We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NYC SOHO”
Review of 34 South

34 South
Ranked #13 of 164 Restaurants in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Not exactly a restaurant... Not exactly a bar... Definitely not a deli... Well, not exactly a deli... It's an eating place, a drinking place and definitely a meeting place. And it's a gift shop, a clothing emporium, a food store, a fish monger and a bakery, too. And the finest wine shop this side of the grape curtain. And it's always on one, single line of latitude - the 34th parallel (but only on the Waterfront at the Knysna Quays).
Barnegat, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“NYC SOHO”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Hip, fantastic setting on a canal, decorated by a genius, service casual yet professional, best food in Knysna.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    818
    814
    285
    123
    74
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantasic - a local landmark”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We visit this place often. Our favourite restaurant on the Knysna waterfront. Unpretentious, wholesome and reasonably proced. Delicious seafood and great sushi. Very vibey atmosphere and wonderfully located on the water in the heart of the waterfront. Interesting but pricey shop as part of the scene

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Arrow69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best oysters in town”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Restaurant was recommended to us by fellow lodgers at Belvidere Manor in Knysna after we enquired about a seafood dinner. We checked out the area earlier in the day as there are a few seafood eateries on the waterfront. The waiter said we should book for that night (mid week) and we thought she was simply wanting a commitment from us - but not the case - we booked for 7pm and by 7.30pm there was not a spare table to be seen and it is by no means a small place with tables both inside and out. The meal was superb - excellent wild oysters both in size, quality and taste - the seafood bisque was so thick and full of seafood - yum - my fish was lovely and the other main of seafood spaghetti (mussels, prawns and squid) was excellent - nearly as good as Italy. What sets this place apart from many restaurants though is the quality of the service - our waiter was wonderful and although he was being run off his feet it was so busy - he still made the time to talk to us and explain the local wines to us - we went with his recommendation and it was spot on. Before we left the Manager came over with the waiter, introduced himself and had a further lengthy conversation with us. We were very impressed - a wonderful night out.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnieTAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Meh”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This came well recommended, but was overall disappointing. They forgot us at the bar, then seated us at a cold outdoor table. When we asked for one under a heater, they eventually gave in and gave it to us. The food was unmemorable.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank paulaliang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lively restaurant in a great spot”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Lovely fish restaurant by the waterfront. Also a deli and bar with a shop on the side so something for everyone. The meal was good, well presented, full of flavour and reasonably priced, and the waiter Sash, was very informative. If fish is your thing, then this is the place to go, especially for oysters! The interior is a a little quirky, but there is a buzz about the place and I think in high season you would definitely need to book!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mandyd1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 34 South also viewed

 
Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 
Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to 34 South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing