We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice chilled out place.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of 34 South

34 South
Ranked #14 of 157 Restaurants in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Scenic view, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Not exactly a restaurant... Not exactly a bar... Definitely not a deli... Well, not exactly a deli... It's an eating place, a drinking place and definitely a meeting place. And it's a gift shop, a clothing emporium, a food store, a fish monger and a bakery, too. And the finest wine shop this side of the grape curtain. And it's always on one, single line of latitude - the 34th parallel (but only on the Waterfront at the Knysna Quays).
limerick
Level Contributor
126 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nice chilled out place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed 34 South. It was a relaxed place and the food was decent. My wife had the sushi which was lovely and I had the king prawns. Our waiter Sasha was really friendly and gave us loads of tips on what to do and see in knysna.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank anilchavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,965 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    753
    760
    266
    114
    72
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Must on any trip.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Lovely atmosphere. Stunning seafood and awesome service by Sash!! Made our trip to Knysna on our honeymoon so much more special.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicky O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent food - excellent service by our waiter Sasha!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Excellent food - excellent service by our waiter Sasha! Great input from him on our food choices and just enjoyed the chat in general. Tops tops tops!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PDleRouxster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Seafood Pasta”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We always return to this well-known establishment for their seafood pasta. Highly recommended. We enjoy browsing through their wine cellar and deli section.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BelvedereC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
150 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Table for 11 again”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Our last night in Knysna called for an outing to a place we would remember as a good all-rounder, and after a look at all Waterfront establishments, this looked it would fill the bill, so off the eleven of us went.

They had done well to create some kind of atmosphere out of what is essentially a shed, but the first warning of what was to come was given by the size of the menu, with selections from around the globe. Our food arrived at the table luke warm - some of the plates were coming from a kitchen next door and had to pass through the cold July night air. The same indifference was shown in the preparation of my Dom Pedro which had spent far too little time in the blender, leaving big chunks of ice cream in the liquid.

The overall impression given was that these people don't care about food.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Woodside8437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 34 South also viewed

 
Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 
Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to 34 South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing