. I was able to chill, read books and connect with my God. It was misty when we arrived, which turned out to be a good thing as I woke up to a suprisingly breath-taking view the next morning. I had obviously checked the placeout on the internet before booking but what I found there was more than what I expected.

The staff was amazing. Sara, the manager, catered to our every need and even exceeded expectation.

All of the above of course did not come cheap but it was worth every cent paid.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mpume B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We have had two great nights at this place. At the top of the cliff, the views are absolutely amazing and unbeatable. It gives you a true relaxing holiday athmosphere and due to the fact that this is a small guesthouse, you feel as if the place was your own. Every room has a balcony to overlook the ocean. It is a quick drive down the hill to go to Leisure Isle or city of Knysna. Moreover, Sara and her husband are so welcoming and helpful - top location, top service, would go back anytime and recommend to my family and friends!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JuPhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

My wife and I were just driving around the headlands inspecting a few guest houses when we were fortunate enough to meet Sara at Head Over Hills. The views are indeed spectacular but have to say that Sara and her team are the other key ingredients to this place.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank con-x-ion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.6 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
812 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Mount Knysna
The Mount Knysna
#15 of 30 in Knysna
36 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
3.8 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
3.9 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#2 of 30 in Knysna
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Head Over Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Head Over Hills

Property: Head Over Hills
Address: 22 Glen View Road | Coney Glen, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Head Over Hills 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Head over Hills is a unique luxury retreat situated on the beautiful edge of the iconic Knysna heads. Our luxury accommodation and world-class views are the perfect backdrop to a well-deserved getaway, honeymoon or to simply take in the splendor of our naturally beautiful location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Head Over Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing