We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice relaxing Hostel with great staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Island Vibe Knysna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Island Vibe Knysna
Ranked #32 of 102 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
1 review
“Nice relaxing Hostel with great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

I spent 4 nights there, first planning to stay for 2. I met nice people there, Greg from the staff took me to a Knysna tour on his free day, had a great day at township with Orin and hard funny partying with the nice Beverly. Rooms, kitchen and showers were clean and I enjoyed the Braai together. The athmoshere is very relaxt. A good place for any activities like oyster tasting or exploring Knysna.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jensthecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    57
    23
    12
    13
See reviews for
9
47
43
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

Very friendly backpackers place in Knysna. We stayed in a spacious double room with own facilities. Especially Craig and Bev made our stay here great fun! Really nice atmosphere!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzanneBakker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed here first, but after staying at other backpackers after Island Vibe, I can honestly say they were the nicest in Knysna and wished we could have stayed there for longer! Best facilities, cleanest rooms and decent bathrooms. Comfortable beds, plenty fridge space and a pool and braai area to top it off! Close enough to the waterfront, spitting distance from the shops and best value for money. I will definitely be going back there!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzieKinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sverige
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

Had a wonderful time in Knysna. Such a great little town on the garden route. Craig in the reception was so helpful, funny and nice. Took very good care of us!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helena-on-the-road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

First, let me just say up front that this "backpackers lodge" is located right smack dab on the main freeway through town--the N1--so the traffic noise all day and all night is deafening.
Really, I could stop there and that would be enough to warn most intelligent people away. But there's more... or should I say, there's less.
The Island Vibe location in Jeffery's Beach--which was our previous stop--couldn't be more different. Amazing location. Much better finish quality in the rooms. NO ROAD NOISE FROM HUGE LORRIES DRIVING BY ALL NIGHT. An ocean view. Etc.
The Knysna location is completely lacking in all respects. It's basically a hole in the wall motor lodge on the highway that charges the same rates as the beachfront property. Go figure.
I don't know for sure that you can do better than this place in Knysna in this price range... but if you can't, you should either go up in price or skip Knysna all together (which would be no great loss to be honest).
We decided to continue on from Plattenberg Bay because Knysna seemed like it would be a smaller, quainter, quieter location. I rue that decision now. Pitch a tent on the side of any motorway and you'll be about on par with the Knysna Island Vibe.

Room Tip: Stay in the back of the property to avoid the road noise from being located right on the motorway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jared m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

A live, but chill hostel. The owner and managers are very friendly and helpful! They treat you like family. They love to braii and give great advice on day activities. Island Vibe has a great bar and lounge area! Definitely hang with Lendl; he's the man! I was sad to leave Island Vibe! I wish I could go back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

Location is great, rooms great and cheap! It was like being in own home! great staff, extremely clean! Inhouse excursions good!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helenback39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.6 mi away
Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers
0.7 mi away
Knysna Backpackers
Knysna Backpackers
#25 of 102 in Knysna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
13.7 mi away
Afrovibe Adventure Lodge
Afrovibe Adventure Lodge
#2 of 19 in Sedgefield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Knysna Herons Guest House
Knysna Herons Guest House
#41 of 129 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lakeside Knysna Accomodation
1.5 mi away
Oyster Creek Lodge
Oyster Creek Lodge
#15 of 129 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Vibe Knysna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Vibe Knysna

Property: Island Vibe Knysna
Address: 67 Main Street, Knysna 6750, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 102 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Island Vibe Knysna 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Island Vibe Knysna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing