We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Left a sour taste.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Island Vibe Knysna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Island Vibe Knysna
Ranked #30 of 102 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Left a sour taste.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

My girlfriend and I were travelling along the coast from Cape Town to Durban, we only had a week and wanted to spend the majority on the beach. Through no fault of the backpackers we thought Knysna had a beach. For all intents and purposes it does not, the nearest beach is 20km away. We had booked with island vibe a few days in advance and had trouble dealing with a largely incompetent reception. We booked for three nights and despite not being full, the backpackers demanded that the full balance be paid online within one day to secure the booking. We booked in a double room with a share bathroom which was very nice but the hostel had an average vibe. There were families with young children (7-12yrs) which seemed a bit strange for a hostel. Because we wanted to go the beach we decided to head off to plettenberg after our first night. We asked if we could possibly have one night or some of one night refunded of our remaining two. The reception was vague and said the manager would be in later, which never happened, then they then asked us to vacate the room if we were leaving. Then they were quite unreasonable and rude when we tried to talk to them again about the possibility of a refund, said the manager had the day off, had his phone off and was unreachable. We understood the situation from their side, but were just disappointed that the staff felt the need to be so rude when we felt we weren't asking for anything completely unreasonable.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daroooool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    57
    23
    12
    13
See reviews for
9
47
43
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deutschland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Really nice and helpfull staff. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Nice braai facilities and really good WiFi! Perfect place to hang out and to explore the Garden Route. I'll definitely go back there!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

A nice and clean budget hostel. The staff members are amazing and really helpful with everything from booking day activities to making reservations for your journey.

Only stayed in the dorms and they were clean and had private lockers which was good. The hostel has a bar and good kitchen facilities. Just make sure your room isn't to close to the bar if you like to go to bed early, since the music can be a bit to loud then.

Location is great, only a short walk away from waterfront or the main street. Island Vibe really has a great atmosphere and I'd love to stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cajsa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zandhoven, belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Island Vibe in Knysna was the perfect spot for us to be at that time. The staff (Rob en Bev) are just amazing, helpful at anytime and great people to spend a night at the cozy bar with. This in combination with the clean kitchen, dorms and facilities, a fire every night to cook "braai"... make it to be one of the best backpackers we've stayed in on our 5-weeks trip. Be careful not to jump over the pool though =). Thanks!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinfromBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, Seoul, South Korea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

I stayed at Island Vibe for 2 night. At that time I didn't make a travel plan enough in Southafrica. But the staff helped me friendly, and guided me, booked me for everything. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. They have good kitchen.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ksc6836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planet earth
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Friendly staff, great central location and good prices make this a very good choice for budget accommodation. A fire was prepared everyday making for a cozy winter. Excellent, off beat, original tours are well worth it too. Staff keep things relaxed and fun; even took the guests out on the town which was a whole load of fun!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank _jusko_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

This place had the potential to be good, however it was plagued with non-cheerful staff and a bunch of local idiots who basically hung out there and took up all of the facilities and bothered most everyone there.

I would not recommend, and just keep passing through. The island vibe in Jefferey's Baii, that is another story, a GREAT one.

Room Tip: The room we stayed in was a door room right by the main area, it was loud as anything. However if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joe215ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.6 mi away
Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers
13.7 mi away
Afrovibe Adventure Lodge
Afrovibe Adventure Lodge
#2 of 19 in Sedgefield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.7 mi away
Knysna Backpackers
Knysna Backpackers
#25 of 102 in Knysna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lakeside Knysna Accomodation
1.5 mi away
Oyster Creek Lodge
Oyster Creek Lodge
#16 of 129 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
1.8 mi away
Knysna Herons Guest House
Knysna Herons Guest House
#41 of 129 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Vibe Knysna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Vibe Knysna

Property: Island Vibe Knysna
Address: 67 Main Street, Knysna 6750, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 102 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Island Vibe Knysna 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Island Vibe Knysna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing