We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lost our heart to Island Vibe”
Review of Island Vibe Knysna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Island Vibe Knysna
Ranked #33 of 101 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
KA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lost our heart to Island Vibe”
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

SA is wonderful - and our stay at the Island Vibe was the best part. A place to have an entertaining braai until late in the evening, relax during the day and, most of all, a place to make friends. We'll truly never forget what we experienced here. The staff is really helpful and the best company to make a great night even greater. We can honestly highly recommend this place and have nothing else to say than: "than you, until next time".

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CPJ85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Knysna, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Good day!

Thank you for your great review. We are so glad we made your stay in South Africa memorable. Look forward to seeing you next time!

Kind regards,
Island Vibe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    60
    26
    13
    13
See reviews for
10
50
44
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deutschland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 23, 2013

I stayed here for the second time now (first stay was in 2012) and I really love this place! They have done a lot of renovations since then and now the place is even better. You can clearly see that the staff and owner look after the place and try to improve it more and more. Even after all the changes the awesome vibe keeps going!;) I already booked for next year!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Knysna, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Hi Sebastian!

We are so glad you keep enjoying your stays with us! We have just done some big renovations, and are delighted that the improvements are enjoyable.
See you next year!

Kind regards,
Island Vibe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

We had a great stay at Island vibe.

Great and friendly staff and clean rooms. We did asked for a room that was not at road side due to traffic noise what was not a problem, they were very helpfull to give us another more quite room.

Wifi was good and we watched some soccer on the teli and relaxed with a book what was all fine.

Special thanks to Aron who gave us a great tour to the heads and townships. (Also very affordable if you book it through them) He is very well known in the area and able to share a lot of information, stories, jokes and history. And a very pleasant lad ;)

Rianne&Robbert

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank RobbertSeidemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Knysna, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Hi Rianne&Robbert!

Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay - Orin is a fantastic tour guide!
We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Island Vibe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Stayed here with some friends during our short trip to Knysna and I suppose it was descent enough for the price. The staff was very friendly and helpful but the rooms needed a bit of improvements. The bathrooms were smelly and the beds were very hard and uncomfortable. The biggest problem was definitely with the noise from the traffic on the main road. It almost felt like we were sleeping in the middle of the road! Overall though, the location was good and we were able to walk to most of the popular destinations. However will probably look elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank britanyferrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Knysna, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Good day!

We apologize for the noise you experienced during your stay - being located in the heart of town does mean that 2 of our rooms catch the street noise. We have just bought another property which is 2 doors away, but off the main road, and makes for a quieter stay.
We hope you will come and visit us again soon!

Kind regards,
Island Vibe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2013

amazing service, great friendly staff. the trips are an absolute bargain at 3 hour excursions at such a low price. loved our time here, so had to stay longer! couldn't recommend highly enough. on the baz bus route also, very near to the mall and waterfront too.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edostler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Knysna, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Good day!

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and went on some of our great trips!
Please come back soon!

Kind regards,
Island Vibe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Island Vibe is a perfectly located backpackers, right next to shops, restaurants, the garage and a short walk to the beautiful waterfront. The staff are amazing and friendly and willing to help out with anything! They make mean braais (the best braai I've had in SA) and keep the place organised, and in tip top condition. Rooms are comfy, spacious and very very clean. Free and fast wifi, cool bar area and vibey music to keep the night flowing. If you get a chance challenge Freddie (aka Anele) to a game of pool... Actually don't, go on his team then you'll be sure to win! Will definitely be back at this place in the near future, can't wait to see all the renovations finished!
Oh and only thing I would say is watch out for their super clean glass doors, they hurt!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollyrichardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Knysna, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Good day!

We are so happy that you love Island Vibe! Please come back soon to see our improvements and enjoy another great braai with us!

Kind regards
Island Vibe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in the dorm. Would go again.

Pros
- staff are very friendly and social
- self serve kitchen is very clean
- dorms are clean and spacious
- great location - can walk anywhere
- secure parking available
- do the Township/Rasta tour - well worth it's money! Great guide - Oren!
- close to shops
- wifi is free

Cons
- can't think of any :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Knysna, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Good day!

Thank you for your positive review! We are glad you had a good time with us, and hope you return soon!

Kind regards,
Island Vibe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
0.6 mi away
Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers
13.7 mi away
Afrovibe Adventure Lodge
Afrovibe Adventure Lodge
#2 of 19 in Sedgefield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Knysna Backpackers
Knysna Backpackers
#26 of 101 in Knysna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
1.8 mi away
Knysna Herons Guest House
Knysna Herons Guest House
#41 of 127 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lakeside Knysna Accomodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Vibe Knysna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Vibe Knysna

Property: Island Vibe Knysna
Address: 67 Main Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 101 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Island Vibe Knysna 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Island Vibe Knysna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing