We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, cosy dinner”
Review of The Olive Tree

The Olive Tree
Ranked #4 of 164 Restaurants in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Olive Tree Restaurant Trading hours; Dinners only, Monday to Saturdays in Season> from 6.30pm till kitchen close at 9pm.
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good, cosy dinner”
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

The menu is presented on a board and thoroughly explained. We started with the beef tartar to share, really tender good looking beet which tasted awesome. The beef as a main was very well cooked and when they say medium rare it is actually medium rare so they know what they are doing. The food was really good and pure. The only comment I have is that the la Mott wine was 30 rand more expensive than in other restaurants in the area (which is around 20%).

Do book in advance as they are usually fully booked.

Helpful?
Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    813
    234
    52
    28
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

The Olive Tree was recommended to us by the owners of the guest house where we stayed and we were very glad that they did. The menu was presented to us on a blackboard by the owner and was full of tasty-looking dishes. We chose the bobotie springrolls for starter to share which were excellent. For mains my wife had a fillet steak salad that was fantastic while I had the lamb cutlets that were delicious. The portion sizes are generous and we did not have space for dessert but will definitely return when we are next in Knysna

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Trip Adviser Gem”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Booking a table here is essential because it is so popular. The locals want to keep this to themselves. The place is cosy, with a vibrant atmosphere. The service is efficient and friendly, and food is tremendous. This is great value even for South Africa.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and lovely owner”
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

During our stay in Knysna we have been twice in this restaurant for dinner. The menu was introduced to us by the lovely and passionate owner of the restaurant. The food was delicious, so were the wines, the staff was very friendly and the atmosphere very nice. The warm and pleasant attitude of the owner combined with the nice food makes this restaurant a unique place and I can definitely recommend it.

Helpful?
Thank Lena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food & excellent host”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

A charming place in the heart of the Knysna with good service. Pity the tables are spaced too close to each other. Nevertheless, the starter we chose, baboti spring rolls proved to be a winner. It was sweet yet not oily and went down well. Our main course, the lamb chops, was also sweet and tender and exploding with juice when we took a bite (understand it is not a dish that is available every day). The flavors all went well together and the presentation was pleasing to the eyes. The other main course we took was the beef steak good even without the well balanced accompanying sauce.

Finally, the chocolate cake was the best we have tried in South Africa. Oozing with flavor, yet moist,........ it was heaven! The friendly host and service staff and good food (real not those fanciful stuff they serve at fine dinning restaurants in bigger cities for an arm and a leg) would bring us back in the future.

Reservation is recommended.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wee B C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Olive Tree also viewed

Knysna, Western Cape
 
Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to The Olive Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing