We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad we stayed long enough to experience Ellen !”
Review of The Olive Tree

The Olive Tree
Ranked #5 of 161 Restaurants in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Olive Tree Restaurant Trading hours; Dinners only, Monday to Saturdays in Season> from 6.30pm till kitchen close at 9pm.
Sydney
Level Contributor
92 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Glad we stayed long enough to experience Ellen !”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Excellent restaurant with host Ellen making the occasion even more special with her passion for great food and happy guests. We witnessed very personal service where she specially made mint sauce to accompany the lamb chops for an Englishman sitting next to us - nothing is too much trouble. She also provides a description of the blackboard menu and recommends sharing some dishes as portion sizes are generous. The babouti spring rolls are a must try and were delicious. The lamb chops and fillet steak were also excellently cooked. You probably won't have room for dessert ! Very reasonably priced, this restaurant is a must if staying in Knysa.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cdmknows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    812
    230
    52
    28
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic dinner and ambiance!”
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at The Olive Tree quite late in the evening, but instead of turning us away, Ellen welcomed us in with open arms. Being a photographer, the way food is displayed and presented on a plate is always a huge way I rate it. Ellen's son Vincent was our chef and I give him a too score for both delicious food and beautifully presented. Highly recommend!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica-Dart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Divine food and beautifully presented”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Had dinner at the Olive Tree last week. Owner was welcoming and comes around with the menu on a chalkboard, which I thought was charming. Although the choices were limited the selection offered was more than adequate. Had the most delicious tomato soup starter and divine fillet steak for main course. Food was all cooked to perfection and beautifully presented. Service was good too. Plenty of parking around the restaurant. An all-round enjoyable experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank spikehugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Fresh tasty food and great service”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We were served by the owner who reads the ever changing menu (to keep things fresh) from an old school blackboard that she wheels around the restaurant... we thought this was a good idea because she is really passionate about the food and describes it all in a great manner. My husband had the beef and said it just melted in his mouth....he is still telling people about it now we are home!! I had fish which was also tasty. Make sure to book as we saw people just turning up without a booking and couldn't get in. Worth a visit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
156 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“intimate dinner spot.”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

limited but good menu. always good food and an attentive owner adds to the good service.easily accessible on the main street. decor is a bit tired in this small relaxed restaurant .

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Francis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Olive Tree also viewed

Knysna, Western Cape
 
Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to The Olive Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing