We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had delicious meal!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 34 South

34 South
Ranked #14 of 157 Restaurants in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Not exactly a restaurant... Not exactly a bar... Definitely not a deli... Well, not exactly a deli... It's an eating place, a drinking place and definitely a meeting place. And it's a gift shop, a clothing emporium, a food store, a fish monger and a bakery, too. And the finest wine shop this side of the grape curtain. And it's always on one, single line of latitude - the 34th parallel (but only on the Waterfront at the Knysna Quays).
Oudtshoorn, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Had delicious meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

After my a terrible dinner the previous night at another restaurant. We did the John Benn boat trip today which was wonderful and ended at 34 deg South for lunch. The staff were friendly and we had a wonderful lunch. My hubby had Sushi and I had a wonderful Rosemary and salt baguette filled with fresh avo and smoked chicken and kids also enjoyed freshly made chips and pizza. Well done guys you have a wonderful establishment !

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,965 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    753
    760
    266
    114
    72
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Needs a bit of sprucing up”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

No doubt a great spot - nice view, sunny seating and the signature Springtide yacht docked below, but it really needs a bit of sprucing up. The square black plates were chipped and should have been chucked out long ago. The steel teapot and milk jug just looked disgusting, gritty and stained. The portions were small. Disappointing.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“blown away by Gaby's service with a smile!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

on arrival in knysna on Friday afternoon, I was guided to 34 south.
Gaby (my waitress) welcomed me with an open smile and made my experience at 34 south a truly memorable one. oysters galore, chardonnay, sushi from the conveyer belt, and more chardonnay.
even though she had a lot of tables, she tended to me very patiently, and everything that she recommended to me was truly amazing! with breathtaking views, great food, and kind helping service, i will definetly be back in August!
Jeremie.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jeremie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edenvale, South Africa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Oysters”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

As it was the Oyster Festival we tried a variety of oysters on their menu. They were all great and the Tampura oysters were excellent. Generally very good food, friendly service and a very good location

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcelle09_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fresh delicious food with a great vibe!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We went to this restaurant for both our nights in Knysna, as we enjoyed it so much the first night! On night one we had oysters followed by Ostrich steaks / Seafood espatada. The second night we had oysters followed by sushi! All the food was absolutely amazing! Make sure you visit 34 South.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ericvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 34 South also viewed

 
Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 
Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to 34 South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing