We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food and service”
Review of The Olive Tree

The Olive Tree
Ranked #5 of 163 Restaurants in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Olive Tree Restaurant Trading hours; Dinners only, Monday to Saturdays in Season> from 6.30pm till kitchen close at 9pm.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
104 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and service”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We have just returned from a two week tour of South Africa. Probably one of my best meals if not the best was at the Olive Tree - and that takes some doing as the food in South Africa just blew us away. Great dining for £10-£15 and drinks not expensive (through SA) so from a UK perspective eating out is a real pleasure - having returned home its now serious diet time.
My older son also has highest praise for his meal, though my wife would not have rated it quite has highly, and younger son who opted for a pizza was actually disappointed (bit surprising as they have a proper pizza oven) .
I talked about this place for days even though we ate exceptionally well the following nights at Pembreys and then Lairds Lodge.
The owner is very passionate about her food, a pleasant but not refined atmosphere (my wife preferred the other locations for the ambiance)
I had a steak with a pepper/mushroom sauce which was to die for.
Highly recommend, though aware all family not quite as taken as enthused, but I would be back in a flash.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Prospector1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    812
    231
    52
    28
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Was recommended to eat at the Olive Tree & was not disappointed.Both our evening meals were delicious and the service was attentive. It also had some vegetarian choices which was a bonus. I look forward to a return visit when next in Kynsna.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RescueBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wonderful food and service”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Personal attention with an informative description of the menu. the best butter beef fillet in Knysna
didn't even have to add salt or pepper.. well done

Knysna local

Taahir

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cognoscenti1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Underwhelming buffet lunch”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We decided to stop in here for lunch based on it's no 1 tripadvisor ranking, and were quite let-down. They have only a buffet lunch with a couple of salads, a quiche, and 2 beef dishes, along with pizzas to order. Having eaten pizza the night before we weren't feeling the pizza, so we all went with the buffet. Everything was ok, nothing remarkable. And it didn't feel very fresh or hot or satisfying because it had been laid out for a while.
It's tempting to drop in here for lunch because it's on the main road, but skip this and go down to the waterfront instead.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank revti13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Ate at The Olive Tree tonight and just had to write a review! The food, ambience and service were just perfect. This was our last night in Knysna and we obviously saved the best til last. Wine reasonably priced, food delicious (beef fillet yum yum) and good attentive service. Shame the restaurant was not open at the weekend as we would probably have eaten there every night! If you are in Knysna you must try this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tobehonestwithyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Olive Tree also viewed

Knysna, Western Cape
 
Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to The Olive Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing